David Suchet - Poirot and Me - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755364206
    • Publication date:07 Nov 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755364213
    • Publication date:21 Nov 2013

Poirot and Me

By David Suchet

  • Paperback
  • £10.99

As he films the final episode, actor David Suchet recalls his experience of playing Agatha Christie's world-famous detective, Hercule Poirot, for almost a quarter of a century.

In the summer of 2013 David Suchet will film his final scenes as Hercule Poirot. After 24 years in the role, he will have played the character in every story that Agatha Christie wrote about him (bar one, deemed unfilmable) and he will bid adieu to a role and a character that have changed his life.

In Poirot and Me, David Suchet tells the story of how he secured the part, with the blessing of Agatha Christie's daughter, and set himself the task of presenting the most authentic Poirot that had ever been filmed.

David Suchet is uniquely placed to write the ultimate companion to one of the world's longest running television series. Peppered with anecdotes about filming, including many tales of the guest stars who have appeared over the years, the book is essential reading for Poirot fans all over the world.

Biographical Notes

David Suchet trained at LAMDA and has had a long and successful career as a character actor, on television and on the stage. He is married with two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755364220
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Headline
This is an excellent book about the psychopathology of an exceptional actor... — Roger Lewis, Daily Mail
David Suchet writes with tremendous warmth and sincerity about his most famous alter ego... — Paul Whitelaw, Metro
Headline

Acid For The Children - the autobiography of the Red Hot Chili Peppers legend

Flea
Authors:
Flea

The strange tale of a boy named Flea starts in Rye, NY. It was all very normal. But soon his parents divorced and his mother Patricia remarried a jazz musician. Flea's stepfather frequently invited musicians to his house for jam sessions which sparked Flea's interest in music. The family moved to Los Angeles, where Flea became fascinated with the trumpet, idolizing musicians like Miles, Dizzy, and Louis.But the family soon fell apart, "I was raised in a very violent, alcoholic household," Flea later said. "I grew up being terrified of my parents, particularly my father figures. It caused [me] a lot of trouble later in life." He began smoking weed at 13, and became a daily user of harder drugs. He was on the streets by 14 and soon after, met another social outcast and drug user named Anthony Kiedis. They form a band that would become the Red Hot Chili Peppers.ACID FOR THE CHILDREN is pure, uncut Flea, with nothing left unsaid.

Headline

The Murderer's Apprentice

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Try This At Home

Frank Turner
Authors:
Frank Turner
Headline

It's Not Me, It's Them

Joel Dommett
Authors:
Joel Dommett
Headline

James Acaster's Classic Scrapes - The Hilarious Sunday Times Bestseller

James Acaster
Authors:
James Acaster
Headline

No Filter

Grace Victory
Authors:
Grace Victory
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The GC

Gemma Collins
Authors:
Gemma Collins
Headline

Brand New Me

Charlotte Crosby
Authors:
Charlotte Crosby
Headline

Rooted in Evil (Campbell & Carter Mystery 5)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

A man lies dead in a Cotswold wood. Can a clever killer outwit the police?A suspicious death suggests money is the root of all evil, as Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter dig deep into the victim's past. Rooted in Evil is the fifth fantastic mystery in Ann Granger's cosy Cotswold crime series, and will enthral fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'Lively, different and fun' - Yorkshire Post When the body of a man, with his brains blown out, is found in a Cotswold wood it looks like suicide. But looks can be deceptive and it doesn't take long for the police to identify that there's more to the case than meets the eye.People's stories don't add up and when Superintendent Ian Carter and Inspector Jess Campbell start probing, it becomes clear that the dead man had ruffled more than a few feathers in this close-knit community. His stepsister had been bailing him out of his financial troubles - much against her husband's wishes - but, with his money worries still mounting, the victim had become a desperate man...As Jess and Ian dig deeper and deeper into the case, a cover-up is exposed and bitter resentment rises to the surface to reveal a killer.What readers are saying about Rooted in Evil:'Excellent' 'Fantastic storyline. Love the Campbell and Carter series''The plotting is solid and intricate and it has a very old fashioned feel'

Headline

The New Girl: A Trans Girl Tells It Like It Is

Rhyannon Styles
Authors:
Rhyannon Styles
Headline

The Vamps: Our Story

The Vamps
Authors:
The Vamps
Headline

Death of a Hollow Man

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions.Death of a Hollow Man is the second instalment in the Midsomer Murders series, featuring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby with an audience of 10.34 million. Featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries. Backstage nerves are fraying, and revenge is on its way. As Causton Amateur Dramatic Society prepares for the opening night of Amadeus, in the wings Esslyn Carmichael suspects his wife is having an affair with the leading man. And where better to settle scores than the stage?Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby expects an evening of entertainment, attending only to show support for his wife. But when someone turns Esslyn's final grand gesture into a gruesome coup de theatre, Barnaby's investigation suddenly begins. Praise for Caroline Graham's novels:'Characterisation first rate, plotting likewise. . . Written with enormous relish. A very superior whodunnit' Literary Review 'Hard to praise highly enough' The Sunday Times'Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right' Julie Burchill'Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters' Birmingham Post'Guaranteed to keep you guessing until the very end' Woman

Headline

Death in Disguise

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions. Featuring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby and created by Caroline Graham, Death in Disguise is the third Midsomer Murders mystery, now featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries and Ann Granger.To the distaste of the Compton Dando villagers, the big house has been taken over by a group of New Age eccentrics. And when the first death is reported, no one is surprised . . . or disappointed. The Coroner rules it an accident.But only weeks later, there's another death. And this time, it is murder. Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby is called to the scene immediately, and there'll be no escape until he has sifted through the world of psychics, cult leaders and horrifying deaths to get to the cause of it all. Praise for Caroline Graham's novels: 'Swift, tense and highly alarming' TLS 'Tension builds, bitchery flares, resentment seethes . . . lots of atmosphere, colourful characters and fair clues' Mail on Sunday 'A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud. . . A beautifully written crime novel' The Times 'Wickedly acidic, yet sympathetic' Publishers Weekly 'Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery' Sunday Telegraph 'Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny' Scotsman

Headline

We Need To Talk

Chris Steed, Stephen Webb
Authors:
Chris Steed, Stephen Webb

Chris and Stephen off Gogglebox are known and loved by millions of viewers for their outrageous humour, filthy language and adorable sausage dogs. But there's a lot more to them than that. The ex-partners have both had their fair share of ups and downs, and here in their joint memoir they carry us through their experiences on a wave of hilarious back-and-forth conversations and killer one-liners. From their childhoods to finding fame on Gogglebox, nothing is off-limits.Stephen: "Going to the allotment was something we'd look forward to. Especially when it got dark and we used to nick everyone's vegetables"Chris: "We lived in this flint house on the edge of the cemetery, and not surprisingly it was really haunted."Funny, frank and pretty ridiculous, this is the perfect book for any Gogglebox fan.

Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford (Inspector Ben Ross mystery 6)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

On Bowie

Rob Sheffield
Authors:
Rob Sheffield

On Bowie is a thoughtful and loving meditation on the life of the late David Bowie that explores his creative legacy and the enduring and mutual connection he enjoyed with his fansInnovative. Pioneering. Brave. Until his death in January 2016, David Bowie created art that not only pushed boundaries, but helped fans understand themselves and view the world from fantastic new perspectives.When the shocking news of his death on January 10, 2016 broke, the outpouring of grief and adulation was immediate and ongoing. Fans around the world and across generations paid homage to this brilliant, innovate, ever-evolving artist who both shaped and embodied our times.In this concise and penetrating book, highly-regarded Rolling Stone critic, bestselling author, and lifelong Bowie fan Rob Sheffield shares his own feelings about the passing of this icon and explains why Bowie's death has elicited such an unprecedented emotional outpouring from so many.

Headline

Motherless Child

Paul Scott
Authors:
Paul Scott
Headline

The Road Beneath My Feet

Frank Turner
Authors:
Frank Turner
Headline

Hello Life!

Marcus Butler
Authors:
Marcus Butler