Paul Canoville - Black and Blue - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755316458
    • Publication date:20 Mar 2008

Black and Blue

How Racism, Drugs and Cancer Almost Destroyed Me

By Paul Canoville

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755364787
  • Publication date: 18 Dec 2012
  • Page count: 287
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Graeme Souness – Football: My Life, My Passion

Graeme Souness
Authors:
Graeme Souness
Headline

Wrecking Ball

Billy Vunipola
Authors:
Billy Vunipola

Wrecking Ball is a captivating and humorous memoir by Billy Vunipola, arguably the most potent weapon currently in English rugby's armoury.Standing at 6 feet 2 inches, and weighing almost 20 stone, Vunipola is a rampaging and unmissable presence on the rugby pitch. His awesome physicality and pulsating runs have been one of the chief factors in England's dramatic upturn in fortunes.Ball in hand, Vunipola is a relentless, unbridled, unstoppable force of nature for his country, and for his club side Saracens. He was awarded three separate Man of the Match awards as England swept to the 2016 Grand Slam, and a couple of months later proved a huge thorn in Australian sides as Eddie Jones' rejuvenated team whitewashed the Wallabies 3-0 in their own backyard.Wrecking Ball is a wonderfully eccentric and witty book, written with bags of charm and humour. It captures this young man's appealing personality and charisma, and covers Vunipola's peripatetic early years in Sydney then Wales, before he settled down in England to truly find his feet as a modern English rugby hero.

Headline

Part Reptile

Dan Hardy
Authors:
Dan Hardy
Headline

Fearless

Jonathan Northcroft
Authors:
Jonathan Northcroft

King Power Stadium, countdown to kick off. Out on the pitch a lone brass player sounds the haunting Post Horn Gallop, for 80 years the home players' entrance tune. Spines tingle. Air is gulped into opposition lungs. Game time, time to begin the chase. Burning fox eyes peer down from between the decks of one of the stands. On the stadium's outside wall a royal blue LCD display says #Fearless.Welcome to Leicester City. They were always a club with a difference but in 2015-16 they created a story that in modern football stands unique. Who could believe it: from relegation certainties to champions of England? It was when, on behalf of every small club, dreams were hunted at the King Power, a season where the impossible became merely quarry.5,000-1 shots when the campaign started, Leicester's transformation has been remarkable. This is the most incredible cast of written-offs, grafters, misfits and journeymen, coming together in a special time and place to simultaneously have the season of their lives. Fearless will document Leicester's hunt of their impossible dream. It will tell the greatest football tale of the Premier League era, in loving detail, with the inside track. Now that Leicester have gone all the way and won the title, it is the best story in world sports - for years. Premier League champions. The side who'd been adrift at the bottom 12 months previously, who's started the season as relegation favourites, whose manager was favourite to be the first one sacked once the campaign got underway. A League One side only seven seasons previously. A squad of £500,000 and £1m men. Leicester. Ridiculous. Miraculous. Fearless.

Headline

Firestarter

Ben Stokes
Authors:
Ben Stokes
Headline

The Artist: Being Iniesta

Andrés Iniesta
Authors:
Andrés Iniesta
Headline

Big Sam: My Autobiography

Sam Allardyce
Authors:
Sam Allardyce

With nearly 20 years as a player - plus almost 25 years as a coach and manager - under his belt, Sam Allardyce is one of the most recognisable figures in British football.'Big Sam' has been a robust defensive general throughout the seventies and eighties, and an imposing touchline presence as a gaffer since 1994. Before he took the England manager's job in July 2016, he was the second longest-serving manager in the Premier League, behind Arsene Wenger.Over the last 42 years, Allardyce has seen it all. The game he so loves is radically different to that in which he made his debut back in 1973, and in telling his wonderfully colourful story for the very first time, Allardyce talks intriguingly about the changing face of players and managers. His autobiography positively crackles with characteristic insight, honesty and hard-hitting opinions.

Headline

Where Am I?

Phil Tufnell
Authors:
Phil Tufnell
Headline

Made in Reality

Stephanie Pratt
Authors:
Stephanie Pratt
Headline

Dan Carter: The Autobiography of an All Blacks Legend

Dan Carter
Authors:
Dan Carter
Headline

Bomb

Adam Jones
Authors:
Adam Jones

In rugby, there are the Flash Harrys and the Glory Boys: the fly-halves who run, kick and dazzle; the scrum-halves who nip and dart; the wingers who step and glide. These are the players who get the crowd on their feet, who set stadiums abuzz. But they only get to do these things because other, less glorified figures do all of the donkey work. Adam Jones is one such figure. And for a decade he was one of the world's best. On many occasions when George North or Shane Williams were careering under the posts to score a try, and the crowd was engulfed in rapturous joy, Adam Jones would be hauling himself up from the turf, spitting blood and mud, and massaging his aching neck. He hadn't scored the try; but more often than not it was his graft and strength which had made it. This is the story of 'Bomb': the self-effacing manual labourer from the Swansea Valley who traded laying paving slabs for running out in some of the world's most imposing sporting citadels. He rose to the pinnacle of his sport, winning virtually everything there was to be won: Grand Slams, Six Nations Championships, Lions tours, Pro12 titles. In a nation of rugby heroes, Adam Jones has become a legend. Only six Welshmen can say they've won three Grand Slams. He is one of them: not just as a bit-part player, but as the beating heart of the most successful squad in Welsh rugby history. His was one of the first names on the team sheet. He was - literally and metaphorically - the cornerstone of this Welsh side. In his autobiography, Jones reveals exactly what goes on in the murky depths of the front row: the tricks, the techniques, the physical and psychological warfare; and the mental fortitude it takes to endure in one of the hardest positions, in one of the world's toughest contact sports.

Headline

Ricky Hatton's Vegas Tales

Ricky Hatton
Authors:
Ricky Hatton
Headline

Luis Suarez: Crossing the Line - My Story

Luis Suarez
Authors:
Luis Suarez

Luis Suárez was a young boy already in love with football by the time his family moved from the countryside to Uruguay's capital, Montevideo. The guile and trickery of the street kid made an impact with the country's biggest club, Nacional, before he was spotted by Dutch scouts who brought him to Europe.Suárez was lured from Ajax to Merseyside by another iconic number 7, Kenny Dalglish. From that moment, he terrorised Premier League defences, driving a resurgent Liverpool towards their most exciting top-flight season in 24 years.But there is another side to Luis Suárez: the naturally fiery temperament which drives his competitiveness on the pitch. There was the very public incident with Patrice Evra of bitter rivals Manchester United, and the biting of Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic, for which Suárez received eight- and ten-match suspensions respectively.Then during the World Cup finals in Brazil, in a physical encounter against Italy, he bit defender Giorgi Chiellini on the shoulder. Banned from football for four months, derided by the press, he left Brazil in the most testing of circumstances.In the summer's final twist, he became one of the most expensive footballers of all time, moving from Liverpool to Barcelona.In Crossing the Line, Luis Suárez talks from the heart about his intriguing career, his personal journey from scrapping street kid to performer on football's biggest stage, and the never-say-die attitude that sometimes causes him to overstep the mark.

Headline Review

The Wedding Weekend (An Emma Hannigan short story)

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline

Bend It Like Bullard

Jimmy Bullard
Authors:
Jimmy Bullard
Headline

Michael Schumacher

James Allen
Authors:
James Allen
Headline

Toast & Marmalade

Emma Bridgewater
Authors:
Emma Bridgewater

Emma Bridgewater's cheerfully distinctive kitchen pottery - manufactured and traditionally hand-decorated in the Staffordshire Potteries, just as it would have been 200 years ago - has found its way onto the dresser shelves and kitchen tables of homes all over Britain and beyond. Her designs are jaunty, friendly, sometimes quietly funny. They call to mind childhood picnics, summer gardens and busy kitchens, with their motifs of Sweet Peas and Figs or bold calligraphic patterns such as Toast & Marmalade. Above all the name Emma Bridgewater suggests home and welcome. This book combines beautiful photographs of Emma's life and designs with a collection of warm stories of her family, along with the inspirations for and characters involved in the success of this particularly English brand.

Headline Eternal

Thrown By A Curve: Play-By-Play Book 5

Jaci Burton
Authors:
Jaci Burton

Thrown By A Curve is the fifth erotically charged book in the Play-By-Play series from New York Times bestselling author Jaci Burton. Perfect for fans of Lori Foster, Maya Banks and Jill Shalvis.This player has a few surprise moves... Alicia Riley's love for her job as a sports therapist for the St Louis Rivers baseball team is tested when she has to work with star pitcher Garrett Scott. Out of the line-up with an injury, he's short-tempered, hard to handle, and every solid inch, a man.At first the only demand he makes is that Alicia get him ready to pitch. That is, until the hot sparks fly and Garrett figures there's no better therapy than sex. Alicia's tempted to oblige Garrett just about anything, but with their careers at stake, one bad move and it's game over for them both.Want more sexy sporting romance? Don't miss the rest of this steamy series which began with The Perfect Play. And check out Jaci's gorgeously romantic Hope series beginning with Hope Flames.

Headline

David Beckham

David Beckham
Authors:
David Beckham

David Beckham is the world's most famous football icon. In May this year he brought down the curtain on a hugely successful playing career that spanned two decades, during which he proudly wore the shirts of Manchester United, Real Madrid, LA Galaxy, AC Milan, Paris Saint-Germain, and England. He captained his country on 58 occasions, winning 115 international caps in total, an English record for an outfield player. His colourful and stellar career has been characterised by the emotional highs of great goals and remarkable trophy successes around the world, as well as by more than the occasional moment of set-back, disappointment and despair, but through it all Beckham has emerged as a universally adored figure, both inside and outside the game. Here, intimately talking us through 150 of his favourite images which define his playing days, he invites us behind the scenes of an incredible 20-year footballing journey.

Headline

Faithful Through and Through

Richard Purden
Authors:
Richard Purden