Jo Brand - Sorting Out Billy - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755320301
    • Publication date:17 Jan 2005

Sorting Out Billy

By Jo Brand

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The wonderful first novel from the Queen of Comedy, Jo Brand, reissued with a brilliant new cover

Billy is a lad. He's a laugh, he's loud, he behaves badly and Sarah is besotted with him. But after another 'accident' involving Billy's temper, Sarah's face and a night in the A&E, Sarah's friends Martha and Flower decide that it's time to take action. What should they do? Reason with him? Send him to anger management classes? Hire a hit man?
Martha and Flower have problems of their own: Martha is seven months pregnant by one of three possible blokes (she did this mainly to wind up her sanctimonious vicar father); and hippie Flower's career as a stand-up comic is more sit-down after some nasty encounters with south London's finest hecklers. Will Martha survive single-motherhood on a council estate in need of a peace-keeping force? Will Flower find the perfect put-down? And will they sort out Billy before he gets to them first...? Jo Brand tells it like it is in her darkly comic and sharply observed debut novel.

Biographical Notes

Jo Brand is a stand-up comic with many TV and radio shows to her name. She is married with two children and lives in south London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755376018
  • Publication date: 04 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline Review

Thirty

Christina Bradley
Authors:
Christina Bradley

Fresh, funny and witty, Thirty shines an honest, often awkward, often hilarious, but ultimately wonderful fresh light on what it truly means to be single, when everyone else (according to their social media accounts) seemingly has it all. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Bourne, Lucy Vine and Hannah Doyle.Thirty days till she turns thirty... Just thirty dates to find The One...Bella Edwards is a hot mess. Days away from turning thirty, single, struggling to reconcile where she is with where she imagined she'd be by this point in her life, she has come to believe her entire future happiness is based on meeting 'The One'. After an unfortunate meeting with a fortune teller, where it seems Bella's single fate is sealed, she sets off on a journey from London to New York, and then on a road trip across America to San Francisco, all with one clear objective - to find The One and prove the fortune teller wrong. What ensues is a raucous adventure of dating, love - and self-discovery.

Tinder Press

The Carer

Deborah Moggach
Authors:
Deborah Moggach

From the bestselling author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Tulip Fever, a deliciously funny, poignant and wry novel, full of surprising twists and turns - for readers of Nina Stibbe, Anne Tyler and Muriel Spark "The Moggach miracle continues' The Times'Warm, funny and generous' IndependentJames is getting on a bit and needs full-time help. So Phoebe and Robert, his middle-aged offspring, employ Mandy, who seems willing to take him off their hands. But as James regales his family with tales of Mandy's virtues, their shopping trips, and the shared pleasure of their journeys to garden centres, Phoebe and Robert sense something is amiss. Is this really their father, the distant figure who never once turned up for a sports day, now happily chortling over cuckoo clocks and television soaps? Then something happens that throws everything into new relief, and Phoebe and Robert discover that life most definitely does not stop for the elderly. It just moves onto a very different plane - changing all the stories they thought they knew so well.

Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

What if you finally find the great love of your life... just as they're leaving for ever? From the bestselling author of WATCH OVER ME, Daniela Sacerdoti's latest novel is a sweeping, epic, romantic story set on the beautiful island of Seal. If you love the novels of Rosanna Ley and Tracy Rees, you will adore Daniela Sacerdoti.** Over 1 million copies sold of Daniela Sacerdoti's novels **Two different affairs begin. How will they both end?

Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Headline Review

Her Husband's Mistake

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

The Den

Abi Maxwell
Authors:
Abi Maxwell

For readers of THE VIRGIN SUICIDES or THE GIRLS, a story of two extraordinary, magnetic women and their disappearances - a hundred years apart - from the small New England town they call home.Henrietta and Jane are growing up in a farmhouse on the outskirts of town, their mother a remote artist, their father in thrall to the folklore and legend of their corner of New England. When Henrietta falls under the spell of Kaus, an outsider and petty criminal, Jane takes to trailing the couple, spying on their trysts, until one night, Henrietta vanishes into the woods.Elspeth and Claire are sisters separated by an ocean. Elspeth's pregnancy at seventeen meant she was quickly married and sent away from her Scottish village to make a new life in America. When she comes to the attention of the local mill owner, a series of wrenching and violent events unfolds, culminating in her disappearance.As Jane and Claire search in their own times for their missing sisters, each uncovers the strange legend of Cold Thursday, and of a family apparently transformed into coyotes. But what does his myth really mean? Are their sisters dead, destroyed by the men who desired them? Or have they made new lives, elsewhere, beyond the watchful eyes of the community they longed to escape?

Headline

Pirata: The Pirate Chief

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The fifth episode in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas, set across the oceans of the Roman Empire in AD 25, from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews.

Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns to face an ancient, Medusa-like curse in her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. 'I've never read a writer with a more fertile imagination' Diana Gabaldon My name is Anita Blake, U.S. marshal and vampire hunter. But this time, there's a monster that even I don't know how to fight . . . A remote Florida island is the perfect destination for my best friend Edward's wedding, and a much-needed getaway for me and wereleopards Micah and Nathaniel. But it's not all fun, games and bachelor parties. Micah has unearthed a horrific new form of lycanthropy down here - a Medusa-like curse that turns its victims into a mass of snakes. The last thing I need is more drama, but when women start disappearing in this tropical paradise, my own friends and lovers become the prime suspects. I can't fight this one alone and am ready to accept help from even the deadliest of places - help I know I will regret. If I survive at all. Readers love the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, series: 'Anita Blake novels are my addiction''Fantastic! Unexpected! Intriguing! Full of love, relationships, action and adventure''Vampires, zombies and guns, oh my!''I couldn't love Anita and her adventures with the supernatural community any more'

Headline

Pirata: The Gates of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

The Garden of Lost and Found

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline

Pirata: The Captain of the Trident

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The third in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews.

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Headline

Pirata: The Black Flag

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Tinder Press

Looker

Laura Sims
Authors:
Laura Sims

A hugely compulsive, dark, stylish and intense novel, simmering with Hitchcockian undertones - for readers of LULLABY, EILEEN or THE LEMON GROVE'This intense, gripping first novel from Laura Sims shoehorns us into a gathering disquiet and sense of dread, heightened at every turn by our sympathetic understanding of her relentlessly unraveling protagonist. The precise, observant writing slips through the skin without ever calling attention to itself'-Peter Straub, author of A Dark Matter and Interior DarknessHave you ever wanted to steal someone else's life?The Professor lives in Brooklyn; her partner Nathan has left her; she can't have a baby. All she's left with is Nathan's old moggy, Cat. Who she doesn't even like.Then a celebrity actress moves into the area. She's beautiful, with long auburn hair, perfect skin, a lovely smile. She's got children - a baby, even. And a husband who seems to adore her. She leaves discarded household items and toys outside for thrift collection. She leaves her windows open, even at night.There's no harm, the Professor thinks, in recycling those items. Or looking in through the illuminated glass at that shiny, happy family. Is there?(P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Headline

The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Tinder Press

The Anatomy of Dreams

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

Friend of the Family

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE POOL HOUSE, a sensationally twisty page-turner about a woman with the perfect life and a woman determined to steal it. 'Gripping from the off... sexy, scandalous brilliance... this book is a genuine must *****' Heat'A book to cancel plans for - we were completely gripped' Closer She thinks your life is perfect. She thinks you don't deserve it.Your jobAmy is more than happy to offer the daughter of an old friend work experience at her London magazine. Josie is young and ambitious. She just needs a foot in the door. Your homeWhen Josie arrives, she swiftly makes herself indispensable at work and at home. And when childcare falls through before a long-awaited university reunion in Provence, it begins to look as if Josie may be staying longer than Amy had bargained for.Your husbandIn the heat of Provence, Josie's presence starts to unsettle Amy, especially around her husband. As cracks begin to appear in Amy's perfect life, she cannot shake the feeling that the family friend may not be a friend at all...Don't miss this gripping, addictive read. It will make you think twice about who you invite into your home...

Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke

HE WAS JUST A PLAYGROUND STORY, UNTIL THEY LET HIM IN.'THE MUST-READ SUMMER CHILLER' Daily Express'IF YOU READ JUST ONE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THIS YEAR - MAKE IT THE TALL MAN' CultureFlyThey went looking for a story. What they found was a nightmare.It started as nothing, just a scary story passed around between schoolchildren. But for Sadie and her friends, the rumours soon became an unhealthy obsession - and the darkness all too real.Years later, Sadie's teenage daughter Amber has been charged with murder, and her trial shocks the world. How could such a young girl commit such a terrible crime?It seems the secrets of Sadie's past have come back to haunt her daughter. And the terrifying truth of what happened all those years ago is finally about to come out . . .'So creepy and chilling' Laura Marshall, Friend Request'Relentless and needle-sharp' Cara Hunter, Close to Home'Fantastic' Fiona Cummins, Rattle'Absolutely brilliant' Cass Green, In a Cottage in a Wood