Jo Brand - It's Different for Girls - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755322305
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2006

It's Different for Girls

By Jo Brand

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Teenage kicks, seaside sex and soggy chips... the hilarious second novel from the Queen of Comedy, Jo Brand

A wonderfully funny and poignant novel about growing up in the seventies, teenage angst, growing pains and first love.
Rachel and Susan do not like to be beside the seaside. Hastings is so uncool. Plunging headfirst into the choppy waters of adolescence, they are determined to survive their teens by sticking together. It's a rollercoaster ride of nutty parents, randy language students, stoned hippies, all-night parties on the pier, and an amusement arcade of emotional neediness.

Biographical Notes

Jo Brand is a stand-up comic with many TV and radio shows to her name. She is married with two children and lives in South London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755376025
  • Publication date: 04 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Wildfire

Untitled

Headline Review

Thirty

Christina Bradley
Authors:
Christina Bradley
Headline Review

Her Husband's Mistake

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure... The riveting new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for readers of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. Roxy's marriage has always been rock solid.After twenty years, and with two carefree kids, she and Dave are still the perfect couple.Until the day she comes home unexpectedly, and finds Dave in bed with their attractive, single neighbour.Suddenly Roxy isn't sure about anything - her past, the business she's taken over from her dad, or what her family's future might be. She's spent so long caring about everyone else that she's forgotten what she actually wants. But something has changed. And Roxy has a decision to make.Whether it's with Dave, or without him, it's time for Roxy to start living for herself . . .

Headline

The Quite Nice and Fairly Accurate Good Omens Script Book

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson
Tinder Press

The Six Loves of Billy Binns

Richard Lumsden
Authors:
Richard Lumsden
Headline Eternal

Playing For Keeps: Heartbreaker Bay Book 7

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis

The seventh in New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis's Heartbreaker Bay series, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force. If you're planning on falling in love you'd better be sure someone is there to catch you... When it comes to the confident, charismatic Caleb Parker, Sadie Lane feels the spark - the kind that comes from rubbing each other the wrong way. She's yoga pants, he's a suit. She's a tattoo artist, he's a straight-laced mogul. But after they accidentally co-rescue an abandoned dog from a storm, Sadie sees a vulnerable side to the seemingly invincible hottie.Caleb doesn't do emotions. Growing up the underdog, he's learned the hard way to build up an impenetrable wall. Perfect for business. Disastrous for relationships. He's never worried about it before - not until he finally gets behind Sadie's armor and begins to fall.Both guarded and vulnerable, Sadie and Caleb are complete opposites. Or are they? Shocked at their undeniable connection, can they ever admit to wanting more? That all depends on what they're each willing to risk...Want more warm, funny romance? Check out the other Heartbreaker Bay novels starting with Sweet Little Lies, visit stunning Wildstone, gorgeous Cedar Ridge, spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's other unforgettable series.

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Juliette loves Nate.She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flightattendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.They are meant to be.The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend.And she'll make sure no one stops her fromgetting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...'You don't often come across a character who is both sociopathic and compelling. Buckle your seatbelts, you're in for a very bumpy ride ... Let this supremely enjoyable thriller whisk you up, up and away' Sunday Mirror'This debut novel is written with a gleeful zeal ... Juliette is a memorable, grippingly unpredictable character' Daily Express'An addictive psycological thriller... Unhinged' Culturefly'Be prepared to put your life on hold' Good Housekeeping

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

The second novel in one of the **MOST TALKED-ABOUT** post-apocalyptic series. 'Thrilling . . . Todd skilfully captures hope and humanity in the lives of characters whom the reader comes to care about: Hunted, like Defender, is an impressive achievement' Guardian The girl has no one to defend her now . . .The hunt for the girl, Lacey, is on. One man is tormented by an inner voice that isn't his. It eats away at his sanity and, with cruel precision, orders the lawless to follow him. Their mission is to find the girl, steal what she knows ... and kill.In an Inn by the sea, Albus gathers a family of warriors and waits to be called upon. He doesn't know yet why Lacey is important, but he trusts his sister. And Ruby says he must find the girl - before it's too late.A great power lives in Lacey and she has a destiny to fulfil. Whether for good or ill remains to be seen ...Hunted is the second book in the must-read Voices series, where a voice in your head might be all that stands between survival and death. 'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child'Of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' Independent'Hunted is a smart, fast-paced, brave and classy thriller' Gillian McAllister What readers are saying about Defender and Hunted: 'A genius debut that grips you from start to finish''Takes the story to a whole other level. Can't wait to see what happens next!''Amazing, thrilling, emotional''Defender is a modern classic and Hunted is too''It's now 5:36am and I have given up on sleep!''I need to talk to you about a really great book'

Tinder Press

Looker

Laura Sims
Authors:
Laura Sims

Have you ever wanted to steal someone else's life?A compulsive, dark domestic noir novel simmering with Hitchcockian undertones, for those who loved LULLABY, KILLING EVE or THE CRY. 'Unsettling and compelling' Tammy Cohen'Laura Sims has pulled off the high-wire act of making bitterness delicious' VogueThe Professor lives in Brooklyn; her partner Nathan left her when she couldn't have a baby. All she has now is her dead-end teaching job, her ramshackle apartment, and Nathan's old moggy, Cat. Who she doesn't even like.The Actress lives a few doors down. She's famous and beautiful, with auburn hair, perfect skin, a lovely smile. She's got children - a baby, even. And a husband who seems to adore her. She leaves her windows open, even at night.There's no harm, the Professor thinks, in looking in through the illuminated glass at that shiny, happy family, fantasizing about them, drawing ever closer to the actress herself. Or is there?

Headline Review

A Winter Beneath the Stars

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Wildfire

And So It Begins

Rachel Abbott
Authors:
Rachel Abbott
Headline Review

The Moment We Meet

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.1970s Western-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

'With the return of some of her best-loved characters and lashings of her usual grit, Cole fans will lap this up' HeatDamaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller and Betrayal. Iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows returns in a blistering thriller you won't be able to put down. This killer has only just begun...DCI Kate Burrows might be retired, but when the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up in Grantley, she's the first person DCI Annie Carr calls for help.Life for Kate and ex-gangster Patrick Kelly is thrown into chaos when his long lost son turns up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him. This new case could be just what Kate needs.But as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock.Without any clear leads, can they stop the killer before another schoolgirl dies?

Headline Review

The Key

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

The deliciously funny SUNDAY TIMES bestseller: perfect for summerOne little mistake and nothing will ever be the same again!On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding...On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn't accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she wouldn't have moved into the attic flat on the square. She would never have met Conor. Or got to know Lucas...And she wouldn't have found herself falling in love with someone she really, really shouldn't fall in love with... 'One of my favourite writers' Katie Fforde'The queen of witty, heart-warming, feel-good love stories' Red 'Reading Jill is always such a joy!' Veronica Henry'Jill Mansell just gets better and better' Heat ***** 'A fab, feel-good read' Prima'A page-turner' Look

Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale