Jo Brand - The More You Ignore Me - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755322329
    • Publication date:07 Jan 2010

The More You Ignore Me

By Jo Brand

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The new hilarious, poignant and darkly comic novel by the Queen of Comedy

A genuinely funny and original novel about mental illness, growing up and parental breakdown from much-loved comedienne Jo Brand.
Alice is five, and convinced she needs five personalities to cope. Her family, tucked in a cottage in deepest Herefordshire, are a bit weird. Her mother Gina is obsessed with the weatherman on the local news and when she climbs naked onto the roof with Alice's pet guinea pig in her arms, she is whisked off to the local psychiatric hospital. Keith, Alice's father, tries to keep calm, but his patience is severely tested by his in-laws. The only thing that gives Alice's hope is her love for Morrissey of The Smiths...

Biographical Notes

Jo Brand is a stand-up comic with many TV and radio shows to her name. She is married with two children and lives in South London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755376032
  • Publication date: 04 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

Siege Line (Reawakening Trilogy 3)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole

Myke Cole continues to blow the military fantasy genre wide open with SIEGE LINE, an all-new epic adventure in the highly acclaimed Reawakening trilogy.The Gemini Cell has taken everything from former Navy SEAL James Schweitzer: his family, his career, his life. Schweitzer knows the only way he can stop running, the only way to keep his son safe, is to destroy the Cell once and for all. But out of control and fighting a secret war against the government it once served, the Cell will not be destroyed easily. Its Director has been sent to the far reaches of the subarctic to search for a secret that could allow the Cell to seize control of the country.Schweitzer must move fast and join with the elite warriors of both America and Canada in a bid to get there first . . .

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline Eternal

Chasing Christmas Eve: Heartbreaker Bay Book 4

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Headline

Untitled: the new Martina Cole bestseller featuring Kate Burrows

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

The new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, sees the return of her iconic detective heroine DI Kate Burrows, best known for THE LADYKILLER. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling includes DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, BETRAYAL and many more, and is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Karin Slaughter.'Kate is the hard-but-fair "filth", who also likes to brush (romantically) with the wrong side of the law.' - London Lite

Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Tinder Press

What It Means When A Man Falls From The Sky

Lesley Nneka Arimah
Authors:
Lesley Nneka Arimah
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

THE THOUSAND LIGHTS HOTEL is the gorgeous new novel from Emylia Hall, author of Richard & Judy Summer Pick THE BOOK OF SUMMERS. Set in idyllic Italy, it's the perfect holiday read, for fans of Louise Douglas and Hannah Richell.When Kit loses her mother in tragic circumstances, she feels drawn to finally connect with the father she has never met. That search brings her to the Thousand Lights Hotel, the perfect holiday escape perched upon a cliff on the island of Elba. Within this idyllic setting a devastating truth is brought to light: shaking the foundations upon which the hotel is built, and shattering the lives of the people within it.A heartbreaking story of loss, betrayal, and redemption, told with all the warmth and beauty of an Italian summer.

Headline

The Year of Saying Yes (the complete novel)

Hannah Doyle
Authors:
Hannah Doyle
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti

Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, and one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of The Sisters Brothers or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love.

Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

Does a rambling Spanish villa hold the key to love? No. 1 Irish bestseller Emma Hannigan returns with her heartwarming new novel. If you like reading Cathy Kelly and Patricia Scanlan, and enjoyed the film UNDER THE TUSCAN SUN, you will love this. 'Brimming with hope and joy' Sunday Independent Restoring a Spanish villa brings Shelly back to the place she and her husband once loved, fulfilling the promise he made that they would return. But as plans to transform the villa into a romantic wedding venue take shape, Shelly discovers her children may need the move more than she does. Her son Jake has begun to question the things he values most: his career as a pilot, his relationship with his girlfriend. Could Spain offer him the change he's seeking? Shelly's daughter Leila arrives with a new-born baby in tow, but then hears some startling news she wasn't expecting. As Casa Maria takes its first booking, will it turn out to be more than a romantic promise made all those years ago? Perhaps a second chance at new beginnings?

Headline

A Place of Safety

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions.A Place of Safety by prize-winning writer Caroline Graham is the sixth Midsomer Murders novel starring much-loved Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby. Featuring an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries.Everyone deserves a second chance - or at least that's what ex-vicar Lionel Lawrence believes when he decides to open up the old rectory to a stream of young offenders. Lionel only wants to help these poor souls, but his good deed quickly spirals into a deadly mix of blackmail and murder. Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby is sure he knows who is behind the disappearance of Lionel's latest young charge. Will this elusive suspect prove to be the incarnation of evil itself?Praise for Caroline Graham's novels: 'Everyone gets what they deserve in this high-class mystery' Sunday Telegraph'Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right' Julie Burchill'Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters' Birmingham Post'Guaranteed to keep you guessing until the very end' Woman'From the moment the book opens it is gripping and horribly real because Ms Graham draws her characters so well, sets her scenes so perfectly' Woman's Own'An exemplary crime novel' Literary Review

Headline Review

The Stranger In My Home: I thought she was my daughter. I was wrong.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

The Secret

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline Review

The Butterfly Summer

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline

Ticktock

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

When Tommy Phan discovers a mysterious rag doll on his doorstep one day, he's curious but tries to dismiss it. However, the thing seems ominously foreboding - a feeling borne out when he hears a sound from it that evening. When he picks up the doll, its heart actually appears to be beating. Then the threads of its eyes unravel, and a strange green eye appears - and blinks.Before long, Tommy is forced to flee an adversary that becomes larger, ever more formidable and seemingly indestructible. He must use his journalist's skills to figure out not only exactly what this thing is and where it has come from, but more importantly why it has been sent after him. And he has just nine hours before the arrival of dawn to do so...