Ann Granger - Say it with Poison - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747237068
    • Publication date:05 Sep 1991

Say it with Poison

By Ann Granger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first Mitchell and Markby novel effortlessly combines a satisfyingly complex mystery with engaging characters and wit

When Meredith Mitchell agreed to stay with her actress cousin Eve in the run-up to Eve's daughter's wedding she anticipated a degree of drama. But she hardly expected it to include murder, blackmail and unrequited love. Or to involve a certain Chief Inspector Markby, a middle-aged divorcee with an emotional history as unfortunate as her own. A material witness to the only case of murder the Cotswold village of Westerfield has ever seen, Meredith also finds herself acting as mother-confessor to the bride-to-be, who is clearly not telling the whole truth about her involvement with the dead man. Steering a path between her duty to the police and loyalty to her cousin's family is not easy; even for someone with Meredith's considerable diplomatic skills. And especially as her personal enquiries into events in Westerfield start to disinter past affections Meredith would far rather leave buried - and to provoke new ones she's not at all sure she can cope with ...

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755377145
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Rooted In Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Rooted in Evil by Ann Granger is set in the Cotswold village of Weston Saint Ambrose and features Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in their fifth murder mystery.Carl Finch is a desperate man. Cut out of his stepfather's will, he is heavily in debt and unless he can persuade his stepsister Hattie to bail him out, he'll be in even more trouble. Hattie's husband Guy has never liked Carl and wants his wife's inheritance for his own use, so Hattie agrees to meet Carl in secret to discuss his predicament. Little does she realise that when she arrives at their meeting point in Crooked Man Wood she'll find Carl's dead body...

Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Seize the Night (Moonlight Bay Trilogy, Book 2)

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

If you delight in the suspense of Stephen King and Harlan Coben, you'll love Seize the Night - a classic thriller by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. One by one, the children of Moonlight Bay are disappearing. No one knows if they are dead or alive. Christopher Snow, suffering from the rare disorder xeroderma pigmentosum, has glimpsed the dark and torrid secrets of the small-town community where he has spent his entire life. And only he has the key to the truth - a truth that could only exist in the genetic chaos of Moonlight Bay.

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Savage Hunger (Paula Maguire 4)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

A Ghost in the Machine

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie' The Sunday TimesDiscover the novels that inspired the hit ITV series Midsomer Murders, seen and loved by millions. A Ghost in the Machine is the captivating seventh novel in the Midsomer Murders series starring Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby. Features an exclusive foreword by John Nettles, ITV's DCI Tom Barnaby. If you love Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and James Runcie's The Grantchester Mysteries you'll love the Midsomer Murders mysteries by Caroline Graham.For all its old-fashioned charm, Forbes Abbot is far from the close-knit community that ex-Londoners Mallory and Kate Lawson expected. In this village, everyday squabbles can quickly turn to murder. As the couple begins to settle into their new life away from the big city, it isn't long until they're thrown into the horror and mayhem of a true Midsomer Murders mystery.Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby has encountered many intriguing cases in his years on the force, but soon he will discover that the incident of the ghost in the machine is the most challenging of them all. Praise for Caroline Graham's novels:'Wickedly acidic, yet sympathetic' Publishers Weekly 'Swift, tense and highly alarming' TLS'One to savour' Val McDermid 'Lots of excellent character sketches . . . and the dialogue is lively and convincing' Independent 'Hard to praise highly enough' The Sunday Times 'Her books are not just great whodunits but great novels in their own right' Julie Burchill 'Enlivened by a very sardonic wit and turn of phrase, the narrative drive never falters' Birmingham Post 'An uncommonly appealing mystery . . . a real winner' Publishers Weekly 'Read her and you'll be astonished . . . very sexy, very hip and very funny' Scotsman 'The mystery is intriguing, the wit shafts through like sunlight . . . do not miss this book' Family Circle

Headline

Before I Let You In

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

From the No.1 bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping', comes a chilling new novel. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Katerina Diamond's THE SECRET, Linda Green and Paula Hawkins.Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .

Headline Review

Curious Minds

Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Headline

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

THE DEAD WOMAN OF DEPTFORD is the sixth Inspector Ben Ross mystery set in Victorian London from much-loved crime writer Ann Granger.On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no witness to the murder of this well-dressed, middle-aged woman can be found. Even Jeb Fisher, the local rag-and-bone man, swears he's seen nothing. Meanwhile, Ben's wife Lizzie is trying to suppress a scandal: family friend Edgar Wellings has a gambling addiction and no means of repaying his debts. Reluctantly, Lizzie agrees to visit his debt collector's house in Deptford, but when she arrives she finds her husband is investigating the murder of the woman in question. Edgar was the last man to see Mrs Clifford alive and he has good reason to want her dead, but Ben and Lizzie both know that a case like this is rarely as simple as it appears...

Headline

The Golem of Paris

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

It is the wettest winter on record and as Christmas approaches the rivers burst their banks and the farmers' fields lie under several feet of water. In the village of Weston Saint Ambrose, a young girl's body is seen floating downstream and when it becomes stuck under the jetty at a reclusive writer's home, the author is alarmed to discover that he recognises the victim of a brutal murder...(P)2015 Headline 2015

Headline

How I Lost You

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Dead Souls

Elsebeth Egholm
Authors:
Elsebeth Egholm

On All Hallows' Eve, ex-convict Peter Boutrup is visiting his best friend's grave when her estranged mother appears. Her son, Magnus, has disappeared, and she begs Peter to look for him.The next day a young nun is pulled out of the moat at the convent in Djursland. She has been garrotted and Peter, who works there as a carpenter, was the last person to see her alive. Meanwhile, diver Kir Røjel finds an old box resting on the seabed. Inside are human bones. They are sixty years old, but the victim had also been garrotted.While Peter is looking for Magnus, Detective Mark Bille Hansen is assigned to the case. He is determined to link the bones in the box with the girl in the moat - but the hunt for the truth leads both he and Peter down a path so dark, they fear they may never return.

Headline

Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

In FEAR NOTHING, the seventh novel in the Detective D.D. Warren series, Sunday Times bestseller Lisa Gardner 'continues to show why she is on the short list of top thriller writers today' (Suspense Magazine). IF YOUR FAMILY ARE KILLERS, WHAT ARE YOU? For fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen.They say family means everything. But Dr Adeline Glen cannot accept that. When you're bound by blood to a father who slaughtered prostitutes and a sister who followed in his sociopathic footsteps, how can you? But now Boston Detective D.D. Warren needs Adeline's professional help to recover from a brutal attack by a psychopath. A murderer who knows too much about Adeline's dead father, and is someone her imprisoned sister claims she can help catch. With the Rose Killer focused on D.D., will Adeline be able to put aside her personal nightmares to help her? All she knows is if she is going to survive what's to come, Adeline will have to...

Headline

The Dead Pass

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Headline

Death of a Hollow Man

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham

Backstage at the Causton Amateur Dramatic Society's production of Amadeus, nerves are fraying. On top of the fractious cast hierarchy imposed by Harold Winstanley, director and would-be impresario, cast member Esslyn Carmichael suspects his wife is having an affair with the leading man. And where better to settle scores than the stage?On opening night, Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby attends, purely as a member of the audience. But when someone turns Esslyn's final grand gesture into a very gruesome coup de theatre, Barnaby suddeny finds himself centre stage...