Ann Granger - Running Scared - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Running Scared

By Ann Granger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Fran Varady has to stay ahead of a killer in her third exciting mystery

Aspiring actress and part-time private investigator Fran Varady knew there would be maximum disruption when her friend Ganesh decided to modernise his uncle's newsagents, starting with the washroom. But she isn't prepared for the nightmare that begins when an agitated passer-by asks to use it: hours later, he's found stabbed to death, leaving a message for Fran to meet him, and a mysterious roll of film hidden behind the old pipes... Fran realises that whoever wanted the negatives knows where they were hidden. And, probably, where they are now. With her police protection more a hindrance than a help, an old friend, Tig, on the verge of collapse, and the builders wreaking havoc in the shop, can Fran find out why someone is prepared to murder for the negatives - before they find her?her?

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755377251
  • Publication date: 09 Dec 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

HARDCORE TWENTY-FOUR is the latest thrilling and fast-paced mystery in the much-loved Stephanie Plum series from No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Janet Evanovich. Raves for Evanovich's novels: 'A laugh-out-laugh page-turner' (Heat); 'Utterly delightful' (Cosmopolitan); 'As smart and sassy as high-gloss wet paint' (Time Out).

Headline

Rooted In Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

DANGEROUS MINDS is a thrilling, adrenaline-fuelled adventure featuring unlikely sleuths Knight & Moon from Janet Evanovich, author of the New York Times bestseller CURIOUS MINDS, which introduced Knight and Moon, and beloved author of the No. 1 bestsellers in the Stephanie Plum series. A must-read for fans of Sue Grafton and J D Robb.Buddhist monk Wayan Bagus has lost his island of solitude and wants it back. The Pacific island had a mountain, beaches, a rainforest, and a volcano. And now it's gone. Poof! Vanished without a trace.Boyishly charming Emerson Knight likes nothing better than solving an unsolvable mystery. Finding a missing island is better than Christmas morning in the Knight household. When clues start leading to a dark and sinister secret, Emerson will need to assemble a crack team for help. Since a crack team isn't available, he enlists his cousin Vernon and Riley Moon. Riley Moon has a Harvard business degree and can shoot the eyes out of a grasshopper at fifty feet, but she can't figure out how to escape Emerson Knight's odd world. Vernon has been Emerson's loyal and enthusiastic partner in crime since childhood.Together, this mismatched trio will embark on a world-wide investigation that will expose a conspiracy one hundred years in the making.

Headline

Before I Let You In

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

BEFORE I LET YOU IN is the brand new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 Kindle bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping'. If you don't know who is walking through the door, how do you know if you should let them in? Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Tracy Buchanan's NO TURNING BACK, Linda Green and B. A. Paris.Karen is meant to be the one who fixes problems.It's her job, as a psychiatrist - and it's always been her role as a friend.But Jessica is different. She should be the patient, the one that Karen helps.But she knows things about Karen. Her friends, her personal life. Things no patient should know.And Karen is starting to wonder if she should have let her in . . .

Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Testimony of the Hanged Man

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

A hanged man would say anything to save his life. But what if his testimony is true?When Inspector Ben Ross is called to Newgate Prison by a man condemned to die by the hangman's noose he isn't expecting to give any credence to the man's testimony. But the account of a murder he witnessed over seventeen years ago is so utterly believeable that Ben can't help wondering if what he's heard is true. It's too late to save the man's life, but it's not too late to investigate a murder that has gone undetected for all these years.

Headline

Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

Asking for Trouble

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Einstein Pursuit (Payne & Jones 8)

Chris Kuzneski
Authors:
Chris Kuzneski

Payne and Jones return in this electrifying thriller from internationally bestselling author Chris Kuzneski.A lab destroyed.An explosion in Stockholm claims the lives of an elite collection of scientists. Evidence suggests the blast was designed to eliminate all traces of their research.It's up to Interpol director Nick Dial to uncover the truth about the lab and the attack.A scientist on the run.When Dr Mattias Sahlberg learns of the incident, he knows his life is at risk. He turns to the only men he can trust: ex-Special Forces operatives Jonathon Payne and David Jones. Together, they must save Sahlberg from the unknown forces that want him dead.A miraculous discovery.As Dial's case intertwines with Sahlberg's past, Payne and Jones uncover hidden truths and secret agendas involving the world's greatest minds. But there are some who are desperate to keep such radical advances in the dark and will stop at nothing to have their way.The new adrenaline-charged Payne & Jones adventure from the international bestseller.High-octane action. Brilliant characters. Classic Kuzneski.

Headline

The Unquiet Grave (DI Damen Brook 4)

Steven Dunne
Authors:
Steven Dunne
Headline

Empire State

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

Nathan Jones - scarred for life by one night of horror in his Northern Irish past. And also by having the same name as a Supremes song.Hoping for a fresh start, Nathan moves to New York but when his girlfriend leaves him, he only has his new job for company - that of a security guard at the Empire State building. Recently acquired by a computer billionaire, the building is about to be visited by President Michael Keneally, an army of FBI men, and George Burley of Alabama, a white supremacist with the President at the top of his assassination Top Ten.Wildly dark and wonderfully entertaining, EMPIRE STATE takes the world of politics - international, racial and sexual - and holds it hostage at the top of one of the most famous buildings on Earth.

Headline

Bricks and Mortality

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

What Lies Within

Tom Vowler
Authors:
Tom Vowler

A tightly spun, atmospheric and powerful psychological suspense.Living in a remote Devon farmhouse, Anna and her family have always been close to nature, surrounded by the haunting beauty of the moor. But when a convict escapes from nearby Dartmoor prison, their isolation suddenly begins to feel more claustrophobic than free. Fearing for her children's safety, Anna's behaviour becomes increasingly irrational. But why is she so distant from her kind husband Robert, and why does she suspect something sinister of her son Paul? All teenagers have their difficult phases...Meanwhile, a young idealistic teacher has just started her first job, determined to 'make a difference'. But when she is brutally attacked by one of her students, her version of events is doubted by even those closest to her. Struggling to deal with the terrible consequences, she does what she can to move on and start afresh. As the two narratives converge, the tension builds to a devastating denouement, shattering everything you thought you believed about nature, nurture and the true meaning of family.

Headline

The Cat Who Saw Red

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun

When Jim Qwilleran is sent to 'Maus Haus' on a gastronomical quest, he takes Koko and Yum Yum along for company and steps into a house of curiosities. There's restaurateur Robert Maus, elbow-deep in saucepans; cuddly Hixie with her daily calorie count; and Joy Graham, the red-headed flame from Qwilleran's past and a talented potter to boot. Then strange things occur as a startling scream pierces the night air and Joy disappears without trace. Koko, Yum Yum and their all-providing mentor, Qwilleran, are determined to solve the mystery...

Headline

Black Irish (Absalom Kearney 1)

Stephan Talty
Authors:
Stephan Talty
Headline

The Hunters (The Hunters 1)

Chris Kuzneski
Authors:
Chris Kuzneski
Headline

A Particular Eye for Villainy

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Funeral Note

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine