Ann Granger - Call the Dead Again - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747256427
    • Publication date:13 Aug 1998

Call the Dead Again

By Ann Granger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The electrifying eleventh mystery in the brilliant Mitchell and Markby series set in the Cotswolds

When Meredith Mitchell picks up a hitchhiker on a lonely road outside Bamford one evening she is left feeling distinctly uneasy. What business can this confident, yet secretive, young woman have at Tudor Lodge, the beautiful old home of Brussels-based lawyer Andrew Penhallow, where she asks to be dropped? Penhallow is constantly toing and froing from the Continent, but that night, unusually, he is at home, and - with his son away and his wife Carla in bed with a migraine - alone. Which is unfortunate, for the next morning he is found murdered in the garden. To the vicarious delight of the locals, who are quick to recall old disputes, Penhallow's death results in some spectacular revelations about his double life - developments which make the murder investigation all the more delicate for Superintendent Markby, who knew the dead man as a young body. Andrew Penhallow certainly had ghosts in his past - has one come back to claim him?

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755377299
  • Publication date: 16 Feb 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Rooted In Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Rooted in Evil by Ann Granger is set in the Cotswold village of Weston Saint Ambrose and features Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in their fifth murder mystery.Carl Finch is a desperate man. Cut out of his stepfather's will, he is heavily in debt and unless he can persuade his stepsister Hattie to bail him out, he'll be in even more trouble. Hattie's husband Guy has never liked Carl and wants his wife's inheritance for his own use, so Hattie agrees to meet Carl in secret to discuss his predicament. Little does she realise that when she arrives at their meeting point in Crooked Man Wood she'll find Carl's dead body...

Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Before I Let You In

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

THE DEAD WOMAN OF DEPTFORD is the sixth Inspector Ben Ross mystery set in Victorian London from much-loved crime writer Ann Granger.On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no witness to the murder of this well-dressed, middle-aged woman can be found. Even Jeb Fisher, the local rag-and-bone man, swears he's seen nothing. Meanwhile, Ben's wife Lizzie is trying to suppress a scandal: family friend Edgar Wellings has a gambling addiction and no means of repaying his debts. Reluctantly, Lizzie agrees to visit his debt collector's house in Deptford, but when she arrives she finds her husband is investigating the murder of the woman in question. Edgar was the last man to see Mrs Clifford alive and he has good reason to want her dead, but Ben and Lizzie both know that a case like this is rarely as simple as it appears...

Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Testimony of the Hanged Man

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

In FEAR NOTHING, the seventh novel in the Detective D.D. Warren series, Sunday Times bestseller Lisa Gardner 'continues to show why she is on the short list of top thriller writers today' (Suspense Magazine). IF YOUR FAMILY ARE KILLERS, WHAT ARE YOU? For fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen.They say family means everything. But Dr Adeline Glen cannot accept that. When you're bound by blood to a father who slaughtered prostitutes and a sister who followed in his sociopathic footsteps, how can you? But now Boston Detective D.D. Warren needs Adeline's professional help to recover from a brutal attack by a psychopath. A murderer who knows too much about Adeline's dead father, and is someone her imprisoned sister claims she can help catch. With the Rose Killer focused on D.D., will Adeline be able to put aside her personal nightmares to help her? All she knows is if she is going to survive what's to come, Adeline will have to...

Headline

Asking for Trouble

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Einstein Pursuit (Payne & Jones 8)

Chris Kuzneski
Authors:
Chris Kuzneski
Headline

The Unquiet Grave (DI Damen Brook 4)

Steven Dunne
Authors:
Steven Dunne

The past can't stay hidden forever...The Cold Case Unit of Derby Constabulary feels like a morgue to DI Damen Brook. But in disgrace and recently back from suspension, his boss thinks it's the safest place for him. But Brook isn't going down without a fight and when he uncovers a pattern in a series of murders that date back to 1963, he is forced to dig deeper. How could a killer stay undetected for so long? Could it be luck or are more sinister forces at work?Applying his instincts and razor sharp intelligence, Brook delves deep into the past of both suspects and colleagues unsure where the hunt will lead him. What he does know for sure is that a significant date is approaching fast and the killer may be about to strike again...(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline

Empire State

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Headline

Bricks and Mortality

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

What Lies Within

Tom Vowler
Authors:
Tom Vowler

A tightly spun, atmospheric and powerful psychological suspense.Living in a remote Devon farmhouse, Anna and her family have always been close to nature, surrounded by the haunting beauty of the moor. But when a convict escapes from nearby Dartmoor prison, their isolation suddenly begins to feel more claustrophobic than free. Fearing for her children's safety, Anna's behaviour becomes increasingly irrational. But why is she so distant from her kind husband Robert, and why does she suspect something sinister of her son Paul? All teenagers have their difficult phases...Meanwhile, a young idealistic teacher has just started her first job, determined to 'make a difference'. But when she is brutally attacked by one of her students, her version of events is doubted by even those closest to her. Struggling to deal with the terrible consequences, she does what she can to move on and start afresh. As the two narratives converge, the tension builds to a devastating denouement, shattering everything you thought you believed about nature, nurture and the true meaning of family.

Headline

The Cat Who Saw Red

Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun

When Jim Qwilleran is sent to 'Maus Haus' on a gastronomical quest, he takes Koko and Yum Yum along for company and steps into a house of curiosities. There's restaurateur Robert Maus, elbow-deep in saucepans; cuddly Hixie with her daily calorie count; and Joy Graham, the red-headed flame from Qwilleran's past and a talented potter to boot. Then strange things occur as a startling scream pierces the night air and Joy disappears without trace. Koko, Yum Yum and their all-providing mentor, Qwilleran, are determined to solve the mystery...

Headline

Black Irish (Absalom Kearney 1)

Stephan Talty
Authors:
Stephan Talty
Headline

The Hunters (The Hunters 1)

Chris Kuzneski
Authors:
Chris Kuzneski
Headline

A Particular Eye for Villainy

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Funeral Note

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

The brilliant new Bob Skinner mystery by the master of crime fiction, his most ambitious ever.After a tip-off, a man's body is exhumed from a shallow grave in Edinburgh. Murder surely, yet he died from natural causes, so, case closed? Indeed was there ever a case? But Chief Constable Skinner and his people keep on digging. Who was the man, why was he buried so reverentially, and by whom? Meanwhile corruption is discovered within the force, and an investigation launched. Immersed in crises, his marriage heading for the rocks, Skinner finds his very career hanging in the balance, its fate beyond his control. In a tale seen through the eyes of each of its leading players, Quintin Jardine, the Crimemaster, lays mystery upon mystery until the greatest threat of all those facing the Chief is revealed, and a deadly race begins. Can he win out, or will his life implode?