Andy McDermott - Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10) - Headline Publishing Group

Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)

By Andy McDermott

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

No one does action like Andy McDermott - this is the brilliant tenth novel featuring Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase.

Full of his trademark action, thrills and humour, this is Andy McDermott's 10th novel featuring his brilliant series leads, Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase.

1943 - Occupied Greece

The mission was simple: round up any hidden Jews. But beneath an isolated farmhouse, one SS unit finds a far greater bounty - a shrine to Alexander the Great and a water-filled urn possessing mysterious qualities. Taking the treasure, the Nazis disappear...

Present Day - Los Angeles

Archaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband Eddie Chase encounter a young man, desperate to warn Nina about a raid on Alexander's newly-discovered tomb. But before he can explain, he is assassinated by a Nazi war criminal - who has barely aged in seventy years.

As Nina and Eddie search for answers, they discover that the most evil regime in history is threatening to rise again. And this time they are on the hunt for the greatest prize of all - immortality...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755380749
  • Publication date: 29 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Headline
Adventure stories don't get much more epic than this — Mirror
A writer of almost cinematic talent — Daily Express, Scotland
McDermott raises the bar... non-stop high octane action — Publishers Weekly
Easily competes with the works of Dan Brown and James Rollins — Bookgasm.com
True Indiana Jones stuff with terrific pace — Bookseller
Like Clive Cussler on speed... high-powered fun — Huddersfield Daily
A pulse-racing adventure with action down the line — Northern Echo
No fan of Indiana Jones, Matthew Reilly or action in general will be able to put it down — Northern Territory News
If you're looking for thriller writing that will transport you into a realm very different from your own quotidian existence, Andy McDermott is your man — Good Book Guide
Move over Clive Cussler, here's a great new writer of thunderingly good adventure sagas — Peterborough Evening News
For readers who like hundred mile an hour plots — Huddersfield Daily Examiner
Headline

Untitled

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

Headline

The Night She Died

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

The bone-chilling new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook-bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, BEFORE I LET YOU IN and THE FOSTER CHILD. If you love dark, twisty thrillers, you'll love THE NIGHT SHE DIED. On her own wedding night, beautiful and complicated Evie White leaps off a cliff to her death. What drove her to commit this terrible act? It's left to her best friend and her husband to unravel the sinister mystery. Following a twisted trail of clues leading to Evie's darkest secrets, they begin to realize they never knew the real Evie at all.

Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline

Playfair Cricket Annual 2018

Ian Marshall
Authors:
Ian Marshall
Headline Home

Live Well to 101

Dawn Harper
Authors:
Dawn Harper
Headline

The Bitter Twins (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 2)

Jen Williams
Authors:
Jen Williams
Headline Review

The Songbirds of Colliers Row: A cosy wartime family saga perfect for a winter's day

Jennifer Hart
Authors:
Jennifer Hart

From the ashes of war rose a song of hope...A warm-hearted, nostalgic and uplifting saga, The Songbirds of Colliers Row by Jennifer Hart is perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Donna Douglas, Kate Thompson's Secrets of the Singer Girls and for anyone with a song in their heart...A village without a voice. That's what the locals are saying about Llandegwen, deep in the Welsh valleys. The village choir, once a source of pride for the small mining community, has been forced to disband; the elderly choirmaster heartbroken by the empty seats belonging to those who'll never return from the battlefields. The arrival of a young war widow from the East End with her little boy sets tongues wagging, not least when rumours abound that she's looking to revive the choir. Can the community set aside their grief and lift their voices, and the village's hopes, once more?

Headline

American Gods: Shadows

Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell, Scott Hampton
Contributors:
Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell, Scott Hampton
Headline Review

The Image of You: I thought I knew you. But you're a liar.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

The Image of You is the utterly gripping new novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 bestselling ebook, The Stranger In My Home. This compelling story of families, love, deception and secrets is perfect for fans of TV's Doctor Foster, Liar, The Replacement, Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Shari Lapena. When all you can see is what they want you to see... Can you ever trust someone you meet online?Anna and Zoe are twins. Identical in appearance, utterly different in personality, they share a bond so close that nothing - or no one - can rip them apart.Until Anna meets charismatic Nick.Anna is trusting, romantic and hopeful; she thinks Nick is perfect.Zoe is daring, dangerous and extreme; she thinks Nick is a liar.Zoe has seen Anna betrayed by men before. She'll stop at nothing to discover if Nick is as good as he seems. The problem is, lies may hurt. But honesty can kill.

Headline

It's Not Me, It's Them

Joel Dommett
Authors:
Joel Dommett

As a 17-year-old virgin working . . . for Virgin, Joel Dommett has grand ambitions. Firstly, he is going to swap suburbia for the bright lights of Showbiz. Secondly, he is going to find 'the one' in the first forty people he's going to sleep with. What follows is a series of disastrous romantic encounters, including carpets mistaken for toilets, futile grand gestures and the catfishing to end all catfishing. Featuring genuine teenage diary entries and told in Joel's trademark self-deprecating style, this is the brilliant first book from the UK's most exciting comedian.

Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo

THE FEED by Nick Clark Windo is a startling and timely debut which presents a world as unique and vividly imagined as STATION ELEVEN and THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS.Tom and Kate's daughter turns six tomorrow, and they have to tell her about sleep.If you sleep unwatched, you could be Taken. If you are Taken, then watching won't save you.Nothing saves you.Your knowledge. Your memories. Your dreams.If all you are is on the Feed, what will you become when the Feed goes down? For Tom and Kate, in the six years since the world collapsed, every day has been a fight for survival. And when their daughter, Bea, goes missing, they will question whether they can even trust each other anymore.The threat is closer than they realise...

Headline

Watch Me Disappear

Janelle Brown
Authors:
Janelle Brown
Headline

The Fear Within (Dani Lewis 2)

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline

In the Line of Fire

Warren Gatland
Authors:
Warren Gatland

Warren Gatland's In the Line of Fire is the ultimate chronicle of this summer's remarkable Lions tour to New Zealand - home of the fearsome All Blacks, the double world champions - which culminated in an historic and nerve-shredding series draw.The book is the Head Coach's candid record of the perspiration and inspiration, the withering ferocity,and the turbulent peaks and troughs which go hand-in-hand with one of sport's toughest challenges. It gives rugby fans an unparalleled front-row seat with the squad and coaching team during every facet of preparing for and executing a successful tour on the opposite side of the planet, recounting intriguing details on everything from pre-tour planning and strategy, to on-tour experiences, analysis and decision-making.It all adds up to a thrillingly definitive exposition and post-mortem of a mind-blowing six weeks in the cauldron which forged the mighty All Blacks.

Headline

Hello Again

Brenda Novak
Authors:
Brenda Novak
Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning

Will you look her in the eyes, just before she dies? A terrifying crime thriller that will set your pulse pounding. Perfect for fans of M. J. Arlidge, Robert Bryndza, and Angela Marsons.I, Killer has posted two photos of his first victim online - Before Death and After Death. They've gone viral before DCI Fenton's team even discovers the body.Soon, another victim's photo is similarly posted...and so begins the killer's following.DCI Fenton is determined to discover the identity of I, Killer. Then the murderer makes the hunt personal, and Fenton's search becomes a matter of life or death for him and his daughter.But as I, Killer's body-count rises, his number of online followers is growing - and he loves to give his fans what they want...

Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott

Following on from THE MIDAS LEGACY, Andy McDermott's new Wilde and Chase novel sees our daring duo on the trail of a strange, ancient weapon of immense power hidden in a lost city deep in the African jungle. Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Chris Kuzneski, Dan Brown and Scott Mariani.Nina Wilde is back on the hunt. Now a presenter of her own TV documentary series, Nina is in Jerusalem. Clues found at the Ark of the Covenant recovery site have led her to the ruins of the First Temple, buried beneath Temple Mount. Within them, Nina spots an opening to a previously hidden chamber - a map room which contains a model of a mysterious city thought to contain a great yet dangerous power hidden by King Solomon himself. Analysing the clues, Nina believes that the city is located in the Democratic Republic of Congo, one of the most dangerous locations on Earth.Eddie is in England with their daughter Macy but Nina's phone call is about to change everything. He has had his own problems in the DRC in the past and he isn't about to let Nina go there alone.Joining forces, Nina and Eddie are about to start a chain of events from which there might be no return...

Tinder Press

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed
Authors:
Jennie Melamed
Tinder Press

Love and Trouble: Memoirs of a Former Wild Girl

Claire Dederer
Authors:
Claire Dederer
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRETLaurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.This is how children change...and then change the world.This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima