Tasmina Perry - The Proposal - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755383566
    • Publication date:14 Aug 2014

The Proposal

By Tasmina Perry

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Intrigue, tragedy and a secret love buried in time feature in this gripping, heartbreaking dual narrative novel set in the year of the last debutantes from the Sunday Times top ten bestselling author.

Perfect to curl up with this Christmas, The Proposal by Tasmina Perry is a spellbinding tale of second chances that looks back to the year of the last debutantes. With a haunting love story at its heart, the novel sweeps you away to Fifties London and modern Manhattan. If you love Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore, you will adore this multi-layered, moving read. 'A story of long-buried secrets...Perry expertly weaves a delicate web of love and betrayal' Daily Express

1958. At eighteen, Georgia Hamilton is sent to London for the Debutante Season. Independent, and with secret dreams to be a writer, she has no wish to join the other debs competing for a husband. But when tragedy strikes, her fate appears to have been sealed.

2012. Hurrying to meet her lover, Amy Carrell hopes tonight will change her destiny. And it does - but not in the way she imagined. Desolate and desperate to get out of London, she accepts a position as companion to a mysterious stranger, bound for Manhattan - little knowing she is about to unlock a love story that has waited fifty years to be told. And a heart waiting to come back to life...

Biographical Notes

TASMINA PERRY is a Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author. She left a career in law to enter the world of women's magazine publishing, going on to become an award-winning writer and contributor to titles such as Elle, Glamour and Marie Claire. In 2004 she launched her own travel and fashion magazine, Jaunt, and was editing InStyle magazine when she left the industry to write books full time. Her novels have been published in seventeen countries. Tasmina lives with her husband and son in London, where she is at work on her next novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755383573
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
A heartfelt, romantic tale about lost love and how it's never too late to start again. Mingling modern day New York with the rarefied world of 1950s debutantes, Tasmina Perry's ninth novel is a departure but has all the elements she does best: characters you feel you know as intimately as close friends and lots of heart. A treat of a novel you'll want to devour in one sitting — Good Housekeeping
An unforgettable journey...will keep you gripped — Daily Express
A tantalising blend of elegance and mystique, a rather irresistible read — Closer
A glamorous tale of second chances in modern Manhattan and Fifties London. An irresistible page-turner — Marie Claire
A modern fairy tale with broken hearts. Debutantes, country houses - what's not to love? — Daily Mail (Best Books of 2013)
An enjoyable tale, narrated with charm — Sunday Mirror
More romantic than a candlelit proposal. On Valentine's Day. In Paris. From Ryan Gosling — Heat
A mesmerising novel, this book will have you engrossed from cover to cover — The Lady
Headline

Untitled

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Christmas With You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

The Pool House: Someone lied. Someone died.

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker

Uncover the secrets of Edward Fairfax Rochester, the beloved, enigmatic hero of Jane Eyre, as he tells his story for the first time in Mr Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker's gorgeous retelling of one of the most romantic stories in literature.

Headline Review

The House on Sunset Lake

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

'Seductive and mysterious...the perfect novel to while away a summer's afternoon' Express. Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry is back with a delicious summer read. Unlock the secrets of the mysterious house on Sunset Lake... Casa D'Or, the mysterious plantation house on Sunset Lake, has been in the Wyatt family for over fifty years. Jennifer Wyatt returns there from university full of hope, as summer by the lake stretches ahead of her. Yet by the time it is over her heart will be broken, her family in tatters, her dreams long gone.Twenty years later, Casa D'Or stands neglected, a victim of tragic events. Jennifer has closed the door on her past. Then Jim, the man she met and fell in love with that magical summer, comes back into her life, with a plan to return Casa D'Or to its former glory. Their reunion will stir up old ghosts for both of them, and reveal the dark secrets the house still holds close...

Headline

The Smoke Hunter

Jacquelyn Benson
Authors:
Jacquelyn Benson
Headline Review

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

A spellbinding tale of love, loss and long-buried secrets from the Sunday Times bestselling author. If you loved spending A Week in Paris with Rachel Hore or taking the Last Voyage of the Valentina with Santa Montefiore, you will adore this unforgettable novel.Everyone remembers their first kiss. But what about the last?1961. Journalist Rosamund Bailey is ready to change the world. When she meets explorer and man about town Dominic Blake, she realises she has found the love of her life. Just as happiness is in their grasp, the worst happens, and their future is snatched away.2014. Deep in the vaults of a museum, archivist Abby Morgan stumbles upon a breathtaking find. A faded photograph of a man saying goodbye to the woman he loves. Looking for a way to escape her own heartache, Abby becomes obsessed with the story, little realising that behind the image frozen in time lies a secret altogether more extraordinary.

Headline

Meant To Be

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

Caroline's War: Vale Valhalla

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

Before Caroline can find peace, the world must go to war. The epic World War I saga from bestselling author Joy Chambers, for fans of Pam Jenoff and Margaret Leroy.One hundred years after the conflict, the men who fought in the Great War have all but faded away, and only the memory of their sacrifice will be preserved. Between 1914 and 1918 soldiers from all over the world converged on the trenches of Belgium and Northern France: from Australia and New Zealand, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, Wales and the far reaches of the British Empire they came to fight alongside the Belgians and the French.CAROLINE'S WAR: VALE VALHALLA is a compelling, epic novel that follows the lives of a group of Australians through the years prior to, and during, the First World War. At the heart, is the constant life-long hatred between two mortal enemies and the woman who loves one of these men with an abiding passion yet marries the other: Matthew Craken, flamboyant dilettante; John Conrad Fleet, the steadfast, honest soldier; and Caroline Dere the woman in both their lives. When Matthew is badly injured by John Conrad in a fight over the death of John Conrad's sister, Matthew takes retribution by ensuring he captures Caro for himself.Their story is played out against the searing background of the First World War where ultimately Matthew, John Conrad and Caro find that the power of forgiveness can bring peace.*Published in print as VALE VALHALLA

Headline

The Soldier's Choice

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers

A novella from Joy Chambers, the bestselling author of THE GREAT DECEPTION and CAROLINE'S WAR: VALE VALHALLA, written to mark the centenary of the First World War. Also features a sample chapter from CAROLINE'S WAR: VALE VALHALLA.Lancashire, 1915. As Nell Stopford sits on the banks of the River Medlock, grieving for her soldier husband killed thousands of miles away from the life they once shared, the world is still at war. 'There comes a time when you have to do your duty and be counted.'And Nell must seek to understand her husband's choice.

Headline Review

If I Could Turn Back Time: the laugh-out-loud love story of the year!

Nicola Doherty
Authors:
Nicola Doherty

If you love Lindsey Kelk and Mhairi McFarlane's YOU HAD ME AT HELLO, you'll love this book...What if you found The One, then lost him again? Or not so much lost him as became the neurotic, needy girlfriend from hell. The girl who tried to make him choose between her and his job, and got seriously paranoid about his relationship with his female best friend... Zoë Kennedy knows she doesn't deserve another chance with David Fitzgerald. But if there's the tiniest possibility of making things right, she'll snatch it. Even if it means breaking the laws of physics to do so...

Headline Review

Deep Blue Sea

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

Passionate. Explosive. Impossible to put down. Tasmina Perry is back with her most spectacular novel yet...Beneath the shimmering surface lies a dark secret...Diana and Julian Denver have the world at their feet. With a blissful marriage, a darling son and beautiful homes in London and the country, Diana's life, to the outside world, is perfect. But nothing is as it seems... When Julian dies suddenly and tragically, Diana is convinced there is more to it than meets the eye. She calls on the one person she had never wanted to see again - her sister, Rachel.A former tabloid reporter, Rachel appears to be living the dream as a diving instructor on a Thai island. The truth is she's in exile, estranged from her family and driven from her career by Fleet Street's phone-hacking scandal. For Rachel, Diana's request opens old wounds. But she is determined to make amends for the past, and embarks on a treacherous journey to uncover the truth - wherever it may lead...

Headline

The Great Deception

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline Review

Perfect Strangers

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

Mayfield

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

My Zulu, Myself

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

For Freedom

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline

None But the Brave

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers