Julianna Baggott - Pure - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755393596
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755385515
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2012

Pure

By Julianna Baggott
Read by Casey Holloway, Joshua Swanson, Kevin T Collins, and Khristine Hvam

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning coming of age novel set in a richly imagined post-apocalyptic world. For fans of THE PASSAGE and THE HUNGER GAMES this is a fantastic addition to the growing cannon of dystopian fiction

We know you are here, our brothers and sisters. We will, one day, emerge from the Dome to join you in peace. For now, we watch from afar, benevolently.

Pressia Belze has lived outside of the Dome ever since the detonations. Struggling for survival she dreams of life inside the safety of the Dome with the 'Pure'.

Partridge, himself a Pure, knows that life inside the Dome, under the strict control of the leaders' regime, isn't as perfect as others think.

Bound by a history that neither can clearly remember, Pressia and Partridge are destined to forge a new world.

(P)2012 Headline Digital

Biographical Notes

Julianna is an award-winning poet, novelist, and young adult writer. For years, she has been thinking about writing a futuristic dystopian novel about a society of haves - the Pure, who escaped the apocalypse and live in an uncontaminated dome-covered city - and have-nots - the wretched survivors who live in the nearly-destroyed outside world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755390786
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' — Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage
'PURE is a post-apocalyptic thrill ride, filled with wildly inventive characters whose journey of struggle and revolution manifests as a fast-paced narrative full of promise and hope. As visceral and kinetic as it is socially relevant, PURE is bursting with imagination and epic adventure. Baggott is here to stay. And we are all the beneficiaries' — Steven Schneider, producer of Paranormal Activity I and II
'PURE is a dark adventure that is both startling and addictive at once. Pressia Belze is one part manga heroine and one part post-apocalyptic Alice, stranded in a surreal Wonderland where everyone and everything resonates with what has been lost. Breathtaking and frightening. I couldn't stop reading PURE' — Danielle Trussoni, bestselling author of ANGELOLOGY
Headline

Defender

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

The Revelation Code (Wilde/Chase 11)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Mosquitoland

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Burn

Julianna Baggott
Authors:
Julianna Baggott
Headline

Fuse

Julianna Baggott
Authors:
Julianna Baggott
Tinder Press

When God was a Rabbit

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

Sarah Winman's bestselling, critically-acclaimed debut novel WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT continues to captivate and enchant readers.1968. The year Paris takes to the streets. The year Martin Luther King loses his life for a dream. The year Eleanor Maud Portman is born.Young Elly's world is shaped by those who inhabit it: her loving but maddeningly distractible parents; a best friend who smells of chips and knows exotic words like 'slag'; an ageing fop who tapdances his way into her home, a Shirley Bassey impersonator who trails close behind; lastly, of course, a rabbit called God. In a childhood peppered with moments both ordinary and extraordinary, Elly's one constant is her brother Joe.Twenty years on, Elly and Joe are fully grown and as close as they ever were. Until, that is, one bright morning when a single, earth-shattering event threatens to destroy their bond forever. Spanning four decades and moving between suburban Essex, the wild coast of Cornwall and the streets of New York, this is a story about childhood, eccentricity, the darker side of love and sex, the pull and power of family ties, loss and life. More than anything, it's a story about love in all its forms.

Headline

Close

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Billy Hopkins

Billy Hopkins (better known to his family and friends as Wilfred Hopkins) was born in Collyhurst in 1928 and attended schools in Manchester. Before going into higher education, he worked as a copy boy for the Manchester Guardian. He later studied at the Universities of London, Manchester and Leeds and was involved in school-teaching and teacher-training in Liverpool, Manchester, Salford and Glasgow. He also worked in African universities in Kenya, Zimbabwe and Malawi. Billy Hopkins, author, husband and father of six, died aged 83 in 2012.

Carol O'Connell

Carol O'Connell is the New York Times bestselling creator of Kathy Mallory, and the author of thirteen books, eleven featuring her acclaimed detective, most recently IT HAPPENS IN THE DARK, as well as the stand-alone thrillers JUDAS CHILD and BONE BY BONE. She lives in New York City.

Charlotte Hughes

Charlotte Hughes is the author of many acclaimed romance and comedy novels. With Janet Evanovich she wrote the bestselling Max Holt novels Full House, Full Tilt, Full Speed and Full Blast. She lives in South Carolina, USA.

Crime Files

Bringing you killers and their captors - from the Crime Team at Hodder, Headline and Quercus. Dedicated to quality Crime & Thriller writing, from the publishers of Martina Cole, John Grisham, Peter May & many more. Crime Files is a dedicated community, created by Hodder, Headline and Quercus, where all you crime and thriller writing fans can get together and share your passion for thrillingly good books. Plus you can get in on the case and have access to all the latest news, reviews, interviews and highly confidential information. What are you waiting for? Join the club. It would be criminal not to.www.crimefilesinternational.comwww.facebook.com/CrimeFiles

David Gibbins

David Gibbins is the author of twelve novels that have sold over three million copies in thirty languages. He has been on both the New York Times and the Sunday Times top ten bestseller lists, and he has been a Newsweek number one bestseller in Poland. As well as nine novels in his Jack Howard series of archaeological thrillers, he has written two novels set in the world of ancient Rome. David has a PhD in archaeology from Cambridge University, is a passionate diver and derives much of the inspiration for his novels from the many expeditions he has led around the world to investigate ancient shipwrecks and other archaeological sites. His awards have included a Fellowship and Medallion from the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. For his latest discoveries and more about David and his novels, visit www.davidgibbins.com and www.facebook.com/DavidGibbinsAuthor.

Eowyn Ivey

Eowyn Ivey's debut novel, THE SNOW CHILD, was published in twenty-six languages, and became an international bestseller. It was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 2013, and Eowyn won the International Author of the Year category at the 2012 National Book Awards. A former bookseller, Eowyn lives in Palmer, Alaska, with her family.

Julie Highmore

Julie Highmore lives in Oxford and has three grown-up children.

Lesley Nneka Arimah

Lesley Nneka Arimah was born in the UK and grew up wherever her father was stationed for work, which was sometimes Nigeria, sometimes not. She has been published in The New Yorker and Granta, her story 'Light' was winner of the 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Africa, and she has twice been shortlisted for the Caine Prize (2016 and 2017) with stories from WHAT IT MEANS WHEN A MAN FALLS FROM THE SKY.

Lynda Page

Lynda Page was born and brought up in Leicester. The eldest of four daughters, she left home at seventeen and has had a wide variety of office jobs. She now spends the majority of her time helping her daughter and writing her novels in the peace and tranquillity of her daughter's holiday park in Epworth, North Lincolnshire.Follow her on twitter @LyndaPage9 and like her Facebook page: Lynda Page

Mark Barrowcliffe

Mark Barrowcliffe was born in Coventry and studied at the University of Sussex. He worked as a journalist before penning his first novel, Girlfriend 44, and went on to write two other acclaimed comic novels, Lucky Dog and Infidelity for First-Time Fathers, as well as The Elfish Gene, a memoir of his youth in 1970s Coventry. He lives in Brighton.

Miikko Oikkonen

Miikko Oikkonen is the creator of the original idea and concept of NYMPHS. He is also the script writer and director of the TV series. Oikkonen is one of the most promising artists in the fields of audiovisual art and script writing.

Nevada Barr

Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times bestselling author. She began her career as an actress, during which time she became interested in the environmental movement and started working in the National Parks during the summers - Isle Royale in Michigan, Guadalupe Mountains in Texas, Mesa Verde in Colorado, and then on the Natchez Trace Parkway in Mississippi. Nevada Barr has written a series of mysteries featuring park ranger Anna Pigeon as well as numerous other books, short stories and articles. She currently resides in New Orleans.

Richard Ford

Richard Ford hails from Leeds but now resides in Wiltshire, in the first town on the Thames. His first novel, Kultus, was published in 2011. Herald of the Storm is his epic fantasy debut.