Emylia Hall - The Book of Summers - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390847
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390854
    • Publication date:24 May 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390861
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755396146
    • Publication date:24 May 2012

The Book of Summers

The Richard and Judy Bestseller

By Emylia Hall

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The perfect summer read from a glorious new voice in commercial literary fiction

Beth Lowe has been sent a parcel.

Inside is a letter informing her that her long-estranged mother has died, and a scrapbook Beth has never seen before. Entitled The Book of Summers, it's stuffed with photographs and mementos complied by her mother to record the seven glorious childhood summers Beth spent in rural Hungary.
It was a time when she trod the tightrope between separated parents and two very different countries; her bewitching but imperfect Hungarian mother and her gentle, reticent English father; the dazzling house of a Hungarian artist and an empty-feeling cottage in deepest Devon. And it was a time that came to the most brutal of ends the year Beth turned sixteen.

Since then, Beth hasn't allowed herself to think about those years of her childhood. But the arrival of The Book of Summers brings the past tumbling back into the present; as vivid, painful and vital as ever.

Biographical Notes

Emylia was born in 1978 and grew up in the Devon countryside, the daughter of an English artist and a Hungarian quilt-maker. After studying English & Related Literature at the universities of York and Lausanne, she spent five years working in a London ad agency, before moving to the French Alps. It was there that she began to write. Emylia now lives in Bristol with her husband, the comic-book writer and children's author, Robin Etherington, and young son. She is the author of The Book of Summers, which was a Richard & Judy Summer Book club pick in 2012, A Heart Bent Out of Shape and The Sea Between Us.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755390830
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2012
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'A charming debut novel' — Woman's Own
'[A] vivid coming-of-age story' — Woman & Home
'A compelling coming-of-age story with a superb twist' — Easy Living
'Emylia Hall creates an enchanting and vivid picture of Beth's summers in rural Hungary... It's an addictive read and an amazing debut for Emylia Hall' — www.cosmopolitan.co.uk
'Fab debut about a woman reliving the summers she spent in rural Hungary' — Heat
'Heartfelt and evocative... all we need now is for summer to finally arrive' — Grazia
'Fantastically evocative and sun-drenched with a twist, it's guaranteed a place on our summer holiday reading list' — www.stylist.co.uk
Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale.A fresh start. A lifelong dream. A shot at true love. Could a cherry orchard in Spain hold the answers for Beti? Jo Thomas takes you there.

Tinder Press

Letters From The Suitcase

Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Authors:
Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan

THE LETTERS FROM THE SUITCASE by Rosheen and Cal Finnigan reveals the detailed and poignant wartime romance between David and Mary Francis. For readers of Sheila Hancock's MISS CARTER'S WAR or Helen Simonson's MAJOR PETTIGREW'S LAST STAND 'I still have that recurring fear of something happening to me before I see you again, and before I can tell you myself just how much and how often I've realised during the last few months that I love you completely and to the exclusion of all others. Remember that, because if there wasn't you, my darling Mary, the world would seem very empty and meaningless.'Mary and David Francis were only twenty-one and nineteen when they met in 1938. They fell in love instantly, and against the wishes of David's parents, they lived together and married, in secret. These poignant letters reveal their intelligence and thoughtfulness, their passion, the everyday details of their lives working as a secretary at Bletchley Park and as a young officer in action on the other side of the world, and Mary's experience of bringing up a small baby alone in London. David was to die in India, five years after their first encounter, though his letters continued to reach Mary long after the event. At heart, this is the story of a young couple who were utterly devoted to one another. It is also the story of a father that Rosheen Finnigan never knew but came to love.

Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core. They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy. But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in. My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later. This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy FowlerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. Four siblings, too young for what they are about to hear, sneak out to hear their fortunes. We then follow the intertwined paths the siblings take over the course of five decades and, in particular, how they choose to live with the supposed knowledge the fortune-teller gave them that day. This is a story about life, mortality and the choices we make: is it better to live a long and cautious life, or to burn brightly, but for the shortest time?

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller you have to read this summer

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and unputdownable new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Milly Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2017SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARDA top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.

Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz