Lisa Gardner - The Next Accident (FBI Profiler 3) - Headline Publishing Group

The Next Accident (FBI Profiler 3)

By Lisa Gardner

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

THE NEXT ACCIDENT is the third book in the FBI Profiler series from The Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller. WHEN SOMEONE KNOWS YOUR EVERY WEAKNESS HOW CAN YOU STOP THEM PREYING ON YOU? Karin Slaughter calls Lisa Gardner 'an amazing writer'. Do you want to find out why?

THE NEXT ACCIDENT is the third book in the FBI Profiler series from The Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller. WHEN SOMEONE KNOWS YOUR EVERY WEAKNESS HOW CAN YOU STOP THEM PREYING ON YOU? Karin Slaughter calls Lisa Gardner 'an amazing writer'. Do you want to find out why?

When FBI Special Agent Pierce Quincy's daughter was killed in a tragic accident, her drink problem and chequered past ensured that the official report deemed it just that - an accident. But what if someone knew her weaknesses? What if someone knew just how to catch her at her most vulnerable? What if someone was determined to kill her?

Ex-cop Rainie Connor jumps at the chance to help Quincy after he saw her through the darkest days of her life. Together, they move closer to the twisted psychopath responsible - someone who craves revenge, who feeds on fear, someone who knows Quincy has another daughter, just as precious to him as Mandy.

But as they race against time to save Quincy's surviving daughter from her sister's fate, they know must take drastic action and decide that they need bait - Rainie. Can the killer resist the temptation of Quincy's ex-lover? And will Rainie live to regret her decision?

Biographical Notes

Lisa Gardner is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author. Her FBI Profiler novels include SAY GOODBYE, GONE and THE KILLING HOUR. Her Detective D.D. Warren series includes THE NEIGHBOUR, which won the International Thriller Writers' Award in 2010, CATCH ME, CRASH & BURN and FIND HER. Lisa lives with her family in New England.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755396436
  • Publication date: 11 Oct 2012
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Measure of Darkness

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

The fantastic follow-up to CRIME SCENE by masters of the psychological thriller genre Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman. ASHES TO ASHES features deputy coroner Clay Edison in another gripping case . . .If you love the Alex Delaware series, and are a fan of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly, you will be hooked by ASHES TO ASHES.

Headline

Playing With Death: The terrifying thriller with a shocking twist

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

Night Moves (Alex Delaware series, Book 33)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

By the Light of the Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

When Dylan O'Conner, together with his autistic brother, Shepherd, pulls into a motel off the interstate highway, all he wants is a good night's sleep. Yet within the hour he finds himself bound, gagged and being injected with a mysterious fluid by a lunatic doctor, who claims Dylan will be the carrier of 'his life's work'. Comedian Jillian Jackson is midway through a tour of seedy venues, accompanied by her pet pot-plant Fred. But her plans for stardom are dramatically altered when she too falls victim to the eccentric scientist. The doctor warns his victims that he is being pursued and that they too are now targets. If they are caught, they will be killed. Both are sceptical. Before long, they are beginning to wonder if the lunatic doctor wasn't quite so mad after all . . .

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy

ONE RULE. TRUST NO-ONE.Adam Hamdy's debut PENDULUM was called 'one of the best thrillers of the year' by JAMES PATTERSON. This pulse-racing read is perfect for fans of Lee Child and Gregg Hurwitz's ORPHAN X.'FREEFALL IS A RELENTLESS, ADRENALINE-CHARGED THRILLER THAT GRIPS FROM THE FIRST PAGE' Daily ExpressJOHN WALLACE IS A TARGETHiding off-grid after exposing the shadowy Pendulum conspiracy, Wallace is horrified to discover he is still marked for death.THERE ARE ONLY TWO PEOPLE HE CAN TRUSTDI Patrick Bailey is still reeling from the murder investigation that nearly cost him his life. FBI Agent Christine Ash is hunting a serial killer with a link to an unfinished caseHE MUST FIND THE TRUTHThe death of a London journalist triggers an investigation that brings them back together, hurling them into the path of an unknown enemy.BEFORE THE KILLER FINDS HIMHunted across the world, they are plunged into a nightmare deadlier than they could have ever imagined.'SO TENSE, YOU WILL BE BITING YOUR NAILS LONG BEFORE THE FINAL CHAPTER.' The Sun

Headline

Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth

'Sensational' Clare Mackintosh, No 1 bestselling author of I Let You Go.'The definition of a page-turner' Sun'Truly scary' Marian Keyes'A brilliant thriller' Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said'Throws a chilling light on how brazenly power can be abused, and the suffering it can bring down on the most vulnerable' Sunday Times Crime ClubMOTHER. WIFE. POLITICIAN. LIAR.THEN: How far did she go to conceal the truth? Politician Linda Moscow sacrificed everything to protect her son: her beliefs, her career, her marriage. All she wanted was to keep him safe. NOW: What will she risk to expose the lies? When the voices she silenced come back to haunt her, Linda is faced with another impossible choice. Only this time, it's her life on the line...An Act of Silence is about the abuse of power, the devastating effects of keeping the truth buried, and the lengths a mother will go to save her child.'Fiendishly impressive structure; taut, evocative prose; gripping plot' Sarah Vaughan, author of Anatomy of a Scandal'Brilliant, taut psychological thriller. Sensitive, muscular and it could be true. Unputdownable' Julia Crouch, author of Her Husband's Lover'Colette McBeth is beloved of writers like Paula Hawkins, and with this twisty, clever novel, she's guaranteed to win more fans' Red Magazine'A tense thriller ... beautifully written and perfectly paced. Her best book yet' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

Headline

Monster In The Closet (The Baltimore Series Book 5)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner's next thriller following her runaway New York Times bestseller Find Her takes her wildly popular brand of suspense to new heights.Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives.Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified as the killer. Telly Ray Nash is on the hunt for Sharlah and as the death count rises it becomes clear that nothing and no-one, including Pierce and Rainie, will stop him getting to her.Now, Sharlah has one chance to take control. She can run for her life... or turn and face the danger right behind her.

Headline

The 4th Man (An FBI Profiler Short Story)

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

Find Her

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

AN ESCAPED KIDNAPPING VICTIM BECOMES AN AVENGER OF INNOCENTS. CAN SHE ESCAPE WHEN SHE'S TARGETED AGAIN? The eighth novel in Sunday Times bestseller Lisa Gardner's Detective D. D. Warren series. Harlan Coben says FIND HER is 'taut psychological suspense' which 'should not be missed'. A LOST GIRL FOUND 472 days locked in a pine box, at the mercy of a madman. Flora Dane survived her hell with only one goal: develop all the deadly skills necessary to make sure she's never caught again.ANOTHER GIRL MISSING Detective D.D. Warren believes that Flora may be the key to finding missing college student, Stacy Summers. But she must follow rules that Flora has no interest in. For Flora no risk is too great, no cost too high, even if it means playing into a predator's hands. Two victims. One cop. TIME IS RUNNING OUT...if you're going to FIND HER

Headline

Tenacity

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law

Tenacity has been recently republished in ebook as The Dark Beneath.The debut novel from J.S. Law, featuring new series lead Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, has been heralded as 'addictively readable' by Patricia Cornwell, 'pacey, claustrophobic and utterly thrilling' by Eva Dolan and 'breathlessly plotted' by Emlyn Rees. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide.A sailor hangs himself on board a naval submarine. Although ruled a suicide Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, the Navy's finest Special Branch investigator, knows the sailor's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now Dan must enter the cramped confines of HMS Tenacity to interrogate the tight-knit, male crew and determine if there's a link.Standing alone in the face of extreme hostility and with a possible killer on board, Dan soon realises that she may have to choose between the truth and her own survival. The pressure is rising and Dan's time is running out...

Headline

Demon Seed

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Rachael Leben's violently possessive ex-husband, Eric, hideously mangled in a freak accident, is dead. But his body has disappeared from the city morgue. Now someone, or something, is watching Rachael. Calling her. Stalking her. And though no one will believe her, she knows who it is; that his walking corpse is a grotesque mockery of life, and his brilliant, warped mind, once again 'alive', is seething with jealous rage, seeking an unspeakable revenge.

Headline

The Bad Place

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Frank Pollard awakens in an alley, knowing nothing but his name and that he is in danger. Over the next few days he develops a fear of sleep because when he wakes he finds blood on his hands, and bizarre and terrifying objects in his pockets. Distraught and desperate, Frank begs husband-and-wife detective team Bobby and Julie Dakota to get to the bottom of his mysterious, amnesiac fugues. It seems a simple job, but they are drawn into ever-darkening realms where they encounter the nightmare, hate-filled figure stalking Frank. And their lives are threatened, as is that of Julie's gentle, Down's-syndrome brother, Thomas.To Thomas, death is the 'bad place' from which there is no return. But as each of them ultimately learns, there are equally bad places in the world of the living, places so steeped in evil that, in contrast, death seems almost to be a relief...