Maggie O'Farrell - The Hand That First Held Mine - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755373277
    • Publication date:29 Apr 2010
  • CD-Audio £15.98
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755383986
    • Publication date:06 Jan 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755383993
    • Publication date:06 Jan 2011

The Hand That First Held Mine

By Maggie O'Farrell
Read by Samantha Bond

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

An unforgettable novel of love and motherhood from bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell.

Winner of the 2010 Costa Novel Award and a Sunday Times bestseller, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE by Maggie O'Farrell is a gorgeously written story of love and motherhood from the author of THIS MUST BE THE PLACE.

When the sophisticated Innes Kent turns up on her doorstep, Lexie Sinclair realises she cannot wait any longer for her life to begin, and leaves for London. There, at the heart of the 1950s Soho art scene, she carves out a new life. In the present day, Elina and Ted are reeling from the difficult birth of their first child. Elina struggles to reconcile the demands of motherhood with her sense of herself as an artist, and Ted is disturbed by memories of his own childhood that don't tally with his parents' version of events. As Ted begins to search for answers, an extraordinary portrait of two women is revealed, separated by fifty years, but connected in ways that neither could ever have expected.

(P)2012 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755399307
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
'O'Farrell has a remarkable ability to convey the texture of human emotion with precision. In THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, she also demonstrates a masterful gift for storytelling' — Observer
'Like Daphne du Maurier before her, Maggie O'Farrell writes books designed to stir up the female subconscious and bring our most primal fears to the surface... this book will leave your stomach in knots' — Daily Mail
'The journey this novel invites us on is wonderful, involving time travel, heartache, elation, confusion, freedom, nostalgia and art' — Scotland on Sunday
'Genuinely unputdownable... evidence of her place as one of Britain's most engaging contemporary novelists' — Literary Review
Tinder Press

The Rocks Along Our Way

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.Juno Ryan is on her way to a dreamy villa near the sea in beautiful Spain. But Juno's not on holiday. She's running away. Weeks earlier Juno's life was good. Great job, loving family - even if they don't really understand her - and an ever-closer relationship with clever, funny, handsome Brad. Then catastrophe struck. Not only is Brad gone, in the most tragic way, but he wasn't who Juno thought he was at all. She can't think about anything else. So she's decided to leave everything behind for the summer. But the unplanned break is going to be full of surprises. And the past isn't finished with Juno yet...

Headline

A Whole Lotta Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee

'I am in LOVE with Florence Love' - Mel Giedroyc. Flo is back to her private investigating ways in A WHOLE LOTTA LOVE by Louise Lee. The answer to the case of a lifetime is tantalisingly close, but can she ever really know the truth about Bambi? Fans of Marian Keyes, Joanna Bolouri and Mhairi McFarlane, this one's for you.Twenty-five years after her mother went missing, Private Investigator Florence Love reopened her most achingly personal case. And she found her in Italy, in a cloud of secrets and Chanel No. 5. But that was just the beginning. Flo doesn't know the half of it yet, and it's going to take a whole lot of love, sweat and tears to work out the astonishing truth.

Headline Review

The Image of You: I thought I knew you. But you're a liar.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

The Image of You is the utterly gripping new novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 bestselling ebook, The Stranger In My Home. This compelling story of families, love, deception and secrets is perfect for fans of TV's Doctor Foster, The Replacement, Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Shari Lapena. When all you can see is what they want you to see... Can you ever trust someone you meet online?Anna and Zoe are twins. Identical in appearance, utterly different in personality, they share a bond so close that nothing - or no one - can rip them apart. Until Anna meets charismatic Nick. Anna is trusting, romantic and hopeful; she thinks Nick is perfect. Zoe is daring, dangerous and extreme; she thinks Nick is a liar. Zoe has seen Anna betrayed by men before. She'll stop at nothing to discover if Nick is as good as he seems. The problem is, lies may hurt. But honesty can kill.

Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti

Bursting with imagination, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of the Coen Brothers' True Grit or Emma Cline's The Girls.Hero. Villain. Father...After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley and his daughter Loo finally settle in Olympus, Massachusetts. Hawley takes up fishing, while Loo struggles with friendship and first love, and tries to piece together the puzzle surrounding her mother's death. Haunting them both are the twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that is about to spill over into Loo's present, with explosive consequences.

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

American Gods

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG READER AWARDS.SHORTLISTED FOR THE SALTIRE SOCIETY FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BGE IRISH BOOK AWARDS NOVEL OF THE YEAR.A top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Tinder Press

THIS MUST BE THE PLACE: Exclusive Chapter Sampler

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Maggie O'Farrell: A Reader's Guide - free digital compendium

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

The Empty Cradle

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

To the outside world, Charlotte is the privileged daughter of the local vicar. Behind closed doors, however, she is the prisoner of her controlling father. As she grows up, Charlotte longs for freedom, but her captivating innocence leads her into trouble. Sent to Ireland to hide a shameful pregnancy, she discovers that once again her father has deceived her. She is forced into a convent's harsh and humiliating regime, where she must eventually give up the one thing that makes her life worthwhile.When Charlotte returns to England, older than her years, she chooses to forget the past. Becoming a London midwife, she longs only to help other women at this hardest and most joyful moment in their lives. But her deep compassion, and desire to prevent anyone else suffering the same horror she did, leads her into a darker and more dangerous place.

Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The stunning new novel from Costa-Novel-Award-winning novelist Maggie O'Farrell: a portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976.It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each wih different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.Maggie O'Farrell's sixth book is the work of an outstanding novelist at the height of her powers.

Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The stunning new novel from Costa-Novel-Award-winning novelist Maggie O'Farrell: a portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976.It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each wih different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.Maggie O'Farrell's sixth book is the work of an outstanding novelist at the height of her powers.