Julianna Baggott - Fuse - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755385553
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755394968
    • Publication date:14 Feb 2013

Fuse

By Julianna Baggott

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The second book in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

The next part in the epic PURE trilogy, for fans of Cormac McCarthy, Justin Cronin and Suzanne Collins.

Partridge has escaped the safety of his father's empire and left the Dome, where his people - the Pures - have sheltered for so long. He has ventured into the destroyed world inhabited by the Wretches, who live crippled by their injuries.

Pressia, a Wretch, is desperate to decode the secrets of the past and, together with Partridge, she must seek out the answers that will save all their futures. But Partridge's actions will not be forgiven. As the Dome unleashes horrifying vengeance upon the Wretches, Partridge has no choice but to return to face the darkness that lies there, leaving Pressia to continue searching for the truth that will change the fate of the world for all time.

Biographical Notes

Julianna is an award-winning poet, novelist, and young adult writer. For years, she has been thinking about writing a futuristic dystopian novel about a society of haves - the Pure, who escaped the apocalypse and live in an uncontaminated dome-covered city - and have-nots - the wretched survivors who live in the nearly-destroyed outside world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472201423
  • Publication date: 18 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Headline
'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' — Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage
'Discomfiting and unforgettable' — The New York Times
'This novel sizzles with invention and viscerally disturbs with its portraits of catastrophe' — The Sunday Times
'She has a flair for keeping the pages turning with a combination of short, sharp action beats and drip-fed revelations. Strong stuff, and gripping to boot' — SFX magazine
Headline

Burn

Julianna Baggott
Authors:
Julianna Baggott

An epic tale for fans of Justin Cronin, THE HUNGER GAMES and Cormac McCarthy. The final part in the PURE trilogy.Partridge has escaped the safety of his father's empire and left the Dome, where his people - the Pures - have sheltered for so long. He has ventured into the destroyed world inhabited by the Wretches, who live crippled by their injuries. Pressia, a Wretch, is desperate to decode the secrets of the past and, together with Partridge, she must seek out the answers that will save all their futures. But Partridge's actions will not be forgiven. As the Dome unleashes horrifying vengeance upon the Wretches, Partridge has no choice but to return to face the darkness that lies there, leaving Pressia to continue searching for the truth that will change the fate of the world for all time.

Headline

Pure

Julianna Baggott
Authors:
Julianna Baggott

Adam Sternbergh

ADAM STERNBERGH is the culture editor of the New York Times Magazine. Formally an editor-at-large for New York, his writing has been featured in several other publications, including GQ and The Times, and on the radio programme This American Life. He lives in Brooklyn and is at work on a second Spademan novel.

Alex Rutherford

Alex Rutherford lives in London.

Andrea Levy

Andrea Levy was born in England to Jamaican parents who came to Britain in 1948. After attending writing workshops when she was in her mid-thirties, Levy began to write the novels that she, as a young woman, had always wanted to read - entertaining novels that reflect the experiences of black Britons, which look at Britain and its changing population and at the intimacies that bind British history with that of the Caribbean. She has written six books, including SMALL ISLAND, which was the unique winner of both the Orange Prize for Fiction and the Whitbread book of the Year, in addition to the Commonwealth Writer's Prize and the Orange Prize 'Best of the Best'. Her most recent novel, THE LONG SONG, won the Walter Scott Prize and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

Andrew Hammond

Andrew Hammond began his working life in a cheap suit, sitting in the bowels of York Magistrates' Court, interviewing repeat offenders who always said they 'didn't do it'. After several years in the legal profession, Andrew re-trained as a school teacher. CRYPT is Andrew's first fictional series but he has written over forty educational textbooks for a host of publishers and he can spot the difference between an adjectival and adverbial phrase at fifty paces (if only someone would ask him to). He now leads a dual life: in term-time he is a teacher; in the holidays he escapes to his farm in Suffolk and writes gruesome horror stories. He lives with his wife, Andie, and their four angels - Henry, Nell, Ed and Katherine - none of whom are old enough yet to read 'Daddy's scary books'. But one day...

Andrew Klavan

Andrew Klavan was born in New York City. Before becoming a full-time writer he worked as a newspaper reporter and radio news-writer and editor. He is also the author of five novels under the pseudonym Keith Peterson.

Anne Blankman

Anne Blankman was born in upstate New York and studied at Union College, during which time she did an exchange in York, England - a place she's always dreamed of returning to. She has since worked as a youth services librarian. The idea for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG came to her after she learned about Hitler's beloved half niece who shared his luxurious Munich flat. Anne began wondering what it would have been like to be a young girl growing up within the Nazi elite's inner circle - and if it would have been possible to break free from it. This is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.anneblankman.com

Anne Leonard

ELISABETH ANNE LEONARD has degrees from St. John's College, the University of Pittsburgh, Kent State University, and the University of California- Hastings College of Law. She lives in Northern California. This is her first novel. anneleonardbooks.com

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling is a native of Indiana and a graduate of Indiana University. In the mid-nineties he was a research assistant for a major study of Indiana songbirds, an experience central to his first book, SNAPPER. Since then he has lived and worked in the Czech Republic, Mexico, Turkey and England. He began writing SNAPPER on the Bath Spa Creative Writing MA in 2009, and was awarded the first annual Janklow & Nesbit Prize for the best manuscript to emerge from the course. He lives in Bath with his wife and son.

Carol O'Connell

Carol O'Connell is the New York Times bestselling creator of Kathy Mallory, and the author of thirteen books, eleven featuring her acclaimed detective, most recently IT HAPPENS IN THE DARK, as well as the stand-alone thrillers JUDAS CHILD and BONE BY BONE. She lives in New York City.

Cathy Brett

Cathy Brett has been scribbling stuff since she could hold a crayon - on paper, on walls, sometimes on her sister! At school she was hopeless at maths and cross-country running but quite good at scribbling and doodling (achieving A-Levels in both). She attended Doodling College then doodled professionally for a number of years - as a fashion illustrator, as a jet-setting spotter of global trends and as a consultant to the behemoths of the British high street - until trying children's book doodling and having a go at scribbling them too. She lectures in design and visits schools around the country, trying to convince students, teachers and parents that scribbling and doodling are proper jobs.

Christopher Golden

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of such novels as Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has collaborated on books, comics, videogames and scripts with other writers, including Mike Mignola, Amber Benson, and Charlaine Harris. He has also written novels for teens and young adults, and, as an editor, he has worked on several short story anthologies. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. www.christophergolden.com

Clare Dowling

Clare Dowling began her career as an actress and has worked in theatre, film and radio. As a writer, she has had drama and children's fiction published, and has had several short films produced. As well as adult fiction, she writes scripts for Ireland's top soap, Fair City. She lives in Dublin with her family.

Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Deirdre Purcell

Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.

Dylan Lawson

Dylan Lawson is a screenwriter whose credits include Twin Peaks and The X-Files. Dylan lives with his wife and dog in Montana.

Elinor Lipman

Elinor Lipman`s sharp, funny, life-enhancing fiction is loved by readers everywhere, and by writers as varied as Anita Shreve and Nigella Lawson, Maggie O`Farrell and Carol Shields. Her novels include The Inn at Lake Devine, Isabel`s Bed and The Way Men Act. Lipman`s novel Then She Found Me was the basis for a major film of the same name, released in 2008. She lives in New York.

Elisabeth Elo

Elisabeth Elo was born in Los Angeles but grew up near Boston, and has lived for much of her adult life close to the Atlantic. With three older siblings who became fanatical sailors and time spent at sea herself with fishermen friends, Elisabeth has a real understanding of the ocean and those who sail on it, which inspired NORTH OF BOSTON. Her essays and short stories have appeared in a variety of publications and her fiction has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She teaches writing at Boston College and lives with her family in Massachusetts.