Katherine Clements - The Coffin Path - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204271
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204288
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Coffin Path

By Katherine Clements

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A eerie and compelling seventeenth-century ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors.

The Coffin Path by Katherine Clements is an eerie and compelling seventeenth-century ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of Michelle Paver and Sarah Waters, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone.

'The vibrant new voice of historical fiction' - Suzannah Dunn.

Mercy Booth has lived at Scarcross, the old hall just off the coffin path, for all her life. The moors and the house are in her blood - and her soul.

Ellis Ferreby is a mysterious, unpredictable outsider who arrives there unexpectedly and finds himself increasingly drawn into her world.

But the house holds a tainted history. And the moor top hides something far darker...

Biographical Notes

Katherine has a passion for history and a degree in the subject. Until recently she worked for a national examination board, where she led the development and launch of the UK's first A level in Creative Writing. She has enjoyed success with her short stories and won a Historical Short Story Competition sponsored by Jerwood in 2012. The Crimson Ribbon was her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472204295
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

'Seductive and mysterious...the perfect novel to while away a summer's afternoon' Express on The House on Sunset Lake. The Hamptons is the beautiful, atmospheric setting for Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry's stunning new novel about a woman who becomes fascinated by the story of a female resident who recently died in mysterious circumstances. Fans of the TV show The Affair will love this novel.

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's gripping new novel. Reviewers adore Sheila's books: 'Smart and twisty' ***** Heat; 'Fantastic' BellaLola Fitzpatrick is bright and ambitious but she's also headstrong and stubborn. When one evening, out of the blue, she has to make a life-changing choice, she decides quickly and rashly. And without a piece of vital information that might have changed everything.Lola's daughter Bey has inherited Lola's determined nature. Yet her impulsive reactions place her in danger, leading her to run away from what she wants most. And then, one night, she's standing in front of the man she loves, with her own choice to make...For both Lola and Bey, everything changes in a moment. But their biggest mistakes might also turn out to be their greatest opportunities...

Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The Gilded Cage by Josephine Cox, Sunday Times bestselling author, explores the intoxicating pull of money, power and passion. 'The fact that Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters, is an indication of her skills as a storyteller' Birmingham PostPowerful, hard-hearted Leonard Mears ruthlessly presides over his wife and children, exiling them from the outside world and brutally punishing any disobedience. But he is also a man with a dark secret; an illegitimate daughter that he forced his sister to bring up. The girl is now a young woman who, unbeknown to him, is determined to find the father that abandoned her.James Peterson, a gifted young man, runs Mears' factory with more success than Leonard's own sons. He lives for the day he can have his own business and make his fortune. Only then will he be able to declare his love for beautiful Isabel Mears who he means to release from the gilded cage her father has created. But then the lonely, lovely Sally comes in to his life, turning his heart and dreams upside down.

Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.'Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away' Paula HawkinsWhen her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden - thirty two years old and still living at home - immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime. Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie's unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie's uncle to take care of a problem.This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.

Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti
Headline

In the Name of Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

The House of Birds

Morgan Mccarthy
Authors:
Morgan Mccarthy

Morgan McCarthy's THE HOUSE OF BIRDS is a beautiful and bewitching story of love, war and second chances that will be adored by readers of Louisa Young and Virginia Bailey. Oliver has spent years trying to convince himself that he's suited to a life of money making in the city, and that he doesn't miss a childhood spent in pursuit of mystery, when he cycled around the cobbled lanes of Oxford, exploring its most intriguing corners.When his girlfriend Kate inherits a derelict house - and a fierce family feud - she's determined to strip it, sell it and move on. For Oliver though, the house has an allure, and amongst the shelves of discarded, leather bound and gilded volumes, he discovers one that conceals a hidden diary from the 1920s.So begins a quest: to discover the identity of the author, Sophia Louis. It is a portrait of war and marriage, isolation and longing and a story that will shape the future of the abandoned house - and of Oliver - forever.

Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

A Girl Called Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG READER AWARDS.SHORTLISTED FOR THE SALTIRE SOCIETY FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BGE IRISH BOOK AWARDS NOVEL OF THE YEAR.A top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Breakdown

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

Criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware is pushed to his limit like never before in Breakdown by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will love this sabre-sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense. Dr. Alex Delaware first meets beautiful and emotionally fragile actress Zelda Chase when called upon to evaluate her five-year-old son. Years later, Alex is unexpectedly reunited with Zelda when she is involuntarily committed after a bizarre psychotic episode. But tragedy strikes and shortly after her release, Zelda is discovered dead in the grounds of a palatial L.A. estate. Having experienced more than enough of the city's dark side to recognise the scent of evil, Alex turns to his friend, LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis, for help in finding the perpetrator. Meanwhile, Alex is caught up in another quest: the search for Zelda's missing son. And when other victims vanish from the same upscale neighborhood, worry turns to terror.As Alex struggles to piece together the brief rise and steep fall of a gorgeous, talented actress, he and Milo unveil shattered dreams, the corruption of a family, and a grotesque betrayal of innocence. With each devastating revelation and damning clue, Alex's brilliant mind is challenged as never before - and his determination grows to see a killer caged and the truth set free.

Tinder Press

A Year of Marvellous Ways

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

Marvellous Ways is eighty-nine years old and has lived alone in a remote Cornish creek for nearly all her life. Lately she's taken to spending her days sitting on a mooring stone by the river with a telescope. She's waiting for something - she's not sure what, but she'll know it when she sees it. Drake is a young soldier left reeling by the Second World War. When his promise to fulfil a dying man's last wish sees him wash up in Marvellous' creek, broken in body and spirit, the old woman comes to his aid. A Year of Marvellous Ways is a glorious, life-affirming story about the magic in everyday life and the pull of the sea, the healing powers of storytelling and sloe gin, love and death and how we carry on when grief comes snapping at our heels.

Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .