Claire McGowan - The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204387
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207067
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014

The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2)

By Claire McGowan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost by Claire McGowan, who Lee Child proclaims as 'a knockout new talent'. The Dead Ground sees forensic psychologist Paula Maguire working in the missing persons unit in Northern Ireland, where there are many deadly secrets to dig up...

The second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost. by Claire McGowan, who Lee Child proclaims as 'a knockout new talent'. Readers of Sharon Bolton and Sarah Hilary will love this series.

Stolen. Missing. Dead...

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire, already wrestling with the hardest decision of her life, is forced to put her own problems on hold when she's asked to help find a baby taken from a local hospital.

Then the brutal, ritualistic murder of a woman found lying on a remote stone circle indicates a connection to the kidnapping and Paula knows that they will have to move fast if they are to find the person responsible.

When another child is taken and a pregnant woman goes missing, Paula finds herself caught up in a deadly hunt for a killer determined to leave no trace, and discovers every decision she makes really is a matter of life and death...

No one is safe from the killer that waits at the dead ground.

Biographical Notes

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland. After a degree in English and French from Oxford University, and time spent living in China and France, she moved to London and works in the charity sector and also teaches creative writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472204394
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Fast paced and engaging — Evening Echo
Enthralling . . . evoked wonderfully — Sunday Mirror
It's a gripping and gory read and shows McGowan to be a thriller writer of exceptional talent — Irish Independent
A knockout new talent — Lee Child
McGowan's book is bloody and brilliant — Angela Clarke
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell — Ken Bruen
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying — Peter James
A compelling and flawless thriller — SJ Bolton
Page-turning — Guardian
Headline

Come and Find Me (DI Marnie Rome Book 5)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

Night of the Lightbringer

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne

Sister Fidelma returns in a brand new Celtic mystery NIGHT OF THE LIGHTBRINGER by Peter Tremayne, acclaimed author of THE SECOND DEATH and PENANCE OF THE DAMNED. If you love Ellis Peters and Paul Doherty, you will be gripped by the Sister Fidelma series.'The background detail is brilliantly defined . . . wonderfully evocative' The TimesIreland, AD 671. On the eve of the pagan feast of Samhain, Brother Edulf and the warrior, Aidan, discover a man murdered in an unlit pyre in the heart of Cashel. He has been dressed in the robes of a religieux and killed by the ritualistic 'three deaths'.When a strange woman known as Brancheó appears in a raven-feather cloak foretelling of ancient gods returning to exact revenge upon the mortal world, she is quickly branded a suspect.But in their search for the killer, Sister Fidelma and Eadulf will soon discover a darker shadow looming over the fortress. For their investigation is linked to a book stolen from the Papal Secret Archives which could destroy the New Faith in the Five Kingdoms . . . and Fidelma herself will come up against mortal danger before the case is unravelled.

Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy

James Patterson hailed Adam Hamdy's first PENDULUM novel as 'one of the best thrillers of the year' saying he read it in 'one gloriously suspenseful weekend'. John Wallace survived. Now he has to take control and find out who he can trust in this high-octane follow-up FREEFALL. Fans of Simon Kernick and Terry Hayes' I AM PILGRIM will not be able to put this down.Eight months after confronting Pendulum, John Wallace is losing himself in a dangerous warzone in a misguided attempt at penance for what he has done. But an assassination attempt makes Wallace realise that he has once again been targeted for death. This time, Wallace is prepared and, tracking down his would-be assassin, he discovers a link to his nemesis, Pendulum.The link is the missing piece of a puzzle that has tormented FBI Agent Christine Ash ever since they confronted Pendulum, but with no Bureau support she has been unable to progress her case. Wallace's proof breaks it, but also exposes them both to terrible danger. Confronted by a powerful, hidden enemy, Ash and Wallace must overcome impossible odds if they are to avert a dangerous challenge to the networked world that threatens to destroy our way of life.

Headline

Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Headline

Twenty-One Days

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

Untitled: the new Martina Cole bestseller featuring Kate Burrows

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

State Secrets

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine's twenty-eighth Bob Skinner mystery sees the Edinburgh sleuth plunged into a gripping new case. Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner is long out of the police force but trouble has a habit of following him around. So it is that he finds himself in the Palace of Westminster as a shocking act befalls the nation. Hours before the Prime Minster is due to make a controversial statement, she is discovered in her office with a letter opener driven through her skull. Is the act political? Personal? Or even one of terror?Skinner is swiftly enlisted by the Security Service to lead the investigation. Reunited with Met Police Commander Neil McIlhenney, he has forty-eight hours to crack the case - before the press unleash their wrath.There are many in the tangled web of government with cause to act. But the outcome will be one that not even Skinner himself could predict...

Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

Crime Scene is the next enthralling psychological thriller from Number One bestsellers and masters of the genre, Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman.Responding to a call at a mansion in an East Bay neighbourhood, Deputy Coroner Clay Edison comes upon the body of Dr Walter Rennert, a controversial Berkeley psychologist, sprawled at the foot of his stairs. There are no wounds and no signs of intrusion or struggle. Clay knows the obvious diagnosis is natural death. But ten years ago, Rennert's partner was found dead and to this day, the crime remains unsolved. Tatiana, Rennert's daughter, will not let the case lie. She knows her father has been murdered.It is not part of Clay's job description to investigate crimes, but he is enthralled by Tatiana, drawn in to her twisted, alternate world. His investigation drives him deep into the dark heart of a long-buried scandal, and it won't be long until he is forced to question where his true loyalties lie.

Headline

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told. They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.

Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

Dangerous Minds

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Strange Highways

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Defiance

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the 23rd novel in the William Monk series, AN ECHO OF MURDER.London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence...

Headline

The Midas Legacy (Wilde/Chase 12)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott

The twelfth in the fantastic Wilde/Chase series sees Nina trying to follow in her late mother's footsteps as she and husband Eddie search for King Midas' legacy. Fan Scott Mariani says that McDermott's adventure thrillers are full of 'action, adventure and mayhem aplenty'. if you read Cussler, Mariani or James Rollins you'll love this.A return to AtlantisThe lost city has defined Nina Wilde's life. Her parents' obsession with Atlantis cost them their lives, but finding it brought Nina to her husband Eddie Chase and a series of archaeological treasures.A secret codexA decade later, the International Heritage Agency needs their help to locate the Secret Codex, an account of ancient Atlantean explorer Talonor's journeys, thought to be located in the dangerous underwater ruins of Atlantis. Unable to resist one more adventure, the couple join the mission. A king whose touch turns to goldBut when a long-lost relative reappears in Nina's life, asking her to use the Codex to find a hidden cave containing the secret of King Midas, she is unprepared for the devastation that follows. The promise of unlimited gold has aroused the greed of powerful and ruthless forces... and only Nina and Eddie stand in their way.

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you enjoyed Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author of THE SILENT DEAD and A SAVAGE HUNGER. Called in to investigate the disappearance of a young couple during a violent storm, Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist, has mixed feelings about going back to Bone Island. Her last family holiday as a child was spent on its beautiful, remote beaches and returning brings back haunting memories of her long-lost mother.It soon becomes clear that outsiders aren't welcome on the island, and with no choice but to investigate the local community, Paula soon suspects foul play, realising that the islanders are hiding secrets from her, and each other.With another storm fast approaching, Paula is faced with a choice. Leave alive or risk being trapped with a killer on an inescapable island, as the blood tide rushes in...

Headline

Her Husband's Lover

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch
Headline

The Vision

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz