Claire McGowan - The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472218568
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204387
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207067
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014

The Dead Ground (Paula Maguire 2)

By Claire McGowan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost by Claire McGowan, who Lee Child proclaims as 'a knockout new talent'. The Dead Ground sees forensic psychologist Paula Maguire working in the missing persons unit in Northern Ireland, where there are many deadly secrets to dig up...

The second novel in the highly acclaimed Paula Maguire series and the gripping follow up to The Lost. by Claire McGowan, who Lee Child proclaims as 'a knockout new talent'. Readers of Sharon Bolton and Sarah Hilary will love this series.

Stolen. Missing. Dead...

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire, already wrestling with the hardest decision of her life, is forced to put her own problems on hold when she's asked to help find a baby taken from a local hospital.

Then the brutal, ritualistic murder of a woman found lying on a remote stone circle indicates a connection to the kidnapping and Paula knows that they will have to move fast if they are to find the person responsible.

When another child is taken and a pregnant woman goes missing, Paula finds herself caught up in a deadly hunt for a killer determined to leave no trace, and discovers every decision she makes really is a matter of life and death...

No one is safe from the killer that waits at the dead ground.

Biographical Notes

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland. After a degree in English and French from Oxford University, and time spent living in China and France, she moved to London and works in the charity sector and also teaches creative writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472204394
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Fast paced and engaging — Evening Echo
Enthralling . . . evoked wonderfully — Sunday Mirror
It's a gripping and gory read and shows McGowan to be a thriller writer of exceptional talent — Irish Independent
McGowan's book is bloody and brilliant — Angela Clarke
A knockout new talent — Lee Child
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell — Ken Bruen
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying — Peter James
A compelling and flawless thriller — SJ Bolton
Page-turning — Guardian
Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

DARK TIDE RISING is the 24th compelling mystery in the William Monk series, from the master of Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry. 'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction...truly remarkable' New York Times.When Kate Exeter is kidnapped on the shore of the Thames, Commander William Monk is enlisted by her desperate husband to save her. Kate's captors are demanding a ransom for her safe return and Monk and his most trusted men must arrange a secret handover in the dark slums of Jacob's Island. But on the night someone betrays them and a brutal skirmish breaks out, leaving death and destruction in its wake . . .Who is to blame for what went wrong? Monk senses tensions mount and no one knows who to trust. Then a whistle blower claims that the ransom money was embezzled funds that incriminate Kate's husband, and the case takes on a whole new meaning...

Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in A BRUSH WITH DEATH, the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Quintin Jardine's compelling novels: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' Glasgow HeraldWhen millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. The charismatic young Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status. A long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive?Suspecting links to organized crime, the Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation. They have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police force, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long, long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming...

Headline

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

It starts as a kid's game to while away the long drive across country. It ends in a grotesque nightmare of death and destruction. Alex and Colin are travelling three thousand miles by car to a golden city and a golden girl. She's Colin's adored sister, Alex's ravishing new wife. But she could cost them their lives. Someone's out to get them. To destroy their dreams. To plunge them into a paranoid world where every sound could be the last thing they ever hear.Originally published under the pseudonym K. R. Dwyer

Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Demon Seed

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Headline

The Foster Child: 'a sleep-with-the-lights-on thriller'

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

State Secrets (Bob Skinner series, Book 28)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

A shocking murder at the Palace of Westminster draws Edinburgh's toughest cop into a complex new case... Skinner is plunged into a web of politics and enemies in STATE SECRETS, the twenty-eighth mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Not to be missed by readers of Ian Rankin and Peter May. Praise for Quintin Jardine's gritty novels: 'Well constructed, fast-paced...many an ingenious twist and turn' ObserverFormer Chief Constable Bob Skinner is long out of the police force but trouble has a habit of following him around. So it is that he finds himself in the Palace of Westminster as a shocking act befalls the nation. Hours before the Prime Minister is due to make a controversial statement, she is discovered in her office with a letter opener driven through her skull. Is the act political? Personal? Or even one of terror?Skinner is swiftly enlisted by the Security Service to lead the investigation. Reunited with Met Police Commander Neil McIlhenney, he has forty-eight hours to crack the case - before the press unleash their wrath.There are many in the tangled web of government with cause to act. But the outcome will be one that not even Skinner himself could predict...

Headline

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

GAME OVER is the twenty-seventh gripping Bob Skinner mystery from crime master Quintin Jardine, author of HOUR OF DARKNESS, LAST RESORT, PRIVATE INVESTIGATIONS and many more. 'Another cracker from Jardine...There are plenty of twists and turns along the way to keep you engrossed' Scots MagazineWhen supermodel Annette Bordeaux is found battered and strangled in her Edinburgh flat, former Chief Constable Bob Skinner's old team instantly have a global case on their hands. The victim's husband, world-renowned footballer and recent Merrytown FC signing, is quickly discounted as a suspect. But there are others in the club with less watertight alibis... Two years out of the game, Skinner can't help getting his hands dirty. And as his old team work to convict the prime suspect, his own daughter, Alex, is the lawyer tasked with leading the defence. The opposing sides must work to find the culprit while the press watch on. But in this game, no one can be trusted, and there are murkier deeds still to uncover before the final whistle blows...

Headline

Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware series, Book 32)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

In Heartbreak Hotel by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware investigates the death of his most mysterious patient to date. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will revel in this knife-sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense. At nearly one hundred years old, Thalia Mars is a far cry from the patients child psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware normally treats. But the charming, witty woman convinces Alex to meet with her in a suite at The Aventura - a luxury hotel with a checkered history. What Thalia wants from Alex are answers to unsettling questions - about guilt, patterns of criminal behaviour, victim selection. When Alex asks the reason for her morbid fascination, Thalia promises to tell all during their next session. But when he returns the following morning, his question goes unanswered, and new ones arise...In their most puzzling investigation to date, Alex and homicide detective Milo Sturgis must peel back the layers of a fascinating but elusive woman's life. For Thalia Mars is a victim like no other, an enigma who harboured nearly a century of secrets and whose life and death draw those around her into a vortex of violence. FORTY BESTSELLERS.HUNDREDS OF CASES SOLVED.

Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Playing With Death: A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller (Introducing FBI Agent Rose Blake)

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

The Midas Legacy (Wilde/Chase 12)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Penance of the Damned

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne
Headline

By the Light of the Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

When Dylan O'Conner, together with his autistic brother, Shepherd, pulls into a motel off the interstate highway, all he wants is a good night's sleep. Yet within the hour he finds himself bound, gagged and being injected with a mysterious fluid by a lunatic doctor, who claims Dylan will be the carrier of 'his life's work'. Comedian Jillian Jackson is midway through a tour of seedy venues, accompanied by her pet pot-plant Fred. But her plans for stardom are dramatically altered when she too falls victim to the eccentric scientist. The doctor warns his victims that he is being pursued and that they too are now targets. If they are caught, they will be killed. Both are sceptical. Before long, they are beginning to wonder if the lunatic doctor wasn't quite so mad after all . . .

Headline

The Key to Midnight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Graham Harris is a gifted clairvoyant, and during a television interview, he 'sees' a murder being committed. He knows that the killer is the man the police have named the Butcher - the slayer of nine young women.Learning of the psychic identification, the Butcher begins to stalk this 'witness' to his crime, and traps Harris and his girlfriend at night in a vast forty-two-storey business building, hunting them relentlessly from floor to floor...