Ann Granger - Rooted in Evil - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204608
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204592
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472204615
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

Rooted in Evil

Campbell & Carter Mystery 5

By Ann Granger

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Rooted in Evil is the fifth Cotswold village crime novel featuring Campbell and Carter from Ann Granger. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries.

Rooted in Evil by Ann Granger is set in the Cotswold village of Weston Saint Ambrose and features Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in their fifth murder mystery.

When the body of a man, with his brains blown out, is found in a Cotswold wood it looks like suicide. But looks can be deceptive and it doesn't take long for the police to identify that there's more to the case than meets the eye.

People's stories don't add up and when Superintendent Ian Carter and Inspector Jess Campbell start probing it becomes clear that the dead man had ruffled more than a few feathers in this close-knit community. His stepsister had been bailing him out of his financial troubles - much against her husband's wishes - but, with his money worries still mounting, the victim had become a desperate man...

As Jess and Ian dig deeper and deeper into the case, a cover-up is exposed and bitter resentment rises to the surface to reveal a killer.

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472204622
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline
Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent — The Times
The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible ... a pleasure to read — Ham and High
The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun — Yorkshire Post
She is on to another winner — Birmingham Post
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

Janet Evanovich's No. 1 New York Times bestselling sensation Stephanie Plum returns in her latest captivating thriller where mutilated corpses litter the streets of New Jersey. It's a pretty routine week for bounty hunter Stephanie Plum.Headless bodies have started appearing across town in Trenton, New Jersey. At first, it's just corpses from a funeral home and the morgue that have had the heads removed. Then a homeless man is murdered and dumped behind a church. Stephanie Plum knows that she's the only one with a prayer of catching this killer. If that's not enough, Diesel's back in town. The six-foot-tall, blond-haired hunk accepts no limits - that includes locked doors, closed windows and underwear. Trenton's hottest cop, Joe Morelli, isn't pleased at his arrival, nor is Ranger, the high-powered security consultant with his own plans for Stephanie. Jersey's favourite bounty hunter is stuck in the middle with more questions than answers. Who is behind the startling epidemic of mutilated corpses? And is the enigmatic Diesel's sudden appearance a coincidence or the cause of recent deadly events?(P)2017 Penguin Random House LLC

Headline

State Secrets (Bob Skinner series, Book 28)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Wildfire

Borderline

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton
Headline

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. For fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Claire Mackintosh'Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan' Alex Marwood 'Tremendous' Ian RankinIt's winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it's personal. Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.

Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Golem of Paris

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

The Testimony of the Hanged Man

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

A hanged man would say anything to save his life. But what if his testimony is true?When Inspector Ben Ross is called to Newgate Prison by a man condemned to die by the hangman's noose he isn't expecting to give any credence to the man's testimony. But the account of a murder he witnessed over seventeen years ago is so utterly believeable that Ben can't help wondering if what he's heard is true. It's too late to save the man's life, but it's not too late to investigate a murder that has gone undetected for all these years.

Headline Review

The Job

Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Headline

The Dead Pass

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

Hired to find the missing son of retired political activist Moira Doherty, Dan Starkey knows his new case is going to be challenging. Billy 'the Bear' Doherty isn't an easy man to find - a criminal with a nasty drug habit, his mum is convinced he's been murdered.But when Moira herself is killed, her body found floating in the waters under Londonderry's Peace Bridge, Dan finds himself in the middle of a deadly game of cat and mouse. Already in unfamiliar territory, Starkey is quickly embroiled in the city's porn and drug fuelled underworld, where a new generation of gangster terrorist is intent on creating mayhem their predecessors could only dream of ...

Headline

Hour Of Darkness (Bob Skinner series, Book 24)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine's new Bob Skinner novel sees the Edinburgh cop faced with a case that calls every part of his life into question.The body of a murdered woman is found washed up on Cramond Island near the mouth of the River Forth. Days later detectives are called to a flat in Edinburgh; the kitchen is covered in blood, and the occupier is missing.When the name of the woman from Cramond Island is revealed, it stirs unwelcome memories for those who knew her, Chief Constable Bob Skinner most of all. Now based in Glasgow, he has no reason to become involved in the case. Yet he does, unwittingly setting in motion a course that leads him to the toughest choice of his life, putting him in the midst of a personal nightmare, both life-threatening and career changing.

Headline

Asking for Trouble

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

As Serious As Death (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 5)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

The Prisoner of Brenda

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

When notorious gangster 'Fat Sam' Mahood is murdered, the chief suspect is arrested nearby. But he seems to have suffered a breakdown. Incarcerated in a mental institution, he's known only as the Man in the White Suit. The suspect remains an enigma until Nurse Brenda calls on Mystery Man, former patient and owner of No Alibis, Belfast's finest mystery bookshop, to bring his powers of investigation to bear... However, before our hero can even begin, the Man in the White Suit is arrested for the murder of a fellow patient. But is he a double murderer or a helpless scapegoat? Intrigue, conspiracy, and ancient Latin curses all combine to give the Small Bookseller with No Name his most difficult case to date.

Headline

Bricks and Mortality

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Deadly Business (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 4)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

It's the Fiesta de San Juan in Spain, the national celebration of the Summer Solstice, and there's much excitement about a huge firework display in the village of St Marti. But Primavera Blackstone is more inflamed by the appearance of a mysterious writer, Duncan Culshaw, who is determined to rake through the ashes of her past. And when extortion and blackmail are mentioned, Primavera realises the heat is on. Duncan has his fingers burned, playing fast and loose with the fiercely protective Prim, but when he marries a dying woman for her money, threatening the inheritance of Prim's son Tom, things are going to get explosive...

Headline

A Particular Eye for Villainy

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

When Mr Thomas Tapley is found bludgeoned to death in his sitting room, his neighbour Inspector Benjamin Ross of Scotland Yard is immediately summoned. Little is known about the elusive gentleman until Mr Jonathan Tapley, QC, hears of the news and the truth about his cousin's tragic past slowly begins to emerge. Meanwhile, Ben's wife Lizzie is convinced she saw someone following Thomas Tapley on the day he died and she discovers that he received a mysterious visitor a few days before his death. As the list of suspects begins to mount, Ben must unearth who would benefit most from Tapley's unfortunate demise.