Colette Mcbeth - Precious Thing - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472205964
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206145
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

Precious Thing

By Colette Mcbeth

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A searing portrayal of a vivid bond of love - and hate - between friends. PRECIOUS THING is the perfect psychological thriller debut for any fan of GONE GIRL

Remember the person you sat next to on your first day at school? Still your best friend? Or disappeared from your life for good? In PRECIOUS THING, Rachel and Clara promised theirs would last for ever.

They met when Rachel was the new girl in class and Clara was the friend everyone wanted. Now in their late twenties Rachel has everything while Clara's life is spiralling further out of control. Then Clara vanishes.

Imagine discovering something about your oldest friend that forces you to question everything you've shared together. The truth is always there. But only if you choose to see it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472205957
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'Colette McBeth delivers twists and shocks with superb timing. An impressive debut' — The Times
'An excellent storyteller... Precious Thing is more than deserving of a place on the modern thriller bookshelf' — Sunday Express
'An interesting and original page-turner' — Literary Review
'Precious Thing is one of my top five books of 2013. Truthfully, I would go on for hours about what I loved about this psychologically disturbing, thoroughly readable, cleverly written book' — Fabulousmag.co.uk
'A cleverly crafted tale... If you're a fan of Gone Girl, you'll love this' — Sunday Mirror
'A great debut, menacing, gripping and full of twists and surprises... This is one of those incredibly compelling stories that simply drags you along, whether you like it or not. Highly recommended' — Lovereading.co.uk
Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.Juno Ryan is on her way to a dreamy villa near the sea in beautiful Spain. But Juno's not on holiday. She's running away. Weeks earlier Juno's life was good. Great job, loving family - even if they don't really understand her - and an ever-closer relationship with clever, funny, handsome Brad. Then catastrophe struck. Not only is Brad gone, in the most tragic way, but he wasn't who Juno thought he was at all. She can't think about anything else. So she's decided to leave everything behind for the summer. But the unplanned break is going to be full of surprises. And the past isn't finished with Juno yet...

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee ChildThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds know where to find her.One man is driven by a Voice that isn't his. It's killing his sanity and wrestling with it over and over like a jackal with a bone. He has one goal.To find the girl with a Voice like his own. She has no one to defend her now. The hunt is on.But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no Voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began.Hunted is the second book in the highly acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil rages on. And on.#HearTheVoices

Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill

**From the co-author of the No.1 bestselling Wilbur Smith novel, WAR CRY. **The Leopards of Normandy trilogy concludes with Conqueror as Duke William prepares to take England, and his rivals for the English throne, by storm. It begins in Normandy. It will end at Hastings. This vibrant series by David Churchill, co-author of War Cry, the upcoming Courtney novel by Wilbur Smith, is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'An exciting mix of medieval betrayal, violence and sex' Wilbur Smith.It began with a promise. It will end at Hastings.William of Normandy, sworn heir to the English throne, is no longer the boy Duke but a loyal and proven warrior. Few dare challenge him, but England is an irresistible prize.The handsome, ambitious Harold Godwinson and the Viking Hardrada are both determined to stake a claim. William faces his greatest ever battle: deny his own destiny or conquer the land he was born to rule.History will be written in the blood of those who fall.

Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning

Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Six years ago, Laura McCaffrey's three-year-old daughter Melanie was kidnapped by Laura's estranged husband, Dylan, and seemingly vanished from the face of the earth. Now, Melanie has been found, a nine-year-old wandering the Los Angeles streets with blank eyes and a secret in her soul she will not or can not reveal. Dylan has been found too - or at least his mangled remains. Melanie is home again. But can she ever truly be safe - as the floodgates of terror open and the bloody torrent comes pouring through...?Originally published under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols.

Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

'Gripping, claustrophobic and often deeply unsettling, Close To Me exerts a magnetic pull from its first pages' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl In The Photograph.She can't remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.Dramatic psychological suspense for fans of Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed.When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia - she's lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?She can't remember what she did - or what happened the night she fell.But she's beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.

Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth

If your son was accused of murder, what would you do? 'Sensational. Intricately plotted and emotionally tense. I loved it.' Clare Mackintosh, No 1 bestselling author of I Let You Go.'Beautifully written and cleverly plotted, this timely novel is the definition of a page-turner' Sun (Fabulous)'I loved it. Clever, atmospheric and truly scary. Colette is the real deal' Marian KeyesA thrilling psychological crime novel about a mother faced with an impossible choice, and the consequences of her decision for years to come. Perfect for fans of APPLE TREE YARD, DISCLAIMER, and television dramas STATE OF PLAY and NATIONAL TREASURE. These are the facts I collect.My son Gabriel met a woman called Mariela in a bar. She went home with him. They next morning she was found in an allotment.Mariela is dead.Gabriel has been asked to report to Camden Police station in six hours for questioningLinda Moscow loves her son; it's her biological instinct to keep him safe. But if she's not sure of his innocence, how can she stand by him? Should she go against everything she believes in to protect him?She's done it before, and the guilt nearly killed her.Now, the past is catching up with them. As old secrets resurface, Lind is faced with another impossible choice. Only this time, it's her life on the line...'Throws a chilling light on how brazenly power can be abused at the top echelons of society, and the suffering it can bring down on the most vulnerable - all packaged up in a brisk and imaginative plot' Sunday Times Crime Club'Brilliant, taut psychological thriller. Sensitive, muscular and it could be true. Unputdownable' Julia Crouch, author of Her Husband's Lover'Colette McBeth is beloved of writers like Paula Hawkins, and with this twisty, clever novel, she's guaranteed to win more fans' Red Magazine'A tense thriller ... beautifully written and perfectly paced. Her best book yet' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller you have to read this summer

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden

In Ararat, by New York Times bestselling author Christopher Golden, an ancient evil inhabits a cave on the snow-capped, dormant volcano, in the most Eastern reaches of Turkey, that is Mount Ararat. Golden's writing is 'the real deal' (Stephen King) and Ararat will thrill and fascinate in equal measure. 'Golden puts it all together with tremendous skill and a gleeful relish' - Financial TimesMeryam and Adam take risks for a living. But neither is prepared for what lies in the legendary heights of Mount Ararat, Turkey. First to reach a massive cave revealed by an avalanche, they discover the hole in the mountain's heart is really an ancient ship, buried in time. A relic that some fervently believe is Noah's Ark. Deep in its recesses stands a coffin inscribed with mysterious symbols that no one in their team of scholars, archaeologists and filmmakers can identify. Inside is a twisted, horned cadaver. Outside a storm threatens to break. As terror begins to infiltrate their every thought, is it the raging blizzard that chases them down the mountain - or something far worse?

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland