Nick Cutter - The Deep - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206268
    • Publication date:13 Jan 2015

The Deep

By Nick Cutter

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Nick Cutter is bringing classic horror kicking and screaming back to life - The Deep will thrill anyone who loved The Abyss or Alien.

Afraid of the dark? You should be ... Part horror, part psychological nightmare, The Deep by Nick Cutter is a novel fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker won't want to miss.

A plague is destroying the world's population. The 'Gets makes people forget. First it's the small things, like where you left your keys ... then the not-so-small things, like how to drive. And finally your body forgets how to live.

But now an unknown substance with extraordinary power to heal has been discovered in the depths of the Pacific Ocean. Nicknamed ambrosia, it might just be the miracle cure the world has been praying for.

A research lab has been established eight miles below the sea's surface, but all contact with the team has been lost. Dr Luke Nelson's brother is down there and as desperation for a cure outweighs common sense, he agrees to descend through the lightless fathoms ... perhaps to face an evil blacker than anything he could have imagined.

Biographical Notes

Nick Cutter is a pseudonym for an acclaimed author of novels and short stories. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472206251
  • Publication date: 13 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Headline
Old-school horror at its best. Not for the faint-hearted, but for the rest of us sick puppies, it's a perfect gift — Stephen King on The Troop
Some thrillers produce shivers, others trigger goose bumps; Cutter's graphic offering will have readers jumping out of their skin — Kirkus Reviews on The Troop
Suspenseful . . . sinister . . . horrifying — Library Journal on The Troop
The Troop is proper horror. Packed with onomatopoeic squelchiness — SFX on The Troop
Lean and crisp . . . Disquieting, disturbing — Scott Smith, author of The Ruins on The Troop
Headline

Between the Lies

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams
Headline

Untitled 2018 (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Headline Eternal

What Are You Afraid of?

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo
Headline Eternal

Pretend You're Safe

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

Pretend You're Safe is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.He sees you... He knows you... And he'll never let you go...First came the floods. Then came the bodies. The victims - strangled, then buried along the shores of the Mississippi - have finally been unearthed, years after they disappeared. He remembers every satisfying kill... each woman's terror and agony. But there's only one he truly wanted. And fate has brought her within reach again...Jaci Patterson was sixteen when she found the first golden locket on her porch. Inside were a few strands of hair wrapped around a scrap of bloodstained ribbon. Though the 'gifts' kept arriving, no one believed her hunch that a serial killer was at work. Now Jaci has returned home... and the nightmare is starting once more.Back then, Rylan Cooper was an arrogant deputy sheriff convinced that Jaci was just an attention-seeking teen. It was a fatal mistake. There's a murderer in their midst, someone determined to settle old scores and keep playing a twisted game. And it won't end until Jaci is his forever...Look for the next novel of page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy, What Are You Afraid Of?

Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning

Headline

The Fear Within (Dani Lewis 2)

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law

Patricia Cornwell called J.S. Law's first novel 'addictively readable'. Now he returns with the second in the Lieutenant Dani Lewis series. Will be devoured by fans of Lynda La Plante's TENNISON.A young Naval Wren disappears from the warship Defiance. With no trace of the girl on board, Lieutenant Dani Lewis, star investigator in the Royal Navy's Kill Team, must work her way through a complex web of witness accounts to uncover why she might run, or what might motivate a predator to take her.But even as Dani hones in on the truth, threads begin to emerge which take her back to the recent conspiracy uncovered aboard the submarine Tenacity, and even further to the serial killer who continues to taunt her from prison. Is this a simple case of a missing girl or is the hunter about to become the prey?

Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

The brilliant new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping' and BEFORE I LET YOU IN. If you love Louise Jensen's THE GIFT or SK Tremayne's THE ICE TWINS you will love this.When child psychologist Imogen Reid takes on the case of 11-year-old Ellie Atkinson, she refuses to listen to warnings that the girl is dangerous.Ellie was the only survivor of a fire that killed her family. Imogen is convinced she's just a sad and angry child struggling to cope with her loss.But Ellie's foster parents and teachers are starting to fear her. When she gets upset, bad things seem to happen. And as Imogen gets closer to Ellie, she may be putting herself in danger...

Headline

Hello Again

Brenda Novak
Authors:
Brenda Novak

New York Times bestseller Brenda Novak's second novel in the Evelyn Talbot series, HELLO AGAIN, sees the return of psychiatrist Dr Evelyn Talbot in her purpose-built facility housing America's most terrifying psychopaths. This is SILENCE OF THE LAMBS meets Karen Rose...Dr Evelyn Talbot has spent her life looking over her shoulder after her teenage boyfriend Jasper Moore kidnapped, tortured and left her for dead. She only just escaped with her life, he disappeared without a trace, and twenty-two years later Evelyn can still feel him lurking in the shadows. Studying the psychopathic minds at Hanover House - Alaska's first mental health facility for psychopaths - is how she will track him down.Lyman Bishop could be the perfect subject. Evelyn discovers he is just as intelligent and trustworthy as Jasper appeared, and he hardly seems like the man who has been convicted of kidnapping and murdering several women.But if Evelyn has learnt anything at all from her terrifying experience, it's that the most unassuming can be the most dangerous of all.

Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

One Door Away from Heaven

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Leilani Maddoc's tenth birthday is nine months away. Micky Bellsong is convinced that in nine months and one day, the girl will be dead. And no one seems to care but Micky herself. Micky has a history of making wrong choices and living only for her own desires, but her decision to save the child's life - and pit herself against an adversary as fearsome as he is cunning - takes her on a journey of incredible peril and stunning discoveries, a journey filled with tragedy and joy, with humour, terror and hope, a journey that will change her for ever.

Headline

False Memory

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Martie Rhodes, a happily married, successful video games designer, takes an agoraphobic friend to therapy sessions twice a week. Each trip is a grim ordeal, but the experience has brought the two friends even closer together. Then, one morning, Martie experiences a brief, irrational but disquieting fear of... her shadow. When autophobia - one of the rarest and most intriguing phobias known to psychology - is diagnosed, suddenly, radically her life changes, and her future looks dark. Martie's husband, Dusty, loves her profoundly, and is desperate to understand the cause of her autophobia. But as he comes closer to the terrible truth, Dusty himself starts showing signs of a psychological disorder even more frightening than that afflicting Martie...

Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap

A brilliant high-concept debut thriller - just how do you solve a murder when you only remember yesterday?'The thriller of the summer' - Observer'A 2017 literary event' - Newsweek'The intrigue of Gone Girl and the drama of Before I Go to Sleep' - iNews'So hotly tipped it should come with scorch marks... Quite literally mind-bending' - RedThere are two types of people in the world: those who can only remember yesterday, and those who can also recall the day before.You have just one lifeline to the past: your diary. Each night, you write down the things that matter. Each morning, your diary tells you where you were, who you loved and what you did.Today, the police are at your door. They say that the body of your husband's mistress has been found in the River Cam. They think your husband killed her two days ago.Can you trust the police? Can you trust your husband? Can you trust yourself?

Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Ticktock

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

Crime Scene is the next enthralling psychological thriller from Number One bestsellers and masters of the genre, Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman.Natural causes or foul play? That's the question deputy coroner Clay Edison must answer each time he examines a body. Figuring out motives and chasing down suspects aren't part of his beat - until a seemingly open-and-shut case proves to be more than meets his highly trained eye.Eccentric, reclusive Walter Rennert lies cold at the bottom of his stairs. At first glance the scene looks straightforward: a once-respected psychology professor done in by booze and a bad heart. But his daughter Tatiana insists that he has been murdered, and she persuades Clay to take a closer look at the grim facts of Rennert's life. When Clay learns that Rennert's colleague died in a nearly identical manner, he becomes even more determined to discover the truth behind the man's death. The twisting trail Clay follows will lead him into the darkest corners of the human soul. It's his job to listen to the tales told by the dead. But this time, he's part of a story that makes his blood run cold.

Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

'Gripping, claustrophobic and often deeply unsettling, Close To Me exerts a magnetic pull from its first pages' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl In The Photograph.She can't remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.Dramatic psychological suspense for fans of Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed.When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia - she's lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?She can't remember what she did - or what happened the night she fell.But she's beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.

Headline

The Freedom Broker

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe