Nick Cutter - The Deep - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206268
    • Publication date:13 Jan 2015

The Deep

By Nick Cutter

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Nick Cutter is bringing classic horror kicking and screaming back to life - The Deep will thrill anyone who loved The Abyss or Alien.

Afraid of the dark? You should be ... Part horror, part psychological nightmare, The Deep by Nick Cutter is a novel fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker won't want to miss.

A plague is destroying the world's population. The 'Gets makes people forget. First it's the small things, like where you left your keys ... then the not-so-small things, like how to drive. And finally your body forgets how to live.

But now an unknown substance with extraordinary power to heal has been discovered in the depths of the Pacific Ocean. Nicknamed ambrosia, it might just be the miracle cure the world has been praying for.

A research lab has been established eight miles below the sea's surface, but all contact with the team has been lost. Dr Luke Nelson's brother is down there and as desperation for a cure outweighs common sense, he agrees to descend through the lightless fathoms ... perhaps to face an evil blacker than anything he could have imagined.

Biographical Notes

Nick Cutter is a pseudonym for an acclaimed author of novels and short stories. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472206251
  • Publication date: 13 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Headline
Old-school horror at its best. Not for the faint-hearted, but for the rest of us sick puppies, it's a perfect gift — Stephen King on The Troop
Some thrillers produce shivers, others trigger goose bumps; Cutter's graphic offering will have readers jumping out of their skin — Kirkus Reviews on The Troop
Suspenseful . . . sinister . . . horrifying — Library Journal on The Troop
The Troop is proper horror. Packed with onomatopoeic squelchiness — SFX on The Troop
Lean and crisp . . . Disquieting, disturbing — Scott Smith, author of The Ruins on The Troop
Headline

A Measure of Darkness

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Wildfire

The Broken Girls

Simone St. James
Authors:
Simone St. James

THEY WON'T FORGIVE. THEY WON'T FORGET.'Clever and wonderfully chilling. It held me hostage' - Fiona Barton, Sunday Times-bestselling author of The Widow and The Child'Haunting and memorable . . . mesmerizing' - Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter1950 - At the crumbling Idlewild Hall school for unwanted girls, four room-mates begin to bond over dark secrets and whispered fears - until one of them mysteriously disappears . . .2014 - Journalist Fiona Sheridan can't get over the murder of her sister twenty years ago, near the ruins of Idlewild. And when another body is found during renovations of the school, she begins to uncover horrors that were meant to remain hidden - and a voice that won't be silenced.For fans of Lisa Jewell and S.K. Tremayne, The Broken Girls is a chilling story of murder, revenge, and secrets that refuse to stay buried . . .

Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke

YOU DON'T FIND HIM... HE FINDS YOU.'THE MUST-READ SUMMER CHILLER' - Daily Express'IF YOU READ JUST ONE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THIS YEAR - MAKE IT THE TALL MAN' - CultureFlyThe Tall Man is an ADDICTIVE and UNFORGETTABLE blend of psychological suspense and spine-tingling chills that will be perfect for fans of Stephen King, Ruth Ware, Sarah Pinborough's BEHIND HER EYES. If you love STRANGER THINGS, prepare to be haunted by THE TALL MAN.A SENSELESS MURDER. A TERRIFYING LEGEND. A FAMILY HAUNTED.1990: In the darkest woods, three girls devote themselves to a sinister figure. 2000: A young mother disappears, leaving behind her husband and baby daughter. 2018: A teenage girl is charged with murder, and her trial will shock the world.Three chilling events, connected by the shadow he casts. He is the Tall Man. He can make you special...

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

A chilling, lavishly illustrated who's-who of the most despicable people ever to walk the earth, featuring both rare and best-loved stories from the hit podcast Lore, now an online streaming series. Here are the incredible true stories of some of the mortals who achieved notoriety in history and folklore through horrible means. Monsters of this sort - serial killers, desperate criminals, and socially mobile people with a much darker double-life - are, in fact, quite real . . . including H. H. Holmes, the infamous Chicago serial killer; William Brodie, the Edinburgh criminal mastermind who inspired The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; and Bela Kiss, a Hungarian tinsmith with a most disturbing hobby: collecting women in gasoline drums. As Aaron Mahnke reminds us, sometimes the truth is even more frightening than the lore.

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A gifted clairvoyant. A shocking vision. A deadly killer. Dean Koontz writes a spine-chilling novel in The Face of Fear - a gripping tale of predator and prey. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben.'Real suspense... tension upon tension!' - The New York Times Graham Harris is a gifted clairvoyant, and during a television interview, he 'sees' a murder being committed. He knows that the killer is the man the police have named the Butcher - the slayer of nine young women.Learning of the psychic identification, the Butcher begins to stalk this 'witness' to his crime, and traps Harris and his girlfriend at night in a vast forty-two-storey business building, hunting them relentlessly from floor to floor... What readers are saying about The Face of Fear: 'Your breathing will not return to normal once Koontz brings you immediately into the fold and hold of this book''Wonderfully told story about undisguised, revelled-in evil''This book combines the crime and thriller genres masterfully with a good dose of occult'

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 1: Monstrous Creatures

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Troop

Nick Cutter
Authors:
Nick Cutter

Winner of the inaugural James Herbert Award, THE TROOP is a novel that will not fail to get under your skin...He felt something touch his hand. Which is when he looked down.For the scouts of Troop 52, three days of camping, hiking and survival lessons on Falstaff Island is as close as they'll get to a proper holiday.Which was when he saw it.But when an emaciated figure stumbles into their camp asking for food, the trip takes a horrifying turn. The man is not just hungry, he's sick. Sick in a way they have never seen before.Which was when he screamed.Cut off from the mainland, the troop face a terror far worse than anything they could have made up around a campfire. To survive they will have to fight their fears, the elements ... and eventually each other.'THE TROOP scared the hell out of me, and I couldn't put it down. Not for the faint-hearted' Stephen King

Headline

Chindi (Academy - Book 3)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Headline

Echo (Alex Benedict - Book 5)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Headline

Firebird (Alex Benedict - Book 6)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Headline

A Talent for War (Alex Benedict - Book 1)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt

Jack McDevitt's A TALENT FOR WAR takes Alex Benedict into the heart of an alien galaxy in a thrilling interstellar adventure. 'A real writer has entered our ranks, and his name is Jack McDevitt' Michael Bishop, Nebula-winning authorEveryone knows the legend of Christopher Sim. An interstellar hero with a rare talent for war, he changedmankind's history forever when he forged a rag-tag group of misfits into the weapon that broke the alien Ashiyyur. But now, in a forgotten file, Alex Benedict has found a startling piece of information. If it is true, then Christopher Sim was a fraud. If he is to see it through, Alex Benedict will have to follow the dark track of a legend, into the heart of an alien galaxy, where he will confront a truth far stranger than anything he could have imagined...

Headline

Strip Jack Naked

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney

Jack Doyle is on the run from two merciless enforcers sent after him by thye loansharks. Jack flees to the Costa del Sol, where he meets Frank Nolan, a journalist. When Frank dies unexpectedly, Jack borrows his identity and takes his place.

Headline

Slayground

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney

A deadly game is about to begin in Philip Caveney's gritty gang thriller. Fourteen-year-old Finn McManus is a seasoned villain on the notorious Merton Estate. But when a psychopathic Yardie starts moving in, Finn realises that baseball bats and razors will no longer protect his territory... Nick Saunders manages a PR company handling its biggest ever challenge: the visit of famous American rapper and film star, Bobby C. Cooper, an arrogant loudmouth with a contempt for the law. When these two cultures collide, Nick is propelled straight into a nightmare - battling to rescue a helpless hostage from the fickle knife-edge between life and death. What chance has one man in this hellish landscape now erupting in a frenzy of gang conflict, mutilation and death? For in this desperate game the only winners are those who can survive...

Headline

Skin Flicks

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney
Headline

1999

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney

Manchester approaching the Millennium is a violent city which is succumbing to the deadly delights of Warp, a designer hallucinogenic. When Will Ambrose's son dies after taking the drug he determines to find out who controls its supply. He soon finds himself on a bad trip into his worst nightmare.

Headline

Bad to the Bone

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney
Headline

Burn Down Easy

Philip Caveney
Authors:
Philip Caveney
Headline

Intensity

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Edgler Vess is a sociopath intent on murder. He lives for one purpose only: to satisfy all appetites as they arise, seeking ever more outrageous experience. To live with intensity. When he attacks her friend, Laura, Chyna Shepherd is saved by the instincts developed during a dark and turbulent childhood. Not knowing Laura is already dead, Chyna follows, hoping to save her friend, as Vess carries her body to his motor home - a dungeon and morgue on wheels. The killer, unaware of her presence, drives away. But Chyna is now trapped in his dangerous orbit. Her sole aim is to get out alive, but when she learns the identity of the killer's next intended victim, she knows she must act to save that precious life - and take risks beyond any that she ever imagined she could endure.