Torkil Damhaug - Certain Signs That You Are Dead (Oslo Crime Files 4) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206909
    • Publication date:24 Mar 2016

Certain Signs That You Are Dead (Oslo Crime Files 4)

A compelling and cunning thriller that will keep you hooked

By Torkil Damhaug

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Intense psychological crime from the Norwegian bestselling author, in the tradition of Camilla Lackberg

CERTAIN SIGNS THAT YOU ARE DEAD is the fourth psychological thriller in Torkil Damhaug's Oslo Crime Files, a tense and dark quartet for fans of Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.

Every killer leaves a trace.

In Akershus University Hospital, a patient disappears into thin air.

That evening, his body is found in a basement box-room, his throat cut.

When retired forensic pathologist Jennifer Plåterud is called in to examine the dead man, she has no idea of just how closely she is involved in the murder herself.

And in the merciless heat of summer, she will be forced to make connections she would have preferred to ignore...


Praise for international bestseller Torkil Damhaug:

'Delivered with maximum psychological intensity' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller' Evening Standard

Biographical Notes

Torkil Damhaug studied literature and anthropology in Bergen, and then medicine in Oslo, specialising in psychiatry. After working as a psychiatrist for many years, he now writes full time. Torkil lives with his wife and children near Oslo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472206893
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline
Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller. The first in a series called the Oslo Crime Files, it is a more than promising debut — Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard
Torkil Damhaug distinguishes himself through his attention-grabbing depictions of places and personalities. He has now taken his place in the top ranks of Norwegian crime fiction writers — Aftenposten
One of the best-written and nerve-wracking works of crime fiction in a long time — Dagens Næringsliv
A novel about blame and guilt, about revenge and rage, about fantasies and frustrations - there are many powerful emotions and experiences in wait for the reader, too... Not a novel to pass up — Dagbladet
Damhaug sneaks right up to the cutting edge with his new thriller — Dagsavisen
Damhaug's new thriller is an exciting, original and disturbing novel with intriguing nuance and depth — VG
The book delivers surprises up to the very last moment ... Damhaug knows the art of telling a spellbinding crime story — Jyllands-Posten, Denmark 3
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in A BRUSH WITH DEATH, the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Quintin Jardine's compelling novels: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' Glasgow HeraldWhen millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. The charismatic young Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status. A long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive?Suspecting links to organized crime, the Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation. They have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police force, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long, long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming...

Headline

Come and Find Me (DI Marnie Rome Book 5)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline Eternal

What Are You Afraid of?

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy
Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

Karen Hamilton's THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND is a frightening depiction of unbridled obsession, where love and pure hatred grapple on a knife edge. The perfect new psychological thriller for fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him. They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...

Headline Eternal

Pretend You're Safe

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

HARDCORE TWENTY-FOUR is the latest thrilling and fast-paced mystery in the much-loved Stephanie Plum series from No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Janet Evanovich. Raves for Evanovich's novels: 'A laugh-out-laugh page-turner' (Heat); 'Utterly delightful' (Cosmopolitan); 'As smart and sassy as high-gloss wet paint' (Time Out).

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan
Headline

Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

The fourth and final book in Karen Rose's nail-biting Cincinnati Series revisits your favourite characters battling crime in the city's dark underbelly. Fans of Tess Gerritsen, James Patterson and Karin Slaughter will not be able to tear themselves away from this explosive thriller. Homicide detective Adam Kimble is no stranger to battling demons. But Meredith Fallon is a different kind of weakness: one that could actually be good for him, if only he would let himself depend on her. Meredith has loved Adam for a year, and seeing how hard he's worked to deal with his PTSD makes her feelings only stronger, but she respects his needs. Her work keeps her busy anyway: she counsels sexually abused women like Mallory Martin to help them reintegrate into the world.But someone doesn't want Meredith helping women like Mallory, and Meredith finds herself the target of a very determined killer. Adam would risk anything for Meredith, but they'll soon find out the killer is just a little too close to home...

Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Return

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A CHRISTMAS RETURN is the 15th novella in the festive series by Anne Perry, the queen of Victorian crime.As the festive season approaches, Charlotte Pitt's grandmamma, Mariah Ellison, is facing Christmas alone. When she receives an unexpected gift, memories are sparked of a Christmas in Haslemere long ago, when her beloved friend Cullen Wesley died and a local villager was brutally murdered, with no killer brought to justice.The unsolved case has resurfaced and Cullen's grandson, Peter, begs for Mariah's help to solve the crime that led to his grandfather's death. Mariah can't resist a friend in need and she returns to Haslemere to investigate the murder and heal old wounds. But evil still lurks in the picturesque village and she'll need all her wits about her to see that justice is done.A Christmas Return is the enthralling new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

State Secrets (Bob Skinner series, Book 28)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Twenty-One Days

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

Crime Scene is the next enthralling psychological thriller from Number One bestsellers and masters of the genre, Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman.Natural causes or foul play? That's the question deputy coroner Clay Edison must answer each time he examines a body. Figuring out motives and chasing down suspects aren't part of his beat - until a seemingly open-and-shut case proves to be more than meets his highly trained eye.Eccentric, reclusive Walter Rennert lies cold at the bottom of his stairs. At first glance the scene looks straightforward: a once-respected psychology professor done in by booze and a bad heart. But his daughter Tatiana insists that he has been murdered, and she persuades Clay to take a closer look at the grim facts of Rennert's life. When Clay learns that Rennert's colleague died in a nearly identical manner, he becomes even more determined to discover the truth behind the man's death. The twisting trail Clay follows will lead him into the darkest corners of the human soul. It's his job to listen to the tales told by the dead. But this time, he's part of a story that makes his blood run cold.

Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Available together for the first time, the complete DI Kate Burrows trilogy by the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author, Martina Cole. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.'The Queen of Crime' - Woman & Home on Hard GirlsThe deadly DI Kate Burrows trilogy: the only time Martina's written from the Old Bill's perspective. Kate is the hard-but-fair copper whose investigations - and heart - become dangerously entwined with London's most infamous gangster, Patrick Kelly. But when there's a killer on the loose, Kate Burrows is the only woman for the job. THE LADYKILLER. BROKEN. HARD GIRLS.

Headline

Monster In The Closet (The Baltimore Series Book 5)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House. A crumbling Ottoman mansion, and once the home of a princess, it is a place associated with ill fortune. The princess's four children, now in old age, still live in separate apartments on different floors and are rumoured never to speak to each other. Then one of them is found dead, stabbed through the heart, and it is discovered that the other three siblings have met an identical fate. There is no sign of forced entry or burglary, and all evidence must be gained from letters and diaries, but as Inspector Ikmen digs into their past it becomes clear they have been harbouring a secret...Meanwhile a young couple are arrested for a series of seemingly random killings on the streets of Istanbul. They claim to have been squatting in the Devil's House. But this fiendish mystery is far from over and it will take Inspector Ikmen to the darkest and most devilish depths of this ancient city.

Headline Review

Curious Minds

Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton