Anne Blankman - Prisoner of Night and Fog - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207821
    • Publication date:22 Apr 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207838
    • Publication date:22 Apr 2014

Prisoner of Night and Fog

A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history’s darkest hours

By Anne Blankman

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage for fans of The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.

An ordinary girl faces an extraordinary choice in this gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.'

'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity

Munich, 1931. Gretchen Muller has been cherished and protected by Adolf Hitler ever since her father, a senior Nazi officer, sacrificed himself to save the life of the Führer. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more, under the command of her 'Uncle Dolf'.

But secrets cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen meets a young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, and the motives of her dearest friends now in question, Gretchen must risk everything to determine her own allegiances - even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.


What readers are saying about Prisoner of Night and Fog:

'Takes a mature approach to a very serious subject and immerses the reader in the twisted, violent culture of Nazism in the years before Hitler came to power'

'Blankman has woven her clever and well-researched plot around real people and real events - not least the character of Hitler himself'

'A great read for anyone who wants a gripping page turner and particularly to those wanting to find out more about a grimly fascinating period of history'

Biographical Notes

Anne Blankman was born in upstate New York and studied at Union College, during which time she did an exchange in York, England - a place she's always dreamed of returning to. She has since worked as a youth services librarian. The idea for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG came to her after she learned about Hitler's beloved half niece who shared his luxurious Munich flat. Anne began wondering what it would have been like to be a young girl growing up within the Nazi elite's inner circle - and if it would have been possible to break free from it. This is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.anneblankman.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472207845
  • Publication date: 06 Nov 2014
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Headline
Grabs the reader from its first paragraph.... [A] remarkable book — Jewish Book Council
I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true — Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY
A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment — www.lizlovesbooks.com
I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages — www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk
Completely engrossing — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Grabs the reader from its first paragraph.... [A] remarkable book
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

VICTORY GIRLS is the sixth poignant saga in Helen Carey's much-loved Lavender Road series, set in south London during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening StandardAugust 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over. Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever. Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old. Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road.

Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

HIDDEN LIVES is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, sure to appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for Judith Lennox: 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel' Daily MailA surprise inheritance reveals the hidden lives of two sisters, torn apart by tragedy...Following her grandmother's death, Rose Martineau inherits The Egg, an extraordinary house nestling in the Sussex countryside. She discovers that the mysterious house originally belonged to her grandmother's younger sister, Sadie, who Rose never knew existed. In her search to uncover why the sisters grew apart, Rose is drawn back into the glamorous and decadent world of the 1930s. Meanwhile, Rose's own life as a dutiful wife and mother is turned upside down by a sordid scandal that threatens to destroy her marriage. It is only once she has unravelled the secrets of Sadie's past that she is able to look to her own future...An epic tale of secrets, scandal, jealousy and passion spanning the twentieth century.

Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. 'A delightful experience... I can thoroughly recommend it' Ellie DeanIt's 1944. Londoners are weary of air raids and rationing. But now, with rumours of an invasion of France, the tide of war seems to be turning. In Lavender Road, however, everyone still has challenges to face.Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to make a new life for herself. When a glamorous American officer arrives at her factory to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity, only to find her efforts hampered by ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson.Jen Carter's relationship with theatrical producer Henry Keller hits a hurdle when an old flame reappears. And when V1 retaliation rockets start hitting London, her mother Joyce's tentative romance is threatened too.Will the war finally wear down the women of Lavender Road, or can love thrive even in the toughest of times?

Tinder Press

Mussolini's Island

Sarah Day
Authors:
Sarah Day

Seductive, moving and full of insight into the desperate acts committed by individuals when fighting for their lives, MUSSOLINI'S ISLAND is a novel of sexuality and desire, and the secrets we keep locked within us. For any reader of Anthony Doerr's ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE or Virginia Baily's EARLY ONE MORNING.Francesco has a memory of his father from early childhood, a night when life for his family changed: their name, their story, their living place. From that night, he has vowed to protect his mother and to follow the words of his father: Non mollare. Never give up.When Francesco is rounded up with a group of young men and herded into a camp on the island of San Domino, he realises that someone has handed a list of names to the fascist police; everyone is suspicious of one another. His former lover Emilio is constantly agitating for revolution. His old friend Gio jealously watches their relationship rekindle. Locked in spartan dormitories, resentment and bitterness between the men grows each day. Elena, a young and illiterate island girl on the cusp of womanhood, is drawn to the handsome Francesco yet fails to understand why her family try to keep her away from him. By day, she makes and floats her paper birds, willing them to fly from the island, just as she wants to herself. Sometimes, she is given a message to pass on. She's not sure who they are from; she knows simply that Francesco is hiding something. When Elena discovers the truth about the group of prisoners, the fine line between love and hate pulls her towards an act that can only have terrible consequences for all.

Headline

Kids of Appetite

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline

Wartime

Juliet Gardiner
Authors:
Juliet Gardiner
Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman
Headline

Ironmonger's Daughter

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Ironmonger Street in 1920, with its ugly tenement blocks and tumbledown houses, is one of the most unsightly turnings in Bermondsey; its residents are hardened to the grim poverty of their lives.In the slum block, Jubilee Dwellings, two sisters - attractive, fun-loving Kate Morgan and the happily married Helen Bartlett - give birth to daughters. One is illegitimate, her mother refusing to name the father, the other is disabled. Connie and Molly grow up together and wouldn't be parted for the world. Until the day Connie catches the eye of handsome Robert Armitage. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, and the antagonism that dogs their two families, they are drawn together and are determined to be married. Until war intervenes ...

Tinder Press

Between Gods

Alison Pick
Authors:
Alison Pick
Headline

War Story

Sara Hely
Authors:
Sara Hely
Headline

Forgive and Forget

Dee Williams
Authors:
Dee Williams
Headline

Down Our Street

Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
Headline Review

Shadowstory

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston
Headline

CRYPT: The Gallows Curse

Andrew Hammond
Authors:
Andrew Hammond
Headline

Glee: Summer Break

Sophia Lowell
Authors:
Sophia Lowell

Mr. Schuester doesn't want the Glee club to lose its momentum over summer break, so he's talked Rachel, Finn and the crew into running a singing workshop for local kids.

Tinder Press

Far to Go

Alison Pick
Authors:
Alison Pick
Headline

Wintercraft: Blackwatch

Jenna Burtenshaw
Authors:
Jenna Burtenshaw
Headline

Glee: Foreign Exchange

Sophia Lowell
Authors:
Sophia Lowell