Eowyn Ivey - To the Bright Edge of the World - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472208637
    • Publication date:02 Aug 2016
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472208620
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

To the Bright Edge of the World

By Eowyn Ivey

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

From the internationally bestselling author of THE SNOW CHILD comes an extraordinary story of discovery, adventure, and a husband and wife tested by the different paths their society expects them to tread.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE EDWARD STANFORD TRAVEL WRITING AWARDS 2016.

Set in the Alaskan landscape that she brought to stunningly vivid life in THE SNOW CHILD (a Sunday Times bestseller, Richard and Judy pick and finalist for the Pulitzer Prize), Eowyn Ivey's TO THE BRIGHT EDGE OF THE WORLD is a breathtaking story of discovery set at the end of the nineteenth century, sure to appeal to fans of A PLACE CALLED WINTER.

'A clever, ambitious novel' The Sunday Times

'Persuasive and vivid... what could be a better beach read than an Arctic adventure?' Guardian


'Stunning and intriguing... the reader finishes it richer and wiser' Rosamund Lupton, author of Sister and The Quality of Silence

Lieutenant Colonel Allen Forrester receives the commission of a lifetime when he is charged to navigate Alaska's hitherto impassable Wolverine River, with only a small group of men. The Wolverine is the key to opening up Alaska and its rich natural resources to the outside world, but previous attempts have ended in tragedy.

Forrester leaves behind his young wife, Sophie, newly pregnant with the child he had never expected to have. Adventurous in spirit, Sophie does not relish the prospect of a year in a military barracks while her husband carves a path through the wilderness. What she does not anticipate is that their year apart will demand every ounce of courage and fortitude of her that it does of her husband.

Biographical Notes

Eowyn Ivey's debut novel, THE SNOW CHILD, was published in twenty-six languages, and became an international bestseller. It was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 2013, and Eowyn won the International Author of the Year category at the 2012 National Book Awards. A former bookseller, Eowyn lives in Palmer, Alaska, with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472208606
  • Publication date: 02 Aug 2016
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
A clever, ambitious novel — The Sunday Times
A stunning and intriguing novel combining the epic adventurous sweep of Alaska with minutely beautifully observed details - the reader finishes it wiser and richer — Rosamund Lupton
A dazzling depiction of love, endurance, courage and wonder, and a worthy successor to THE SNOW CHILD — Ron Rash
Absorbing... a superior page turner — Daily Mail
Absorbing... their love for each other is beautifully rendered — The Times
If I read another novel this year that I love as much as this I will be entirely surprised. This is a very special book indeed and Eowyn Ivey is an incredibly gifted writer, bringing to us all the wonder, beautiful strangeness and fragility of the Alaska she loves — Kate Atherton
Absorbing and highly imaginative... Ivey, clearly a writer of prodigious talent, effortlessly knits these elements together to create an utterly enchanting read. Part intrepid adventure, part deeply affecting romance, this first-class novel is, at its heart, a love letter to the 'vast and cold beauty' of the last frontier — Daily Express
Enchanting... a fascinating, adventurous tale — Grazia
A rich and involving story of endurance, love and the Alaskan wilderness that captured me from the off — Woman & Home
Charming, whimsical and sometimes heat-breaking — Red
Entrancing... In this splendid adventure novel, Ivey captures Alaska's beauty and brutality, not just preserving history, but keeping it alive — Publisher's Weekly
Ivey's prose glitters...if this one doesn't win her a major award, I'll eat my trapper's hat — The Tablet
Unique... absorbing — Stylist (Book Wars Winner)
Beautifully lyrical — Sunday Express
The precision of such descriptions of the natural world ground the novel in a gritty verisimilitude that then allows Ivey to build a fanciful, daring imaginative edifice: the meticulous realism of the foundation allows the fabulous elements of her fiction to soar — Guardian
Tinder Press

The Snow Child

Eowyn Ivey
Authors:
Eowyn Ivey

A bewitching tale of heartbreak and hope set in 1920s Alaska, Eowyn Ivey's THE SNOW CHILD was a top ten bestseller in hardback and paperback, and went on to be a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?Written with the clarity and vividness of the Russian fairy tale from which it takes its inspiration, The Snow Child is an instant classic.

Headline Review

Goodbye For Now

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

A poignant, heart-warming novel of love, loss and the possibility of keeping the past alive in a wholly unexpected way for fans of ONE DAY, WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and THE NOTEBOOK.Imagine a world in which you never have to say goodbye.A world in which you can talk to your loved ones after they've gone - About the trivial things you used to shareAbout the things you wish you'd said while you still had the chanceAbout how hard it is to adjust to life without them.When Sam Elling invents a computer programme that enables his girlfriend Meredith to do just this, nothing can prepare them for the success and the complications that follow. For every person who wants to say goodbye, there is someone else who can't let go. And when tragedy strikes, they have to find out whether goodbye has to be for ever. Or whether love can take on a life of its own...

Tinder Press

The Other Half of Me

Morgan Mccarthy
Authors:
Morgan Mccarthy
Tinder Press

The Snow Child

Eowyn Ivey
Authors:
Eowyn Ivey

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 2013. A bewitching tale of heartbreak and hope set in 1920s Alaska, The Snow Child was a bestseller on hardback publication, and went on to establish itself as one of the key literary debuts of 2012, and was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick. This new e-book edition contains an exclusive author essay, recipes and photographs to illuminate the world of the book.Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?Written with the clarity and vividness of the Russian fairy tale from which it takes its inspiration, The Snow Child is an instant classic.

Headline

To Love and to Cherish

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

The Roots of Betrayal

James Forrester
Authors:
James Forrester
Headline

Cuckoo: The original twisted psychological drama

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch
Headline Review

The Taste of Sorrow

Jude Morgan
Authors:
Jude Morgan
Headline Review

Mistress of Rome

Kate Quinn
Authors:
Kate Quinn
Headline

Skylarks At Sunset

Rita Bradshaw
Authors:
Rita Bradshaw
Headline Review

Death on the Ice

Robert Ryan
Authors:
Robert Ryan

Headline Review

The Last Sunrise

Robert Ryan
Authors:
Robert Ryan

Headline Review

Trans Am

Robert Ryan
Authors:
Robert Ryan

Headline

The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

In a Far Country

Linda Holeman
Authors:
Linda Holeman

Pree Fincastle, daughter of impoverished British missionaries in India, is left alone and destitute when tragedy strikes. She embarks on a journey in search of Kai, the son of her mother's ayah, and the only person she can trust. But Kai is not the man Pree thought he was, and the secrets he holds will unlock the door to another world, another time - and, shockingly, another life. From the whispering Ravi River to the hidden heart of the Peshawar, this is a story of penury and prostitution, tragedy and bloodshed, secrets and love. But ultimately it is a story of hope; a story that, once read, will never be forgotten...

Headline Review

The Infinite Wisdom of Harriet Rose

Diana Janney
Authors:
Diana Janney

Harriet Rose, like any other teenager, is naïve, overconfident and has always felt she has something important to say. However, unlike most of her peers, her hero is Marcus Aurelius, in imitation of whom she has been composing philosophical reflections on life for some time. When Harriet's father dies, the urge to write these meditations is greater than ever. Then, on her fourteenth birthday, she receives a unique gift. Her doting mother and grandmother have had her by-now-substantial collection of meditations published. Having appointed themselves roles - Mother: publicist; Nana: sales rep; Harriet: esteemed author - they vow to get the book into the hands of a wide readership. Once this formidable team gets into gear, there's no holding back, and Harriet is hurled into a lifestyle that not even she, in all her infinite wisdom, could have been prepared for. Bookshop orders soon stack up, and Harriet is plunged into a whirlwind of launch parties, newspaper coverage and television appearances. But is all this attention exactly what she thinks? And, more importantly, can her happiness - or her naivete - last?

Headline

The Know

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Joanie Brewer loves the bones of her three children. She'd do anything to protect them, even resorting to prostitution and petty crime in order to feed and clothe them. So when her beautiful teenage daughter is raped and murdered, only one thing will stop Joanie's pain - seeing her daughter's killer brought to justice. Joanie knows who he is and she'll do whatever it takes to nail him...

Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, THE WHALEBOAT HOUSE, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, THE SAVAGE GARDEN, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, WAITING FOR DOGGO. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.

Michael David Lukas

Michael David Lukas was born in 1979 and lives in California, where he teaches primary-school children Creative Writing and writes travel journalism. This is his first novel.

Michel Rostain

Michel Rostain lives in Arles. Born in 1942, he works as an opera stage director, and directed the National Theatre of Quimper - Cornwall Theatre - from 1995 to 2008