John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard - Conquest - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

Conquest

By John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

One of Amazon's Top 10 YA novels for 2013. An epic tale set on an Earth ruled by an elite alien race. For fans of Rick Yancey and Pittacus Lore.

The start of the epic new Chronicles of the Invaders series from bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of THE 5TH WAVE and I AM NUMBER FOUR.

She is the first of her kind to be born on Earth.

He is one of the Resistance, fighting to rid the world of an alien invasion.

They were never meant to meet.

And when they do, it will change everything . . .

Biographical Notes

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472209610
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline

The Funhouse

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced.They have cheated death.Defied their people.Changed beyond recognition.Their love has survived the impossible.But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it.(P)2016 Headline Digital

Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

Empire

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

The second in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders trilogy by bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of THE 5TH WAVE and I AM NUMBER FOUR.She is the trophy of a civilization at war with itself.He is its rebel captive.Separated by millions of light years, their dreams are united.And they will risk everything to make their world - all worlds - right again.EMPIRE. The second in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders series.

Headline

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher.How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye.Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher.Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

Headline

Three Dog Night

Elsebeth Egholm
Authors:
Elsebeth Egholm

It's the coldest winter in memory as ex-convict Peter Boutrup moves to remote, rural Denmark to start a new life.But when a young woman goes missing on New Year's Eve and Peter discovers the body of Ramses, an old acquaintance from prison, things start to unravel.Two days after the disappearance the body of a young girl is found in the harbour - she is naked, attached to an anchor and her face has been torn off. Is this the body of the missing woman and is it connected with Ramses' murder? And could Peter's strange new neighbour, Felix, be involved?Peter Boutrup just wants peace and quiet but he must accept that the truth lies hidden in the past he is trying to forget.Populated by a cast of characters from the underbelly of Danish society, Three Dog Night is a fast paced thriller that paints a picture of a rarely seen side of Denmark.

Headline

Empire State

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

Nathan Jones - scarred for life by one night of horror in his Northern Irish past. And also by having the same name as a Supremes song.Hoping for a fresh start, Nathan moves to New York but when his girlfriend leaves him, he only has his new job for company - that of a security guard at the Empire State building. Recently acquired by a computer billionaire, the building is about to be visited by President Michael Keneally, an army of FBI men, and George Burley of Alabama, a white supremacist with the President at the top of his assassination Top Ten.Wildly dark and wonderfully entertaining, EMPIRE STATE takes the world of politics - international, racial and sexual - and holds it hostage at the top of one of the most famous buildings on Earth.

Headline

The String Diaries

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

Herald of the Storm (Steelhaven: Book One)

Richard Ford
Authors:
Richard Ford

Welcome to Steelhaven...Under the reign of King Cael the Uniter, this vast cityport on the southern coast has for years been a symbol of strength, maintaining an uneasy peace throughout the Free States. But now a long shadow hangs over the city, in the form of the dread Elharim warlord, Amon Tugha. When his herald infiltrates the city, looking to exploit its dangerous criminal underworld, and a terrible dark magick that has long been buried once again begins to rise, it could be the beginning of the end.

Headline

Tarnished

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch
Headline Eternal

Release Me: Stark Series Book 1

J. Kenner
Authors:
J. Kenner
Headline

Sword and Scimitar

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

Bestselling author Simon Scarrow brings the Great Siege of Malta to vivid and unforgettable life in this gripping standalone novel.1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign. As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Headline Review

The Housemaid's Daughter

Barbara Mutch
Authors:
Barbara Mutch
Headline Review

Whatever It Takes

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

Eloise Hamilton is a Londoner born and bred, so it is a momentous day when she reluctantly agrees to uproot to Dartmouth, leaving behind her perfect world so her husband can finally live in his. There are compensations, however. On tap fresh air, a bigger home for her family, her mother-in-law Margaret will welcome her with open arms, and besides, she can still rely on best friend Sara to be her lifeline to London.Yet, both Margaret and Sara are facing their own difficulties. As Margaret begins to lose her history, her health and her mind, will she be able to hold on to the secret she's never wanted to reveal? Sara is consumed with a need for a baby - a desire so ferocious she's prepared to take a terrible risk, without thought of the consequences her actions might unleash on the next generation.Thrust into this unexpected turmoil, Eloise finds she is the one holding everything together for her loved ones - and by an ever-weakening thread. As her world implodes with the strain of being responsible for all around her, someone is bound to be overlooked. And the damage might be irreparable... (P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline

Every Vow You Break

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

Cuckoo: The original twisted psychological drama

Julia Crouch
Authors:
Julia Crouch

CUCKOO by Julia Crouch is the original psychological thriller: a dark, deliciously unsettling drama in the vein of I LET YOU GO, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.'Brilliant... truly chilling' Sophie HannahRose has it all - the gorgeous children, the husband, the beautiful home. But then her best friend Polly comes to stay. Very soon, Rose's cosy world starts to fall apart at the seams - her baby falls dangerously ill, her husband is distracted - is Polly behind it all? It appears that once you invite Polly into your home, it's very difficult to get her out again...

Headline

The Razor Gate

Sean Cregan
Authors:
Sean Cregan

The second brilliant novel from the author of The Levels - Sean Cregan. In Newport City men and women walk the streets, their lives literally ticking away. The Clocks are victims of a new serial crime, their existence kept secret by the authorities for fear of panic spreading through the city. Kidnapped by the mysterious Curator and subjected to the Curse - a medical procedure which ensures a fatal drug will be released into their nervous system one year after implantation - they are headed for certain death. But now they are fighting back. A suicidal Clock, determined to bring their plight to the public's attention, has detonated a bomb. Journalist Maya Cassinelli, whose ex-boyfriend is one of the dead, and cop Charlie Garrett, whose Clock girlfriend is about to die, are on a desperate search for answers, closely shadowed by members of the elite Foundation, who want control of the Curse's revolutionary and lucrative bio-technology. With everyone hunting the Cure, who will find it first? The Clocks are ticking...

Headline Review

My Favourite Goodbye

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's MY FAVOURITE GOODBYE is a delicious novel about finding love in unexpected places - not to be missed by readers of Veronica Henry and Freya North. Ash O'Halloran is happy with her futon, her flat, her cat and her job as a party caterer. She doesn't do impulsive. She is absolutely, perfectly in control of her single woman's life. And if she can't have relationships without complications - then she's content to carry on as she is. Ms Self-Contained. But when she's employed to cook the supper over which Dan Morland plans to propose to his girlfriend, suddenly she becomes party to someone else's relationship - in all its tangled, heart-breaking complexity. And, as she watches Dan struggling to sort out the mess his emotions have got him into, Ash starts to realise she's not Ms Invulnerable after all...