John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard - Conquest - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472209610
    • Publication date:26 Sep 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472221698
    • Publication date:11 Mar 2014

Conquest

By John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Biographical Notes

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472209634
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Kids of Appetite

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

DOMINION is the epic follow-up to CONQUEST and EMPIRE in the Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. Fans of Pittacus Lore and Veronica Roth will be entranced.They have cheated death.Defied their people.Changed beyond recognition.Their love has survived the impossible.But now they must learn to trust again: the future of their worlds depends on it.

Headline

Every Exquisite Thing

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York TimesNanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

Headline

Hello, Goodbye, And Everything In Between

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith
Headline

No Other Darkness (D.I. Marnie Rome 2)

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary, winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN returns with the phenomenal follow-up to the critically acclaimed Richard and Judy pick. David Mark says that NO OTHER DARKNESS is 'truly mesmerising', with Eva Dolan calling it 'utterly gripping'. D.I. Marnie Rome is back with her most complex case to date.Two young boys.Trapped underground in a bunker.Unable to understand why they are there.Desperate for someone to find them.Slowly realising that no-one will...Five years later, the boys' bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome's career begins. Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them.For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this...Praise for SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN:'A stunning debut' Mark Billingham'A slick, stylish debut. And one that certainly got under my skin' Sharon Bolton'A truly engrossing read from an exceptional new talent. Hilary writes with a beguiling immediacy that pulls you straight into her world on the first page and leaves you bereft when you finish. Intelligent, emotional and totally unexpected in terms of where it goes. I truly loved this book' Alex Marwood

Headline

Empire

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline

Someone Else's Skin (D.I. Marnie Rome 1): Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary
Headline

Follow Me Down

Tanya Byrne
Authors:
Tanya Byrne

Critically acclaimed author Tanya Byrne returns with a dark, compulsive tale of obsession and betrayal.First love. Last lie.When Adamma Okomma has to leave her glossy high school in New York for a dusty English boarding school, she thinks it's the end of the world - or the end of her social life, at least.Then she meets the wicked-witted Scarlett Chiltern, who shows her all of Crofton College's darkest corners and Adamma realises that there's much more to her new school than tartan skirts and hockey sticks.She and Scarlett become inseparable, but when they fall for the same guy, the battle lines are firmly drawn.Adamma gets the guy but loses her best friend. Then, when Scarlett runs away, Adamma finds herself caught up in something far more sinister than a messy love triangle. Adamma always knew that Scarlett had her secrets, but some secrets are too big to keep and this one will change all of their lives forever.

Headline

Everything Is Fine (And Other Lies I Tell Myself)

Cathy Brett
Authors:
Cathy Brett

Interwoven with tales of World War I, this is a story about growing up, moving on and the strength of a family.Things haven't been going so well for fifteen-year-old Esther Armstrong. With her brother Max - her closest ally - absent, she's forced to face everything alone, not least her parents' heated arguments. As the summer holidays stretch endlessly ahead, she's desperate for something, anything, to divert her attention. Then she finds some letters hidden in the walls of her family home, sent by a soldier to his sweetheart from the trenches of WWI. Esther is consumed by the mystery of these lovers - not very much older than herself - and what became of them. Perhaps in piecing together the jigsaw of someone else's life, Esther can work out how to reassemble her own, and how to make everything fine again...

Headline

Pure

Julianna Baggott
Authors:
Julianna Baggott

We know you are here, our brothers and sisters. We will, one day, emerge from the Dome to join you in peace. For now, we watch from afar, benevolently.Pressia Belze has lived outside of the Dome ever since the detonations. Struggling for survival she dreams of life inside the safety of the Dome with the 'Pure'.Partridge, himself a Pure, knows that life inside the Dome, under the strict control of the leaders' regime, isn't as perfect as others think. Bound by a history that neither can clearly remember, Pressia and Partridge are destined to forge a new world.

Headline

The Faithless

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

Mr Monster

Dan Wells
Authors:
Dan Wells

Mr Monster is the second chilling novel in Dan Wells's John Wayne Carver series, and the follow up to I Am Not A Serial Killer - now a major motion picture.John Wayne Cleaver has always known he has a dark side but he's fought hard to oppress it and live a normal life - separating John from Mr Monster to survive. But after confronting and destroying the vicious killer that was terrorizing his town, his inner monster is getting stronger and harder to contain. And now more bodies are being discovered... With the police failing to catch Clayton County's second serial killer John is going to have to use his secret knowledge of the first demon-killer to trap the second...but will he be able to avoid suspicion falling on him, and, in the face of extreme horrors, will he be able to restrain Mr Monster?

Tinder Press

Of Bees and Mist

Erick Setiawan
Authors:
Erick Setiawan

Up in the house that sits on the hill, a strange spell is brewing... To Meridia, growing up with her father Gabriel, who vanishes daily in clouds of mist, and her bewitching mother Ravenna, the outside world is a refuge. So when as a young woman her true love Daniel offers her marriage, it seems an escape to a more straightforward existence. Yet behind the welcoming façade of her new home lies a life of drudgery and a story even stranger than that she left behind. Aged retainers lurk in the background; swarms of bees appear at will, and of course, there's her indomitable mother-in-law, Eva, hiding secrets that it will take Meridia years to unravel. Surrounded by seemingly unfathomable mysteries, can Meridia unlock the intrigues of the past, and thus protect her own family's future? An epic tale of two families told by an unforgettable voice. A modern fable, a gothic page-turner, but most of all, a passionate story about the power of love to conquer all that comes its way.

Headline

I Am Not A Serial Killer: Now a major film

Dan Wells
Authors:
Dan Wells

I Am Not A Serial Killer is now a major film starring Christopher Lloyd and Max Records. This is the first title in the thrillingly dark John Wayne Carver series.John works in his family's mortuary and has an obsession with serial killers. He wants to be a good person, but fears he is a sociopath, and for years he has suppressed his dark side through a strict system of rules designed to mimic 'normal' behavior. Then a demon begins stalking his small town and killing people one by one, and John is forced to give in to his darker nature in order to save them. As he struggles to understand the demon and find a way to kill it, his own mind begins to unravel until he fears he may never regain control. Faced with the reality that he is, perhaps, more monstrous than the monster he is fighting, John must make a final stand against the horrors of both the demon and himself.

Headline Review

Wartime

Juliet Gardiner
Authors:
Juliet Gardiner

Isla Dewar

Isla Dewar is the author of many acclaimed novels including Keeping up with Magda, Dancing in a Distant Place, Secrets of a Family Album and Women Talking Dirty. Women Talking Dirty was made into a film starring Eileen Atkins, Helen Bonham Carter, Gina McKee and James Nesbitt. Isla lives in Fife with her cartoonist husband.

J.T. Brannan

J.T. Brannan trained as a British Army officer at Sandhurst, before deciding to pursue a writing career. A former national Karate champion, he now teaches Karate, MMA, and his own system of reality-based self-defence. He lives near Harrogate with his wife and two young children. EXTINCTION is his second novel.

Jenna Burtenshaw

Jenna Burtenshaw has been writing regularly since she was nine years old. Starting with short stories and poems, she wrote for herself and the people around her and fell in love with the process of storytelling. She began writing Wintercraft - her first novel - in 2006 and now writes full time. In her spare time she enjoys walking her three dogs, playing the flute and getting lost in a good book.

Jude Morgan

Jude Morgan, whose previous novels include PASSION and THE TASTE OF SORROW, was born and brought up in Peterborough on the edge of the Fens, and was a student on the University of East Anglia MA Course in Creative Writing under Malcolm Bradbury and Angela Carter.