John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard - Conquest - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472209610
    • Publication date:26 Sep 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472221698
    • Publication date:11 Mar 2014

Conquest

By John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Biographical Notes

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472209634
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline

Every Exquisite Thing

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York TimesNanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

Headline

Empire

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

EMPIRE is the follow-up to CONQUEST in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders trilogy by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. As captivating as Pittacus Lore's I AM NUMBER FOUR; as vividly realised as Veronica Roth's DIVERGENT.She is the trophy of a civilization at war with itself.He is its rebel captive.Separated by millions of light years, they will fight to be united.And they will risk everything to make their world - all worlds - right again.

Headline

Boy21

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

A moving tale of incredible friendship for fans of Jay Asher, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and David Levithan. It's never been easy for Finley, particularly at home. But two things keep him going: his place on the basketball team and his girlfriend, Erin - the light in even the darkest of his days. Then Russ arrives. He answers only to Boy21, claims to be from outer space, and also has a past he wants to escape. He's one of the best high school basketball players in the country and threatens to steal Finley's starting position. Against all the odds, Russ and Finley become friends. Russ could change everything for Finley, both for better and for worse. But sometimes the person you least expect can give you the courage to face what's gone before ...and work out where you're going next.

Headline

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick
Headline

Sorta Like A Rockstar

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

Amber Appleton has a lot to be thankful for.OR Amber Appleton has never had it easy.Both are true. On the one hand, she's got the best friends a seventeen year old could ask for and a loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy. On the other, her mum frequently has too much to drink, Amber's never quite sure where her next meal will come from and ever since her mum's latest boyfriend kicked them out, Amber and her mum have been living in the back of a school bus.Amber has always found it easy to be upbeat, to find the light in the darkest of situations. Until, that is, an unimaginable tragedy occurs. Forced to rethink her way of life, can Amber remain a rock star of hope?This is the story of a very special teenager, whose faith and hope is tested to the limit.

Headline

This Is What Happy Looks Like

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

Scarlett Dedd

Cathy Brett
Authors:
Cathy Brett

Jennifer Ridyard

John Connolly was born in Dublin. He is the bestselling author of eighteen books, including the Charlie Parker series and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, and an editor of the prizewinning non-fiction anthology BOOKS TO DIE FOR. CONQUEST is his twentieth published book. Jennifer Ridyard was born in England and grew up in South Africa, where she worked as a journalist for many years. CONQUEST is her first novel. John and Jennifer live in Dublin.

Juliet Gardiner

Juliet Gardiner is a historian with wide academic and commercial credentials: After taking a doctorate at London University she edited History Today, was Academic Director at Weidenfeld and Nicolson and the Head of Publishing Studies at Oxford Brookes University. She has written numerous academic papers, contributed to most of the UK's national press and lectured at home and abroad. She is the author of nine books and has made two television series for Channel 4.

June Tate

June Tate was born in Southampton. After leaving school she became a hairdresser and spent several years working on cruise ships, first on the Queen Mary and then on the Mauritania, meeting many Hollywood film stars and VIPs on her travels. After her marriage to an airline pilot, she lived in Sussex and Hampshire before moving to Estoril in Portugal. June, who has two adult daughters, now lives in Sussex.

Lani Diane Rich

Lani Diane Rich is an award-winning author living in upstate New York where she, sadly, does not have a dog. Her eldest daughter is allergic. What are you gonna do? Visit her website on www.lanidianerich.com.

Peter Jinks

Peter Jinks has been a journalist (winner of the Young Journalist of the Year award), a playwright (shortlisted for the STV/Traverse comedy theatre award) and a screenplay writer (his script is in development with the BBC). He is thirty-one and lives in Sicily. HALLAM FOE is his first novel.

Polly Williams

Polly Williams launched her career as a novelist with the bestselling 'The Rise and Fall of a Yummy Mummy'. She is a freelance journalist as well as a novelist, and is married with three children. Follow her on Twitter @pollywilliams and check out her website www.pollywilliams.com

Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs grew up in Florida but now makes his home in the land of peculiar children - Los Angeles. Along the way, he earned degrees from Kenyon College and the University of Southern California's School of Cinema-Television, got married, and made some award-winning short films. He moonlights as a blogger and travel writer, and his series of travel essays, "Strange Geographies", can be found at mentalfloss.com or via ransomriggs.com.

Reay Tannahill

Born and brought up in Scotland, Reay Tannahill would have liked to have gone either to art or drama school but fell victim to the traditional Scottish passion for formal education and found herself instead at the University of Glasgow, from where she emerged with an MA in history and a postgraduate certificate in social sciences. Until her death in 2007 she lived in London.After a varied career - as a probation officer, advertising copy-writer, newspaper reporter, historical researcher and graphic designer - she was asked by the Folio Society to write a short illustrated study of Regency England. This allowed her to combine her interests in art and history and was followed by PARIS IN THE REVOLUTION, THE FINE ART OF FOOD, FOOD IN HISTORY and SEX IN HISTORY. Having spent twelve years researching and writing these last two books (translated into eleven languages), Reay Tannahill felt that a change was called for and embarked on her first historical novel, A DARK AND DISTANT SHORE, which was an instant bestseller. Her following historical novels were all critically acclaimed and included PASSING GLORY, winner of the Romantic Novel of the Year Award.

Rita Bradshaw

Rita Bradshaw was born in Northamptonshire, where she still lives today. At the age of sixteen she met her husband - whom she considers her soulmate - and they have two daughters and a son and three young grandchildren. Much to her delight, Rita's first attempt at a novel was accepted for publication, and she went on to write many more successful novels under a pseudonym before writing for Headline using her own name.As a committed Christian and passionate animal-lover Rita has a full and busy life, but her writing continues to be a consuming pleasure that she never tires of. In any spare moments she loves reading, walking, eating out and visiting the cinema and theatre, as well as being involved in her local church and animal welfare

Robert Douglas

Robert Douglas retired, aged fifty-five, in 1994. He intended to paint, write short stories and lie about the house watching old films. A one-off article he wrote about six weeks spent with a condemned man in Bristol prison led to him being told 'You should write.'His first book - the bestselling NIGHT SONG OF THE LAST TRAM - is centred around his Glasgow childhood and became the first book in the popular trilogy detailing his life as a miner, dock worker, doss-house resident, soldier, prison screw - and survivor.He hasn't painted for years.

Roopa Farooki

Roopa Farooki was born in Lahore in Pakistan and brought up in London. She graduated from New College, Oxford and worked in advertising before turning to write fiction. Roopa now lives in south-east England and south-west France with her husband, twin girls and two sons. Bitter Sweets, her first novel, was nominated for the Orange Award for New Writers 2007. Roopa's novels have been published internationally and translated into a dozen languages.