Sven-Göran Eriksson - Sven: My Story - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Sven: My Story

By Sven-Göran Eriksson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wonderfully honest and beautifully-written memoir from one of the most intriguing football managers of the last 25 years.

Perhaps no football manager has ever had his personal life dissected as thoroughly as Sven-Goran Eriksson. Yet the man that monopolized the British press during five tumultuous years as England manager remains an enigma. Who, precisely, is Sven?

Here, in his no-holds-barred autobiography, the secretive Swede takes us on one of the wildest rides in world football. Populated by fake sheikhs, Italian lawyers, Nottingham outlaws and, of course, many of the biggest names in the game, his is a 40-year-long career that coincides with the evolution of football into a global multibillion-pound industry.

Most of all, this is a surprisingly tender, sometimes heartbreaking, but never bitter account of a simple man with a most complicated story. A man who has reached a crossroads in his life, who until now has never stopped to ask himself the question: was it worth it?

Biographical Notes

Sven-Goran Eriksson's remarkable career spans four decades over as many continents. He was born in the small town of Sunne, Sweden in 1948. At the age of 34, he led mostly amateur side IFK Gothenburg to UEFA Cup victory in one of the greatest upsets in football history. He has won numerous league and cup titles in Portugal and Italy with Benfica, Roma and Lazio. In 2001, he became the first foreign manager of the England national team, reaching three consecutive quarter-finals in major tournaments. His winning record as England manager is eclipsed only by the legendary Sir Alf Ramsey. Following managerial positions at Manchester City, Mexico, Ivory Coast and Leicester, and a spell as the technical director of Al Nasr in the United Arab Emirates league, he is currently the manager of Chinese Super League club Guangzhou R&F.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472211521
  • Publication date: 05 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Wrecking Ball: A Big Lad From a Small Island - My Story So Far

Billy Vunipola
Authors:
Billy Vunipola
Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Headline

Firestarter

Ben Stokes
Authors:
Ben Stokes
Headline

Mince Pie for Starters

John Oaksey
Authors:
John Oaksey

John Oaksey has seen it all in racing, as a jockey, commentator and newspaper reporter. After a lifetime devoted to the sport he recalls the splendid characters, horses and races that have made horseracing the great passion of his life, a passion that he is so brilliantly able to convey to others. One of the most respected and loved people in the sport, partly due to his work with the Injured Jockeys' Fund, John Oaksey has a fund of fascinating and hilarious stories to tell. This book is not just a wonderful self-portrait, it is also a definitive account of racing since the war.

Headline

Alan Mullery Autobiography

Alan Mullery
Authors:
Alan Mullery

Fearless. Competitive. Controversial. Three words that sum up the football career of Alan Mullery. His passion for football is matched by a stream of anecdotes about the players that have filled his professional life, including Bobby Moore, Pele, Johnny Haynes, Jimmy Greaves and George Best. Here, for the first time, Mullery lets the reader into the secrets he has previously kept hidden: the shame of being sent off for England; the true story behind England's 1970 World Cup quarter-final defeat; how he sold one thousand Cup final tickets on the black market; the bitterness behind the cheers of Spurs' 1972 UEFA Cup victory and the naked blonde in the hotel.In addition, he relates from the heart his darkest moments, brought on by stiffling financial pressure, and how he had to look deep within himself to come through the other end.

Headline

Big Sam: My Autobiography

Sam Allardyce
Authors:
Sam Allardyce
Headline

Dan Carter: The Autobiography of an All Blacks Legend

Dan Carter
Authors:
Dan Carter
Headline

The Crossing

Kathy Watson
Authors:
Kathy Watson
Headline

Where Am I?

Phil Tufnell
Authors:
Phil Tufnell

When Phil Tufnell hung up his cricket boots back in 2003, little did he know the dramatic direction his professional life would take next.Yet since being crowned 'King of the Jungle', the ex-England spin bowler has never looked back and has become a much loved television and radio presenter. Cricket's dressing-room clown is now broadcasting's joker in the pack. Whether it's dining on mealworms on I'm a Celebrity, displaying his ballroom fleckle on Strictly Come Dancing or causing weekly mayhem for the long-suffering host Sue Barker on A Question of Sport, millions of us enjoy Tuffers' lust for life and endearing sense of humour.In Where Am I?, Phil gamely tries to make sense of the wonderful roller-coaster he has been riding these last dozen years, delighting fans with a treasure trove of wonderful stories about the places he has been, the people he has met, the 'things' he has been asked to do but - most of all - the sheer enormous joy he has had doing it all.

Tinder Press

The Railway Station Man

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston

Helen has retreated to the remote north-west coast of Ireland to paint the sea and the shore, and to be alone with her past. English war hero Roger Hawthorne has settled in the neglected railway station house nearby. Mutilated and sick at heart, with the help of a young lad he has begun painstakingly to restore the derelict branch line station. Soon Roger and Helen form a bond which, over gramophone music, dancing and champagne, deepens into love. But Helen, enjoying her first taste of happiness in years, is to learn just how brutally fleeting it can be.

Headline

Luis Suarez: Crossing the Line - My Story

Luis Suarez
Authors:
Luis Suarez

Luis Suárez was a young boy already in love with football by the time his family moved from the countryside to Uruguay's capital, Montevideo. The guile and trickery of the street kid made an impact with the country's biggest club, Nacional, before he was spotted by Dutch scouts who brought him to Europe.Suárez was lured from Ajax to Merseyside by another iconic number 7, Kenny Dalglish. From that moment, he terrorised Premier League defences, driving a resurgent Liverpool towards their most exciting top-flight season in 24 years.But there is another side to Luis Suárez: the naturally fiery temperament which drives his competitiveness on the pitch. There was the very public incident with Patrice Evra of bitter rivals Manchester United, and the biting of Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic.Then during the World Cup finals in Brazil, in a physical encounter against Italy, he bit defender Giorgi Chiellini on the shoulder. Banned from football for four months, derided by the press, he was marched out of the country.In the summer's final twist, he became one of the most expensive footballers of all time, moving from Liverpool to Barcelona. In his first season at the Nou Camp he helped Barca to La Liga and Copa del Rey titles, scoring 16 goals in 27 games.In Crossing the Line, Luis Suárez talks from the heart about his intriguing career, his personal journey from scrapping street kid to performer on football's biggest stage, and the never-say-die attitude that sometimes causes him to overstep the mark.

Headline

Making the Running

Ian Balding
Authors:
Ian Balding
Headline

The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager

Neil Warnock
Authors:
Neil Warnock
Headline

Andy Murray: Seventy-Seven

Andy Murray
Authors:
Andy Murray
Headline

Wheelmen

Reed Albergotti, Vanessa O'Connell
Authors:
Reed Albergotti, Vanessa O'Connell
Headline

Mr Struth: The Boss

David Mason, Ian Stewart
Authors:
David Mason, Ian Stewart

Bill Struth is the most celebrated Manager in the history of Rangers Football Club. In his 34 year tenure, he led the club to 30 major trophies and nurtured many of the club's greatest players. To them, he was simply 'Mr. Struth' - a father figure who guided them with the principle that, '... to be a Ranger is to sense the sacred trust of upholding all that such a name means in this shrine of football.'If these words set the ideals for his players to attain, his own personal life was clouded by moments of indiscretion which were to influence the course of his life and career. Drawing on family accounts and Rangers archives, the book explores his early life in Edinburgh and Fife, as well as his celebrated years in Glasgow. It recounts his career in professional athletics and in football with Heart of Midlothian, Clyde and ultimately, Rangers. It reflects on the legacy of the Struth era and his influences that remain at Ibrox today.

Headline

Matt Dawson's Lions Tales

Matt Dawson
Authors:
Matt Dawson
Headline

The Secret Player

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous

In the vein of Hotel Babylon and Confessions of a GP, The Secret Player will fascinate footballs fans with its wealth of insider knowledge and willingness to talk, albeit anonymously, about the inner workings of the game. Based on the hugely popular 'The Player' columns in FourFourTwo magazine, the book gives a warts-and-all insight into the daily life of professional footballers. Month by month, it chronicles the oscillating rhythms of the season, from the trudge of pre-season to the 'squeaky-bum time' of promotion and relegation. The player himself has played at all levels of English football - from Premier League to a season of non-League - and represented England.

Headline

The State We're In

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

THE STATE WE'RE IN is the stunning, emotionally powerful novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Adele Parks.What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way.She's a life-long optimist, looking for her soul mate in every man she meets; he's a resolute cynic - cruel experience has taught him never to put his faith in anyone.People can surprise you. In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn't even realise they needed.Their pasts are such that they can never make one another happy and it's when they get off the plane that their true journey begins...(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline

A Lot of Hard Yakka

Simon Hughes
Authors:
Simon Hughes

Between 1980 and 1993, Simon Hughes was a regular on the county circuit, playing for Middlesex until 1991 before moving on to Durham at the end of his career. In that time, he played alongside some of the great characters in cricket: Mike Brearley, Mike Gatting, Phil Edmonds and Ian Botham. This is not an autobiography of a good county pro, but a look at the ups and downs, the lifestyle, the practical jokes and sheer hard yakka that make such a poorly paid, insecure job appeal to so many. Now a respected journalist and broadcaster, Simon Hughes has written a brilliant, amusing and wrily self-depracating book, packed with hilarious and embarrassing anecdotes about some of the greatest cricketers of the last 20 years.