David Arnold - Mosquitoland - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472218902
    • Publication date:10 Sep 2015

Mosquitoland

By David Arnold

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A debut novel of astounding power and heart, MOSQUITOLAND is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and David Levithan.

A story of the difficulties we face and the strength we find to overcome them. For those who loved LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE, ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, and JUNO.

When her parents unexpectedly divorce, Mim Malone is dragged from her beloved home in Ohio to the 'wastelands' of Mississippi, where she lives in a haze of medication with her dad and new (almost certainly evil) stepmom.

But when Mim learns her real mother is ill back home, she escapes her new life and embarks on a rescue mission aboard a Greyhound bus, meeting an assortment of quirky characters along the way. And when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472218896
  • Publication date: 12 Mar 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
[Mosquitoland] boasts a funny, gutsy, straight-talking heroine with a distinctive voice, whose company is a blast of fresh air — Daily Mail
[Mim's] endless wise-cracking (on a road trip by Greyhound bus to visit her sick mother) is a joy — Independent - Best YA novels of 2015
Invigorating and humourous... At last a Kerouacian adventure for teenage girls — Independent
Fresh and often very endearing — Sunday Herald
At times heartwarming, heartbreaking and hilarious, but always maintaining a distinctly innocent brilliance — USA Today
There is no shortage of humor in Mim's musings, interspersed with tender scenes and a few heart-pounding surprises. Mim's triumphant evolution is well worth the journey — Publishers Weekly
[A] sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud debut novel — Wall Street Journal
[A] captivating first novel... illuminating — Washington Post
A breath of fresh air... [a novel that] bucks the usual classifications and stands defiantly alone — Entertainment Weekly
Memorable — People
A stunning debut... mesmerizing — Kirkus Reviews
Mim is possibly one of the mostly lovable YA characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading... Definitely one of the best YA novels of 2015 — The Tattoed Book
Wildfire

The Picture of Dorian Greyhound (Classic Tails 4)

Oscar Wilde
Authors:
Oscar Wilde

CLASSIC TAILS - the greatest works of literature, as told by the finest breedsWe all have our favourite classic tales; books that have been beloved to us since childhood, whose wonderful stories and rich tapestry of characters are unsurpassed in modern literature. How, you may ask, could these marvellous works ever be improved upon?Reader, ask no more...for we present The Picture of Dorian GreyhoundDorian Greyhound is the best of his breed - well-tempered, beautiful, and pure of heart. Sweet Basil Basset is an artist who worships beauty, truth and love, and he paints a portrait that reflects the very essence of Dorian's soul.But soon Dorian befriends selfish hedonist Lord Henry Wooffon, and the moral corruption of this pure creature begins. As Dorian becomes more and more naughty, he outwardly remains young and and sleek - but the portrait begins to exhibit the inward decay of Dorian's soul...

Wildfire

Romeow and Juliet (Classic Tails 3)

William Shakespeare
Authors:
William Shakespeare
Wildfire

The Great Catsby (Classic Tails 2)

F. Scott Fitzgerald
Authors:
F. Scott Fitzgerald
Headline

Kids of Appetite

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Mad Girl

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon

A new Sunday Times bestseller from Bryony Gordon, Telegraph columnist and author of the bestselling The Wrong Knickers. For readers who enjoyed Matt Haig's Reasons to Stay Alive and Ruby Wax's Sane New World, Mad Girl is a shocking, funny, unpredictable, heart-wrenching, raw and jaw-droppingly truthful celebration of life with mental illness.'I loved it. A brilliant fast and funny and frank look at something that absolutely needs to be talked about in this way' Matt HaigBryony Gordon has OCD.It's the snake in her brain that has told her ever since she was a teenager that her world is about to come crashing down: that her family might die if she doesn't repeat a phrase 5 times, or that she might have murdered someone and forgotten about it. It's caused alopecia, bulimia, and drug dependency. And Bryony is sick of it. Keeping silent about her illness has given it a cachet it simply does not deserve, so here she shares her story with trademark wit and dazzling honesty.A hugely successful columnist for the Telegraph, a bestselling author, and a happily married mother of an adorable daughter, Bryony has managed to laugh and live well while simultaneously grappling with her illness. Now it's time for her to speak out. Writing with her characteristic warmth and dark humour, Bryony explores her relationship with her OCD and depression as only she can.Mad Girl is a shocking, funny, unpredictable, heart-wrenching, raw and jaw-droppingly truthful celebration of life with mental illness.

Headline

For Holly

Tanya Byrne
Authors:
Tanya Byrne

Lola Durand hates her stepmother. It's a cliché but it's true. Lola Durand can't get through to her father. He never wants to talk about the things that matter: why they had to move to Paris, why he had to marry evil Agatha, and how they can get through the heartache of her mother's death together.If he won't listen, she'll show him. She'll show him the truth about his new wife and then her life can go back to normal, just the way she likes it. Lola Durand knows a secret about her stepmother. She's going to share it.

Headline

The Golem of Hollywood

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher.How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye.Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher.Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

Headline

Pretty Little Mistakes

Heather Mcelhatton
Authors:
Heather Mcelhatton
Headline

A Million Little Mistakes

Heather Mcelhatton
Authors:
Heather Mcelhatton

A MILLION LITTLE MISTAKES is no ordinarly novel: it has one beginning and fifty different endings that will variously surprise, shock, and delight readers as they hunt for happiness. Your story begins when you win twenty-two million dollars in the lottery. What happens next? It's entirely up to you. Do you get out of debt? Quit your job? Travel the world? Go on the shopping spree of a lifetime? The possibilities are endless! Twenty-two million dollars can buy a lot, but can it buy a happy ending?

Headline

Texts From Dog: The Dog Delusion

October Jones
Authors:
October Jones

Dog is back - the Bark Knight has risen. Unfortunately for weary owner October Jones (but luckily for us), that means there is a brand new selection of the funniest, most bizarre texts from his insane canine companion. There is also the welcome return of Batdog and CatCat (half cat, half cat), and a new 'friend' in Benedict, the creepiest pug in the world.

Headline

Screwed

Eoin Colfer
Authors:
Eoin Colfer
Headline Review

A Heart Bent Out of Shape

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline

The State We're In

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks

THE STATE WE'RE IN is the stunning, emotionally powerful novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Adele Parks.What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way.She's a life-long optimist, looking for her soul mate in every man she meets; he's a resolute cynic - cruel experience has taught him never to put his faith in anyone.People can surprise you. In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn't even realise they needed.Their pasts are such that they can never make one another happy and it's when they get off the plane that their true journey begins...(P)2013 Headline Digital

Headline Review

The Sleeper

Emily Barr
Authors:
Emily Barr

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL and Sophie Hannah. Lara Finch is living a lie.Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. When Lara vanishes from the night train without leaving a trace, only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her...

Headline

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline

Road to Rouen

Ben Hatch
Authors:
Ben Hatch
Headline

This Is What Happy Looks Like

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith

A winning combination of humour, heartbreak and romance make this a must read for fans of John Green - and lovers of Zac Efron films. When 17-year-old Graham Larkin sends an email to a friend about his pet pig, Wilbur, the last thing he expects is a response from the other side of the country, from one Ellie O'Neill. As their online friendship blossoms, they begin to reveal more about themselves but crucially leave out the truth about Ellie's past and Graham's career as a Hollywood heartthrob. And when a new location needs to be found for Graham's next film, he jumps at the chance to visit Ellie's hometown, Henley, Maine. But, now that they're together, it's impossible to keep their secrets for long and there's a lot to overcome if love is to blossom...

Headline

The Storm Makers

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith
Headline Review

The Captains and the Kings

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston

Mr Prendergast, an elderly Anglo-Irishman, is living out his last years in the decaying splendour of his family mansion. As his mind wanders through the gloom he finds it peopled with memories of his neglected wife, his pale shadow of a father, his icily glamorous mother and Alexander, the son she so jealously loved, killed in the First World War. With only his ill-tempered alcoholic gardener left to attend to him, Mr Prendergast is content to pass his days in such ghostly company. Until young Diarmid arrives, keen-eyed and carrot-haired, to disperse the gathering darkness with curiosity, and the promise of friendship.