Harriet Evans - The Wildflowers - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472221360
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472221384
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018

The Wildflowers

By Harriet Evans

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A unputdownable new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book.

Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' Best

Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.

They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.

But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.

My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.

This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Biographical Notes

Harriet Evans grew up in London. In her twenties she was lucky enough to get a job as a secretary at a publishers and instantly realised working with books was what she'd always wanted to do. She was a fiction editor for ten happy years but left in 2009 to write full-time, making up stories all day.

Harriet still lives in London with her family. She likes old films, property websites, sloe gin cocktails, feminism and Bombay Mix, not in that order.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472221377
  • Publication date: 03 May 2018
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Reminiscent of Santa Montefiore with the emotional heart of Jojo Moyes. You'll frequently find yourself uttering the words: just one more page — CultureFly
The Butterfly Summer is an amazing achievement; heart-stopping and wonderful. It's an epic, sweeping, romantic story told brilliantly... I could practically feel the butterflies brushing against my cheeks as I read — Sophie Kinsella
Loved it — Gill Hornby
[A] delightfully engrossing read. . . Romance, danger and an intriguing legacy - an ideal holiday read — The Lady
A delightfully engrossing read — Sarra Manning, Red magazine
Moving, gripping, heartbreaking — Kate Williams
Great characters, gorge house, intriguing mystery, what's not to love?! — Lucy Diamond
Multi-layered, heartbreaking and as beautiful as a butterfly wing — Veronica Henry
A crumbling house in Cornwall and a family with lots of secrets are brought to life by the evocative writing in Harriet Evans' novel The Butterfly Summer — Good Housekeeping
Gorgeous — Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stylist
Harriet Evans' writing is just perfect — Linda’s Book Bag
This absorbing, well-written book has a fairy-tale feel to it — Fabulous, Sun on Sunday
Intriguing and full of twists and turns — T*Rexes and Tiaras Blog
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
Wildfire

Today

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap

What if the last day you will always remember is today? Emma and Jonathan meet for the first time today, the morning of their twenty-third birthdays. She's gawky and wears hideous orange-and-green socks. He's cute, whimsical and recites obscure poetry. They fall in love. There's a small problem. What happens today, both good and bad, will stay with them for the rest of their lives. From tomorrow onwards, all new memories will be regularly erased by sleep. Today's the last day they will always remember. It gets worse. Emma's housemate Liz has gone missing and her boyfriend, aspiring detective Hans Richardson, has just one day to solve her case... but he doesn't know it.TODAY is a story of seized - and missed - opportunities. It's a tale of love, hope and regret. Can Hans find Liz? Can Emma and Jonathan seize the day, make the right memories to last them a lifetime? Can they work out what love is all about... before it's too late?Felicia Yap brings you the hotly anticipated prequel to YESTERDAY, the high-concept thriller sensation of 2017.'Yap is a phenomenon' - Guardian'A thrilling new voice' - Red'The one that everyone is talking about... Enthralling' - Woman & Home'A blockbuster-worthy twist... YESTERDAY stands out from the crowd' - Stylist'The intrigue of GONE GIRL and the drama of BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP - iNews

Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne
Headline

After Anna

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline
Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill

From the co-author of the No.1 bestselling Wilbur Smith novel, War Cry The Leopards of Normandy trilogy concludes as Duke William prepares to take England, and his rivals, by storm. This real-life game of thrones lead to the defining the moment of English history: Hastings, 1066, and is a must-read for fans of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Ken Follett. 'An exciting mix of medieval betrayal, violence and sex' Wilbur Smith It began with a promise. It will end at Hastings.William of Normandy, sworn heir to the English throne, is no longer the boy Duke but a loyal and proven warrior. Few dare challenge him, but England is an irresistible prize.The handsome, ambitious Harold Godwinson and the Viking Hardrada are both determined to stake a claim. William faces his greatest ever battle: deny his own destiny or conquer the land he was born to rule.History will be written in the blood of those who fall.

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline Review

Letters to My Daughters

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

Some books are guaranteed to break your heart - and lift you up. Letters to my Daughters is one of those wonderful books. If you loved Between Sisters by Cathy Kelly or Orange Blossom Days by Patricia Scanlan, this novel is for you.Throughout their lives, the three Brady sisters have always been closer to their nanny May than to their own mother, Martha a busy midwife. May always thought of them as her daughters so when she dies suddenly, the sisters are left devastated -- especially when they learn that letters intended for them from May with final words of advice and love have gone missing.But what words of advice could the sisters need?Beatrice, owner of exclusive wedding boutiques, is busy and fulfilled. Rose has a beautiful daughter, a luxurious home and a thriving interiors company. And Jeannie, married to a wealthy plastic surgeon in L.A., wants for nothing. Except that each of the sisters carries a secret ...As they gather for the reading of May's will in Dublin, they must face some life-changing decisions. Will they ever learn the words of advice May had for them and discover who took the letters?Letters to my Daughters is the spell-binding story about the complicated bonds between women -- daughters, mothers, sisters -- and how love and happiness comes in many guises.For love, laughter, tears and joy, read Emma Hannigan...

Headline Review

This Could Change Everything: Beat the January blues with the feel-good new romance from the bestselling author

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth

'Sensational' Clare Mackintosh, No 1 bestselling author of I Let You Go.'The definition of a page-turner' Sun'Truly scary' Marian KeyesMOTHER. WIFE. POLITICIAN. LIAR.THEN: How far did she go to conceal the truth?Politician Linda Moscow sacrificed everything to protect her son: her beliefs, her career, her marriage. All she wanted was to keep him safe.NOW: What will she risk to expose the lies?When the voices she silenced come back to haunt her, Linda is faced with another impossible choice. Only this time, it's her life on the line . . .An Act of Silence is about the abuse of power, the devastating effects of keeping the truth buried, and the lengths a mother will go to save her child.'Fiendishly impressive structure; taut, evocative prose; gripping plot' Sarah Vaughan, author of Anatomy of a Scandal'Brilliant, taut psychological thriller. Sensitive, muscular and it could be true. Unputdownable' Julia Crouch, author of Her Husband's Lover'Colette McBeth is beloved of writers like Paula Hawkins, and with this twisty, clever novel, she's guaranteed to win more fans' Red

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy FowlerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'Gale's concoction is irresistible: modern relationships with period charm' Armistead MaupinSeth, a musical prodigy on the eve of his sixteenth birthday, is obsessed with sex and with the men he might meet, as well as with his strange family - his arch mother, his beautiful sister, and his damaged, distant father. Mo, a policewoman struggling with moral dilemmas and her sexuality in the violent, bigoted police force of the 1980s, wants only to find romance. In this haunting tale of self discovery and hidden identities, Mo and Seth will connect to face unexpected truths about themselves, and those they have chosen to love.

Tinder Press

Notes from an Exhibition

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

A perceptive, humane and beautifully written novel of art, love and the frailty of life from the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER and the writer of BBC1's drama, MAN IN AN ORANGE SHIRT.The Richard & Judy bestseller.'Poised and pitch-perfect throughout' Mail on SundayCelebrated artist Rachel Kelly dies alone in her Penzance studio, after decades of struggling with the creative highs and devastating lows that have coloured her life. Her family gathers, each of them searching for answers. They reflect on lives shaped by the enigmatic Rachel - as artist, wife and mother - and on the ambiguous legacies she leaves them, of talent, torment and transcendent love.

Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

The Image of You: I thought I knew you. But you're a liar.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is: The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel