Jo Thomas - The Chestnut Tree (A Short Story) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Chestnut Tree (A Short Story)

An irresistible romance of love and laughter

By Jo Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Available exclusively in ebook, an irresistible short story from the author of the runaway ebook bestseller THE OYSTER CATCHER, THE OLIVE BRANCH and HONEY FARM ON THE HILL.

Treat yourself to this wonderfully funny and romantic short story by Jo Thomas, kindle bestselling author of The Oyster Catcher, The Olive Branch and Honey Farm on the Hill, available exclusively in ebook.

Praise for Jo Thomas' The Olive Branch: 'Sun, good food and romance, what more could you want?' Heat

When Ellie Russet leaves home and her restaurant in the wake of disaster to housesit in the Kent countryside, the last thing she wants to do is cook for a living - ever again.

Ellie's new neighbour, Daniel Fender, is struggling to make ends meet as a furniture maker. Could the answer to his problems lie in the chestnut orchard at the bottom of the garden?

Only Ellie can help Daniel unlock the delicious secret that will bring them the fresh starts they need. And as autumn approaches, romance will blossom amid the glowing embers of the chestnut fire...

Contains an extract from Jo's second novel, THE OLIVE BRANCH

What readers are saying about The Chestnut Tree:

'A gorgeously satisfying short tale that appeals to all the senses'

'This is a fab little story with delightful characters all played out in a beautiful rural setting'

'A lovely story. Strong characters, fast-paced plot. A joy to read'

Biographical Notes

Jo Thomas worked for many years as a reporter and producer, first for BBC Radio 5, before moving on to Radio 2's The Steve Wright Show. In 2013 Jo won the RNA Katie Fforde Bursary. Her debut novel, The Oyster Catcher, was a runaway bestseller in ebook and was awarded the 2014 RNA Joan Hessayon Award and the 2014 Festival of Romance Best Ebook Award. Jo lives in the Vale of Glamorgan with her husband and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472223753
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Praise for Jo Thomas's novels:
Sheer rom-com brilliance! — Heat
A sunny, romantic, escapist read — Woman & Home
Romantic and funny, this is a great addition to any bookshelf — Sun
Irresistibly romantic and utterly gorgeous — Miranda Dickinson
Well worth a read — Carole Matthews
Perfect escapism — Marie Claire
An utterly charming read full of rustic romance and adventureWoman magazine
A heart-warming tale — Ali McNamara
A charming and delightful slice of escapist romantic fiction — Heat
A world you long to live in with characters you love — Katie Fforde
Praise for Jo Thomas's novels:
Sheer rom-com brilliance!
A sunny, romantic, escapist read
Romantic and funny, this is a great addition to any bookshelf
Irresistibly romantic and utterly gorgeous
Well worth a read
Perfect escapism
An utterly charming read full of rustic romance and adventure
A heart-warming tale
A charming and delightful slice of escapist romantic fiction
Headline

The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff

'Bleakly beautiful. A raw emotional depth-charge of a novel' MR CareyLAST ONES LEFT ALIVE is the unputdownable debut novel from Sarah Davis-Goff, sure to grip readers of dystopian literary fiction such as STATION 11 or THE END WE START FROM.Remember your Just-In-Cases. Beware Tall Buildings. Watch Your SixRaised by her mother and Maeve on Slanbeg, an island off the west coast of Ireland, Orpen has a childhood of love, rockpools and stories by the fireside. But the stories grow darker, and the training begins. Ireland has been devoured by a ravening menace known as the skrake, and though Slanbeg is safe for now, the women must always be ready to run, or to fight.When Maeve is bitten, Orpen is faced with a dilemma: kill Maeve before her transformation is complete, or try to get help. So Orpen sets off, with Maeve in a wheelbarrow and her dog at her side, in the hope of finding other survivors, and a cure. It is a journey that will test Orpen to her limits, on which she will learn who she really is, who she really loves, and how to imagine a future in a world that ended before she was born.

Tinder Press

The Six Loves of Billy Binns

Richard Lumsden
Authors:
Richard Lumsden
Tinder Press

Looker

Laura Sims
Authors:
Laura Sims
Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's LITTLE BITS OF BABY is a charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on SundayEight years ago, Robin fled from his family, friends, and entire life, to suffer a complete breakdown in an island monastery. Now he's reconnecting with those he left behind: his mother and father, with their own small secrets, and Jake and Candida, both of whom were impossibly close to Robin when he disappeared. But while the people he abandoned have missed him, Robin finds that everything has changed. He alone can decide what he will do in this new world of resentment, possibility and triumphant love.

Headline Review

The Moment We Meet

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

A Winter Beneath the Stars

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Tinder Press

The Anatomy of Dreams

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

Friend of the Family

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke
Headline Review

How to Find Love in the Little Things

Virginie Grimaldi
Authors:
Virginie Grimaldi

'A gorgeous story, charming and funny and poignant' Nicola Cornick 'Grimaldi will capture your heart' Netgalley ReviewerFans of Jojo Moyes, Cecelia Ahern and The Little Paris Bookshop will love this funny, moving and heartwarming read from runaway summer bestseller Virginie Grimaldi.'Welcome to Ocean View. You don't know it yet, but you'll be happy here...'Julia's not running away. Not exactly. She just needs a break from Paris and Marc and all the sad stuff that's been going on lately. A little time to pull herself together.The job offer felt like a lifeline. But now she's back in Biarritz, suitcase in hand, she hasn't the faintest idea what she was thinking. What Julia doesn't yet know is there's more to the odds and ends of Ocean View than meet the eye. Behind the double doors lie broken hearts, lifelong secrets, a touch of romance and an unwavering passion for life. And sometimes it's the most unlikely of places and people who help you find your way.What readers are saying about HOW TO FIND LOVE IN THE LITTLE THINGS:'Fabulously glorious, funny and uplifting' Netgalley reviewer'The perfect book to switch off with' Amazon Reviewer'I devoured this novel' Netgaller review'Don't miss this book. I loved every word - it's an ode to life and love' Netgalley reviewer'Fantastic, feel-good summer read' Netgalley reviewer'A real delight that lingers in the head and heart' Netgalley reviewer

Headline Eternal

The Good Luck Sister: A Wildstone Novella

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

The Key

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes

'A heartbreakingly powerful read' The Sun on The Key font size="+1">'You will be thinking of this book long after you've finished it' A reader on The Key From the #1 bestselling author of the international phenomenon The Letter, Kathryn Hughes, comes The Key, an unforgettable story of a heartbreaking secret that will stay with you for ever.'A wonderful, enthralling story; one that I didn't want to end' Lesley Pearse on The Key 'Oh wow! This story broke my heart then filled it with joy then broke it all over again! I adored The Letter and The Secret but this I have to say was my favourite. Heartfelt and poignant an absolute joy' A reader on The KeyTurn The Key and unlock the past...1956 It's Ellen Crosby's first day as a student nurse at Ambergate Hospital. When she meets a young woman admitted by her father, little does Ellen know that a choice she will make is to change both their lives for ever...2006Sarah is drawn to the now abandoned Ambergate. Whilst exploring the old corridors she discovers a suitcase belonging to a female patient who entered Ambergate fifty years earlier. The shocking contents, untouched for half a century, will lead Sarah to unravel a forgotten story of tragedy and lost love, and the chance to make an old wrong right . . .It's time to discover what a million readers already know. No one grips your heart like Kathryn Hughes . . .'You will find it hard to put down. I cried buckets of tears reading it''A beautifully told, tragic tale . . . restoring your faith in the kindness of strangers and the strength of the human spirit''From start to finish, a lovely, sometimes heartbreaking read''A sheer joy to read . . . Wonderfully romantic with beautiful characters''I have finished this book with tears in my eyes but a smile on my face''I couldn't put it down. So beautifully written. I feel like I'm a better person for reading it' 'I cried with this book - it tugged at the heart all the way through''This must be one of the best books I have ever read'