Judith Lennox - Till the Day Goes Down - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Till the Day Goes Down

A gripping tale of passion and betrayal

By Judith Lennox

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Set in the turbulent Border country and in glittering, decadent Paris in the years before the Armada, Judith Lennox's epic historical tale, Till the Day Goes Down, is rich in atmosphere and intrigue.

Turbulence and passion drive an unforgettable historical epic...

16th century Europe is the setting for Judith Lennox's thrillingly epic novel Till the Day Goes Down. Perfect for fans of Rosanna Ley and Kate Morton.

As England prepares for the threat of invasion, Catholic forces in France, Scotland and Spain plan the 'Enterprise of England', weaving a cat's-cradle of intrigue around the imprisoned Mary, Queen of Scots, to bring her to the throne. In London, Sir Frances Walsingham, Elizabeth I's Secretary of State and master of espionage, pits his intellect against the forces that threaten England.

The Anglo-Scots border, too, is a battleground, an anarchic land whose people acknowledge no allegiance but to their family name. But Luke Ridley, illegitimate son of a gypsy, has no allegiances: he must earn his living in whatever way he can. He is caught up in treacheries both of his own and of Sir Francis Walsingham's making.

Into the dangerous melting-pot of Northumberland arrive Christie and Arbel Forster. Fragile, amoral Arbel is a catalyst for all the simmering tensions of the borders; Christie has her own obsession: to rediscover the family she lost years before in the terror of the French Wars of Religion. The blood-feud between the Forsters and the Ridleys has been in abeyance; now it begins to smoulder again, its embers rekindled by the passions and betrayals of the past.

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive'

'Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion'

'Five stars'

Biographical Notes

Judith Lennox grew up in rural Hampshire and studied at the University of Lancaster, where she met her husband Iain; they have three sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter. Judith lives with her husband in Cambridge.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472224026
  • Publication date: 09 Apr 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Praise for Judith Lennox: A fast-moving, complex story — The Times
A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings — Daily Mail
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book — New Books Magazine
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller — Choice Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance — Good Book Guide
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story — Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling — Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes — Sunday Express
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline

The Judith Lennox Wartime Collection

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Footprints on the Sand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Shadow Child

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Dark-Eyed Girls

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

A terrible tragedy alters three girls' friendship forever... Set in the late 1960s and 1970s, Judith Lennox's The Dark-Eyed Girls tells the story of three friends, Liv, Katherine and Rachel, and their changing relationships over the years. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Lulu Taylor.'Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings' - Daily Mail Sweet, gentle Liv, seeking perfect love, marries the man of her dreams, who almost crushes the life out of her. Cynical, pragmatic Katherine, who throws herself into her career in order to avoid domesticity, embarks upon a risky affair and is suffocated by the very dependence she has fought to avoid. And Rachel, dearly loved Rachel who wants for nothing throughout her young life, marries against her parents' will, and then meets tragedy...The bond between Liv and Katherine weakens over time, but as Katherine uncovers the awful truth about Rachel, and Liv begins to put together the pieces of her shattered life, their friendship is reaffirmed and their lives go forward with dark-eyed girls of their own. What readers are saying about The Dark-Eyed Girls: 'The way Lennox follows the lives of the three individual girls is simply enchanting... I could not put this book down''A tremendous read''Lovely, lovely book that I couldn't put down'

Headline Review

Written on Glass

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Middlemere

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

All My Sisters

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Glittering Strand

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Italian Garden

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Secret Years

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

An epic novel of a great house and the love that consumed it... Judith Lennox's The Secret Years is a moving story about life in the East Anglian Fens after the First World War. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.During the golden summer of 1914, four young people played in the gardens of Drakesden Abbey. Nicholas and Lally were the children of the great house, set in the bleak and magical Fen country; Thomasine was the unconventional niece of two genteel maiden aunts in the village; Daniel was the son of the local blacksmith, a fiercely independent, ambitious boy who longed to break away from the stifling confines of his East Anglian upbringing. As the drums of war sounded in the distance, the Firedrake, a mysterious and ancient Blythe family heirloom disappeared, setting off an uncontrollable chain of events.The Great War changed everything, and both Nicholas and Daniel returned from the front damaged by their experiences. Thomasine, freed from the narrow disciplines of her childhood, and enjoying the new hedonism which the twenties brought, thought that she could escape from the ties that bound her to both Nicholas and Daniel. But the passions and enmities of their youth had intensified in the passing years, and the four friends had to experience tragedy and betrayal before the Firedrake made its reappearance and, with it, a new hope for the future. What readers are saying about The Secret Years: 'Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive''What a page turner -a twisty turny tale!''A wonderfully written story... Couldn't put this book down'

Headline Review

The Winter House

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Some Old Lover's Ghost

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

History can repeat itself... Spanning the twentieth century, Some Old Lover's Ghost is a haunting and incredibly poignant love story from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Lucinda Riley.Rebecca, bruised from an unhappy love affair, is flattered to be asked to write the life story of distinguished Dame Tilda Franklin. Tilda was born in 1914 and grew up in a remote Fenland village, the illegitimate daughter of the local squire and a maid in the Big House. It was Tilda's misfortune to fall in love with handsome, devil-may-care Daragh Canavan, and to be betrayed by him.As Rebecca delves deeper into Tilda's life, and as the events of the past send ghostly echoes to the present, parallels with her own experience begin to emerge. And as she is drawn into a family history of loves and tragedies almost too painful to write about, her involvement with the family becomes more overwhelming than she could ever have imagined. What readers are saying about Some Old Lover's Ghost: 'Wonderful book, couldn't put it down and beautifully written''A warm believable story''Five stars'

Headline Review

Reynardine

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

One Last Dance

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

The Turning Point

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

The past changes you forever... The Turning Point is a gripping novel of passion, intrigue and ambition, set against the backdrop of 1950s Britain from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Lulu Taylor and Rachel Hore.Cambridge, 1952. When Ellen Kingsley embarks upon an exciting career in scientific research she soon finds herself caught in a bitter world of rivalry and ambition. Resisting the advances of charismatic Mark Pharaoh, who will stop at nothing in his pursuit of success, she moves to London and falls in love with dashing Alec Hunter. Then a chance encounter introduces Pharaoh to Ellen's old school friend, the captivating India Mayhew, and they embark upon a passionate love affair that leaves destruction in its wake. And amid a web of deceit and desire, long-held secrets will be revealed with far-reaching consequences... What readers are saying about The Turning Point: 'An engaging, warm and involving romantic saga to sink into while you are relaxing on holiday, curled up on the sofa or tucked up in bed''An engaging story, with a wonderful mix of mystery and romance''[This book] has everything a good story should have'

Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

The enthralling novel from Victoria Hislop, the million-copy bestselling author of THE ISLAND and THE RETURN.Thessaloniki, 1917. As Dimitri Komninos is born, a devastating fire sweeps through the thriving Greek city where Christians, Jews and Muslims live side by side. Five years later, Katerina Sarafoglou's home in Asia Minor is destroyed by the Turkish army. Losing her mother in the chaos, she flees across the sea to an unknown destination in Greece. Soon her life will become entwined with Dimitri's, and with the story of the city itself, as war, fear and persecution begin to divide its people.Thessaloniki, 2007. A young Anglo-Greek hears his grandparents' life story for the first time and realises he has a decision to make. For many decades, they have looked after the memories and treasures of the people who were forced to leave. Should he become their next custodian and make this city his home?

Headline Review

A Step In The Dark

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox