Una-Mary Parker - False Promises - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

False Promises

By Una-Mary Parker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A scandalously sinful, unputdownable thriller by bestseller Una-Mary Parker, available in ebook for the first time.

Toby and Liza Hamcroft share a life of wealth, privilege and marital bliss. Parents of three adorable children, members of Lloyd's of London, and part of England's elite - not a day goes by without Liza counting her blessings. Then her life is thrown into turmoil when Toby disappears without a trace.

Lloyd's, where Toby is a successful broker, is suffering huge insurance losses and as the syndicates start to crash, Liza realises the implications could be catastrophic for those involved. Disaster for her brother Freddy whose wife Melissa is only after his money; ruin for Sir Humphrey and Lady Rosemary Davenport who put their trust in Toby; and humiliation for her parents who are set to lose everything.

As the days go by, Liza frantically searches for clues to Toby's whereabouts. But who can she turn to for help? Toby's colleagues show concern, but can they be trusted? When events take a more sinister turn Liza realises she must take the law into her own hands if she is to find her husband before it is too late ...

Biographical Notes

A former journalist for the Daily Mail and Evening Standard, and social editor of the Tatler for ten years, writer and broadcaster Una-Mary Parker is a bestselling author whose glamorous, stylish and irresistible novels have been published throughout the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472224828
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
This novel has everything - intrigue, romance, ambition, lust . . . — Daily Mail
Deliciously entertaining — Sunday Telegraph
A meticulous reconstruction of a society at play — Evening Standard
A compulsive romantic thriller — Sunday Express
Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in A BRUSH WITH DEATH, the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Quintin Jardine's compelling novels: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' Glasgow HeraldWhen millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. The charismatic young Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status. A long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive?Suspecting links to organized crime, the Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation. They have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police force, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long, long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming...(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

A Christmas Escape (Christmas Novella 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

The House on Sunset Lake

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

Tenacity

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law

Tenacity has been recently republished in ebook as The Dark Beneath.The debut novel from J.S. Law, featuring new series lead Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, has been heralded as 'addictively readable' by Patricia Cornwell, 'pacey, claustrophobic and utterly thrilling' by Eva Dolan and 'breathlessly plotted' by Emlyn Rees. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide.A sailor hangs himself on board a naval submarine. Although ruled a suicide Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, the Navy's finest Special Branch investigator, knows the sailor's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now Dan must enter the cramped confines of HMS Tenacity to interrogate the tight-knit, male crew and determine if there's a link.Standing alone in the face of extreme hostility and with a possible killer on board, Dan soon realises that she may have to choose between the truth and her own survival. The pressure is rising and Dan's time is running out...

Headline Review

Career Game

Louise Mensch
Authors:
Louise Mensch

The Career Girls are back. In Love. In Business. In the City. Music mogul Rowena Krebs is now a legend - she's even made it to the Hall of Fame. Her old rival, now best friend, Topaz Rossi, is the designer clad top dog at American Magazines. Both women are happily married - and life seems sweet. But things are changing: Rowena senses a shift, both in business and maybe on the home front. Topaz knows her circulation figures are dropping, but not what is wrong with her husband. And when you wear the crown, hidden enemies lurk in the shadows - waiting for the moment to strike. Never women to be knocked aside, Topaz Rossi and Rowena Krebs are alive and kicking. And they're determined to show it.

Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman

The gripping sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog. The epic tale of one young woman racing to save the man she loves during one of history's darkest hours. For fans of The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.' 'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity on Prisoner of Night and Fog Gretchen Muller has three rules for her new life:1. Blend into the surroundings2. Don't tell anyone who you really are3. Never, ever go back to GermanyGretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. When she made an enemy of her former friends, she fled Munich for Oxford with her love, Daniel Cohen. But then a telegram calls Daniel back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down when he is accused of murder. To save Daniel, Gretchen must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture by the Nazi elite. As they work to clear Daniel's name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler find them first?

Headline

Luis Suarez: Crossing the Line - My Story

Luis Suarez
Authors:
Luis Suarez
Headline

A New York Christmas (Christmas Novella 12)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Rich Rewards

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker

This exclusive e-short story is the sizzling prequel to Una-Mary Parker's internationally bestselling novel, Riches, available now in ebook.Born and brought up in the poorest part of San Francisco, Joni Marks has always dreamed of becoming a movie star. She craves the fame, the glamour and the wealth. And she'll do anything to get what she wants.Now, on the night of the Oscars, as Hollywood's most famous film director, Hunt Kellerman, walks towards her on the red carpet, she knows that he's her destiny. And nothing is going to stand in her way.

Headline

A Dangerous Desire

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker
Headline

Dark Passions

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker

Antonia Murray, at thirty-two, realises most of her friends are getting married and having babies, while she is devoting her life to her company, Murray Properties Ltd, which restores and sells beautiful period buildings in Central London. Her hard work over the past ten years has paid off: she owns a smart flat in Knightsbridge, designer clothes, a BMW and she can holiday anywhere in the world.Suddenly it isn't enough. She longs to settle down with a loving man and start a family of her own. But how is she going to meet the man of her dreams? Despite her brother's warnings, she places an advert in the personal columns and when she sees the intelligent eyes and warm smile of Colin Holbrook in the photograph he sends her, she's convinced she's found the one. But appearances are often deceptive and Antonia is about to discover that the dating game can be a dangerous, if not deadly, affair . . .

Headline

Secrets of the Night

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker

We are all conjurors in our own way, Julia thought as she looked at Douglas, the man who had created a fairy tale world for them. But was it an illusion?It is their wedding anniversary and Douglas and Julia Rutherford are giving the party of the year. With their family and friends gathered around them, it seems nothing can jeopardise their happiness. But even Douglas cannot conceal the turmoil caused by the arrival of an uninvited guest, whose revelation of a shameful secret forces them to come to terms with betrayal, a tragic death and a charge of murder from which there is no magical escape. Their love for each other takes on a new dimension but whether they can survive depends on their ability to face the truth.

Headline

Broken Trust

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker

When widower Nick Driver announces that he is getting remarried, his two sons and two daughters are utterly devastated. They find it hard to accept that their beautiful mother, who died tragically only a year ago, can be replaced this quickly, particularly by Philippa who is so young.Nick wants Philippa to have all that money can buy, but when he decides to sell the family home he has no idea that his new wife will become an unwitting catalyst in a family feud. Nor that the domino effect that follows will cause a deep rift and finally the death of one of them . . .

Headline

Sweet Vengeance

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker
Headline

Moment of Madness

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker
Headline

Only the Best

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker
Headline

A Guilty Pleasure

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker

When Charlotte Taylor meets the reckless David Farrell she knows life is never going to be the same again. Spending Christmas together at Chelwood Grange, the Farrells' magnificent Wiltshire home, Charlotte discovers that jealousy and deceit overshadow the family's merriment. Who does David's father visit in the dead of night? Has David's brother Christopher really kicked his guilty habit, and is he fit to care for his five-year-old daughter Holly? And why is David's mother so on-edge . . .?When Christmas is over, Charlotte and David return to London, and the harrowing time in Wiltshire is forgotten. Then tragedy strikes at Chelwood Grange and little Holly is missing. David is inconsolable in his grief but it is not long before Charlotte suspects that the man she is falling in love with is the man she should most fear. Surely, her doubts are unfounded . . .

Headline

Taking Control

Una-Mary Parker
Authors:
Una-Mary Parker