Una-Mary Parker - False Promises - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

False Promises

By Una-Mary Parker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A scandalously sinful, unputdownable thriller by bestseller Una-Mary Parker, available in ebook for the first time.

Toby and Liza Hamcroft share a life of wealth, privilege and marital bliss. Parents of three adorable children, members of Lloyd's of London, and part of England's elite - not a day goes by without Liza counting her blessings. Then her life is thrown into turmoil when Toby disappears without a trace.

Lloyd's, where Toby is a successful broker, is suffering huge insurance losses and as the syndicates start to crash, Liza realises the implications could be catastrophic for those involved. Disaster for her brother Freddy whose wife Melissa is only after his money; ruin for Sir Humphrey and Lady Rosemary Davenport who put their trust in Toby; and humiliation for her parents who are set to lose everything.

As the days go by, Liza frantically searches for clues to Toby's whereabouts. But who can she turn to for help? Toby's colleagues show concern, but can they be trusted? When events take a more sinister turn Liza realises she must take the law into her own hands if she is to find her husband before it is too late ...

Biographical Notes

A former journalist for the Daily Mail and Evening Standard, and social editor of the Tatler for ten years, writer and broadcaster Una-Mary Parker is a bestselling author whose glamorous, stylish and irresistible novels have been published throughout the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472224828
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
This novel has everything - intrigue, romance, ambition, lust . . . — Daily Mail
Deliciously entertaining — Sunday Telegraph
A meticulous reconstruction of a society at play — Evening Standard
A compulsive romantic thriller — Sunday Express
Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in A BRUSH WITH DEATH, the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Quintin Jardine's compelling novels: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' Glasgow HeraldWhen millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. The charismatic young Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status. A long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive?Suspecting links to organized crime, the Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation. They have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police force, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long, long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming...

Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves - along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Karen Rose returns with the break-neck follow-up to MONSTER IN THE CLOSET, and the sixth book in the heart-pounding Baltimore Series. Has Thomas Thorne met his match in bloodthirsty gang boss Cesar Tavilla? Or, perhaps, in his beautiful best friend, Gwyn Weaver...?Intense, complex and unforgettable - James PattersonFast and furious - SunA high-octane thrill ride - Lisa Jackson

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressDespite air raids and rationing in wartime London, sisters Liz and Dora Beck find time for fun and laughter at the local ice-rink. Then a handsome American serviceman catches their attention, and so begins heartache between the sisters. Dora is increasingly jealous of her sister's blossoming romance with Victor. But when Victor is killed in a bomb attack, Liz makes a shocking discovery that upsets her whole family. Forced out of her home, Liz finds support where she least expects it. And, with almost nothing left to lose, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline Home

Va Va Voom

Jackie Lynch
Authors:
Jackie Lynch

Are you TATT (Tired All The Time)? If this sounds familiar, it's time to take action with Jackie Lynch's 10-day energy-boosting diet. Whether you're 29 or 69, it's more than likely that your diet and lifestyle are the main reasons for feeling so tired and that simple changes to what you eat will help your energy levels to flourish again. This book will give you an easy-to-follow food plan to help you beat the 21st-century's most common syndrome in just 10 days.Chapters include:Why have I lost my Va Va Voom?What sort of tired are you? Do you need more vitality, strength, endurance, focus or concentration? Simple nutrition quizzes to help you to identify the potential underlying causes. Va Va Voom boosters Bite-sized information about the foods and lifestyle factors that can boost energy. Va Va Voom robbersThe foods and factors that reduce your energy levels. The 10-day Va Va Voom energy planHow to use this plan; foods to enjoy; foods to avoid; 10-day meal planner; shopping list The Va Va Voom maintenance planA long-term plan that you can fit in with your daily routine after the first 10 days. More of an 80-20 approach than the stricter 10-day plan.Va Va Voom recipesOver 50 recipes to get you started.

Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline Review

Another Woman's Husband: From the #1 bestselling author of The Secret Wife a sweeping story of love and betrayal behind the Crown

Gill Paul
Authors:
Gill Paul

USA Today bestselling author of The Secret WifeANOTHER WOMAN'S HUSBAND is the latest gripping novel from Gill Paul. 'A triumph' Dinah Jefferies on The Secret Wife.Two women, divided by time, bound by a secret...1911. Aged just fifteen, Mary Kirk and Wallis Warfield meet at summer camp. Their friendship will survive heartbreaks, continents, and the demands of the English crown, until it is shattered by one unforgivable betrayal...1997. Kendall's romantic break in Paris with her fiance is interrupted when the taxi in front crashes suddenly. The news soon follows: Princess Diana is dead. Trying to forget what she has witnessed, Kendall returns home, where the discovery of a long-forgotten link to Wallis Simpson, the Duchess of Windsor, will lead her to the truth of a scandal which shook the world...Richly imagined and beautifully written, ANOTHER WOMAN'S HUSBAND is a moving novel about two women thrust into the spotlight, haunted by love and loss.

Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and unputdownable new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Milly Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...Bestselling author Jill Mansell's new novel THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING is coming in January 2018.

Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker

Uncover the secrets of Edward Fairfax Rochester, the beloved, enigmatic hero of Jane Eyre, as he tells his story for the first time in Mr Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker's gorgeous retelling of one of the most romantic stories in literature.

Tinder Press

Love and Trouble: Memoirs of a Former Wild Girl

Claire Dederer
Authors:
Claire Dederer

A hilarious, confrontational and moving story of one woman's attempts to navigate her way through the challenges of mid-life, for lovers of HOW TO BE A WOMAN and I'M NOT WITH THE BAND. 'Claire Dederer is not only a brilliant author, but an honest and brave one' Elizabeth Gilbert, author of EAT, PRAY, LOVEClaire Dederer's youth was wild, an endless cascade of beer and rock and acid and sex that left her benumbed and adrift. But then, after two decades of disciplined transformation, she'd become a successful writer, a faithful wife, and a mother - a real adult. That is, until one morning at 44, she found herself overcome by the same sexual cravings and ineffable sadness of her younger years. The hedonistic girl, 'that crazy bitch', was back - or had she never left?Frank and disarming, seductive and hilarious, Love and Trouble: A Mid-life Reckoning is Dederer's attempt to reckon with those urges, and to reconcile the girl she'd been with the woman she's become.

Headline Review

Keep Me Safe: The most heartwarming, romantic winter read of 2017 (Seal Island)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

Tenacity

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline Review

Jane Steele

Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman
Headline Review

A Perfect Heritage

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi