Una-Mary Parker - Taking Control - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Taking Control

By Una-Mary Parker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A scandalously sinful, unputdownable thriller by bestseller Una-Mary Parker, available in ebook for the first time.

Sophie was an impressionable twenty-one-year-old when she married millionaire businessman Brock Duvall and was swept away on a tide of luxury and sophistication. But over the years she has learned that life with a man twice her age is not what she had hoped for. She feels the need to break away from the confines of her hapless marriage, and Brock, knowing he can no longer govern his beautiful wife, sets her free. It is time for Sophie to take control.

Launching a career as an antiques dealer, Sophie opens a shop in Knightsbridge, and with the help of her two bubbly colleagues, Frankie and Katie, she watches the business thrive. Sadly, her sister, Audrey, is not so fortunate. Her own marriage is on the rocks and she is spurred into a desperate act of rebellion . . .

As Sophie begins to get her life back on track, she hopes that one day she will meet a man with whom she is truly compatible. Then Tim Calthorpe, her teenage heart-throb, re-enters her life, giving her hope that they may have a future together. But sinister events follow and Sophie is unable to shake off the fear that someone is trying to jeopardise her one chance of true happiness . . .

Biographical Notes

A former journalist for the Daily Mail and Evening Standard, and social editor of the Tatler for ten years, writer and broadcaster Una-Mary Parker is a bestselling author whose glamorous, stylish and irresistible novels have been published throughout the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472224835
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
This novel has everything - intrigue, romance, ambition, lust . . . — Daily Mail
Deliciously entertaining — Sunday Telegraph
A meticulous reconstruction of a society at play — Evening Standard
A compulsive romantic thriller — Sunday Express
Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves - along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

A chilling, lavishly illustrated who's-who of the most despicable people ever to walk the earth, featuring both rare and best-loved stories from the hit podcast Lore, soon to be an online streaming series. Here are the incredible true stories of some of the mortals who achieved notoriety in history and folklore through horrible means. Monsters of this sort - serial killers, desperate criminals, and socially mobile people with a much darker double-life - are, in fact, quite real . . . including H. H. Holmes, the infamous Chicago serial killer; William Brodie, the Edinburgh criminal mastermind who inspired The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; and Bela Kiss, a Hungarian tinsmith with a most disturbing hobby: collecting women in gasoline drums. As Aaron Mahnke reminds us, sometimes the truth is even scarier than the lore.

Headline Home

Va Va Voom

Jackie Lynch
Authors:
Jackie Lynch

Are you TATT (Tired All The Time)? If this sounds familiar, it's time to take action with Jackie Lynch's 10-day energy-boosting diet. Whether you're 29 or 69, it's more than likely that your diet and lifestyle are the main reasons for feeling so tired and that simple changes to what you eat will help your energy levels to flourish again. This book will give you an easy-to-follow food plan to help you beat the 21st-century's most common syndrome in just 10 days.Chapters include:Why have I lost my Va Va Voom?What sort of tired are you? Do you need more vitality, strength, endurance, focus or concentration? Simple nutrition quizzes to help you to identify the potential underlying causes. Va Va Voom boosters Bite-sized information about the foods and lifestyle factors that can boost energy. Va Va Voom robbersThe foods and factors that reduce your energy levels. The 10-day Va Va Voom energy planHow to use this plan; foods to enjoy; foods to avoid; 10-day meal planner; shopping list The Va Va Voom maintenance planA long-term plan that you can fit in with your daily routine after the first 10 days. More of an 80-20 approach than the stricter 10-day plan.Va Va Voom recipesOver 50 recipes to get you started.

Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart' The Times'Absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant' Max PorterI AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

Headline Review

Another Woman's Husband: From the #1 bestselling author of The Secret Wife a sweeping story of love and betrayal behind the Crown

Gill Paul
Authors:
Gill Paul
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERCartes Postales from Greece is an extraordinary new book from Victoria Hislop, the Sunday TimesNumber One bestselling author of The Island, The Return, The Thread, and The Sunrise. It is fiction in full colour - magical and unique.'Hislop's passionate love of the country breathes from every page' Daily MailWeek after week, the postcards arrive, addressed to someone Ellie does not know, each signed with an initial: A.These alluring cartes postales of Greece brighten her life and cast a spell on her. She decides she must see this country for herself. On the morning Ellie leaves for Athens, a notebook arrives. Its pages tell the story of a man's odyssey through Greece. Moving, surprising and sometimes dark, A's tale unfolds with the discovery not only of a culture, but also of a desire to live life to the full once more. Beloved, bestselling author Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece is fiction illustrated with photographs that make this journey around Greece, already alive in the imagination, linger forever in the mind.

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

Mr Rochester

Sarah Shoemaker
Authors:
Sarah Shoemaker

Uncover the secrets of Edward Fairfax Rochester, the beloved, enigmatic hero of Jane Eyre, as he tells his story for the first time in Mr Rochester, Sarah Shoemaker's gorgeous retelling of one of the most romantic stories in literature.

Tinder Press

Love and Trouble: Memoirs of a Former Wild Girl

Claire Dederer
Authors:
Claire Dederer
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe: The most heartwarming, romantic winter read of 2017 (Seal Island)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner's next thriller following her runaway New York Times bestseller Find Her takes her wildly popular brand of suspense to new heights.Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives.Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified as the killer. Telly Ray Nash is on the hunt for Sharlah and as the death count rises it becomes clear that nothing and no-one, including Pierce and Rainie, will stop him getting to her.Now, Sharlah has one chance to take control. She can run for her life... or turn and face the danger right behind her.

Headline

Tenacity

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law

Tenacity has been recently republished in ebook as The Dark Beneath.The debut novel from J.S. Law, featuring new series lead Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, has been heralded as 'addictively readable' by Patricia Cornwell, 'pacey, claustrophobic and utterly thrilling' by Eva Dolan and 'breathlessly plotted' by Emlyn Rees. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide.A sailor hangs himself on board a naval submarine. Although ruled a suicide Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, the Navy's finest Special Branch investigator, knows the sailor's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now Dan must enter the cramped confines of HMS Tenacity to interrogate the tight-knit, male crew and determine if there's a link.Standing alone in the face of extreme hostility and with a possible killer on board, Dan soon realises that she may have to choose between the truth and her own survival. The pressure is rising and Dan's time is running out...

Headline Review

Jane Steele

Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman
Headline Review

A Perfect Heritage

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi