Maggie O'Farrell - Maggie O'Farrell: A Reader's Guide - free digital compendium - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Maggie O'Farrell: A Reader's Guide - free digital compendium

By Maggie O'Farrell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

MAGGIE O'FARRELL: A READER'S GUIDE is a free digital compendium introducing readers to the unforgettable world of Maggie O'Farrell

This free digital collection brings together extracts from Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel Award-winner Maggie O'Farrell's six novels. Whether you're discovering Maggie O'Farrell for the first time or revisiting your favourite novels, this collection showcases the work of one of the most critically acclaimed and commercially successful writers at work today. Follow #DiscoverMaggie to find out more.

Special bonus material: find out what inspired Maggie to write her haunting debut, After You'd Gone, and the bestselling Instructions for a Heatwave.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472225030
  • Publication date: 31 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
The Riordans will stay in your mind long after you finish this book. They're funny, infuriating and impossible not to love. They feel like family — Irish Times
My favourite kind of novel: big-hearted, psychologically complex and utterly gripping — Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Unputdownable — Joanna Briscoe, Guardian
Instantly appealing...magical — Daily Telegraph
Masterful...holds you on an exquisite knife-edge — Marie Claire
An author at the top of her game — Sunday Express
O'Farrell's language is lissom, airborne, mostly seamless, her characters flawed, contradictory, aggravating and instantly knowable. This is a deceptively easy, effortlessly true-feeling novel; a total delight — Metro
A quite wonderful novel...at once enthralling, page turning and atmospheric — Irish Examiner
Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

THIS MUST BE THE PLACE: Exclusive Chapter Sampler

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Read for free the first chapter of Maggie O'Farrell's new novel, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, and discover for yourself why this book is garnering so much attention and praise. 'Inventive, moving and hilarious. I loved it' Rachel Joyce'Destined to be one of the most acclaimed books of 2016' Hannah Beckerman'Magnificent... perceptive, profound and page turning' Cathy RentzenbrinkMeet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex-film star given to shooting at anyone who ventures up their driveway.He is also about to find out something about a woman he lost touch with twenty years ago, and this discovery will send him off-course, far away from wife and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?Maggie O'Farrell's seventh novel is a dazzling, intimate epic about who we leave behind and who we become as we search for our place in the world.

Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave: Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2013

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline Review

The Perfect Man

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

From bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan comes a captivating novel about family ties, romance and leaving the past behind.Two very different sisters, Mia (still in love with Alejo, the married father of her daughter) and Britt (the ice maiden, who has ironically written a romantic bestseller), join a luxury honeymoon cruise in the Caribbean where Britt is the guest lecturer. Also on board are recently widowed Leo, still reeling from the discovery of his wife's betrayal just before her death, and Steve, a ship's officer who's soon looking for more than a holiday romance with Mia. Can Steve replace Alejo and is there any chance that Britt and Leo can see that they really should get together? When the characters head for home - Mia to Spain, the others to Dublin - it seems that all romantic options are off, especially as Leo rashly got engaged to glamorous, man-eating Pippin while at sea. But love has a way of triumphing in Sheila O'Flanagan's novels, even if it takes till the very last page...

Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Winner of the 2010 Costa Novel Award and a Sunday Times bestseller, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE by Maggie O'Farrell is a gorgeously written story of love and motherhood from the author of THIS MUST BE THE PLACE.When the sophisticated Innes Kent turns up on her doorstep, Lexie Sinclair realises she cannot wait any longer for her life to begin, and leaves for London. There, at the heart of the 1950s Soho art scene, she carves out a new life. In the present day, Elina and Ted are reeling from the difficult birth of their first child. Elina struggles to reconcile the demands of motherhood with her sense of herself as an artist, and Ted is disturbed by memories of his own childhood that don't tally with his parents' version of events. As Ted begins to search for answers, an extraordinary portrait of two women is revealed, separated by fifty years, but connected in ways that neither could ever have expected.

Headline

Skinner's Mission (Bob Skinner series, Book 6)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Skinner must help a criminal in order to catch a killer, in this sixth novel in the bestselling Edinburgh crime series. When an Edinburgh car showroom is torched, leaving a charred body among the burnt-out luxury cars, Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner wonders if a life of crime has finally caught up with one of the city's most elusive villains. But the corpse turns out not to be that of Jackie Charles, the owner of the showroom, but his wife Carole. Skinner now finds himself on the same side as his old enemy in the search for the killer...

Tinder Press

My Lover's Lover

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline Review

Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

Wicked Pleasures

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

Aftershock (Bob Skinner series, Book 18)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline Review

Small Island

Andrea Levy
Authors:
Andrea Levy
Headline

Skinner's Ghosts (Bob Skinner series, Book 7)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When the hunter becomes the prey... Skinner faces the greatest, most personal tests of his career in Skinner's Ghosts, a gripping crime thriller and the seventh book in Quintin Jardine's highly praised DCC Bob Skinner series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid. Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner could be forgiven for thinking not only that someone up there doesn't like him, but that someone down here is out to get him. Suffering the strain of a marriage on the rocks, the last thing he needs is for his private life to be plastered across the front pages of a sleazy tabloid. To make matters worse, two brutal murders and new allegations about Skinner himself make simultaneous headlines. As time ticks away, Skinner faces the greatest, and most personal, tests of his career. Unless he can clear his name and uncover the secret behind the series of brutal crimes, he stands to lose everything: his family, his career and even his life and liberty. What readers are saying about Skinner's Ghosts: 'The storyline is a real treat... my jaw dropped when the end game finally unveiled itself''A fast paced, shocking novel with a heart-stopping ending''Quintin Jardine has the ability to weave a marvellously good story that keeps you page turning long after you should have put the book down'

Headline

Thursday Legends (Bob Skinner series, Book 10)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Old scores are settled in blood... A brutal and apparently motiveless murder leads Skinner to suspect his own friends of treachery in Thursday Legends, the gripping crime novel of retribution and ultimate justice from acclaimed writer Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.'This gritty, fast-paced mystery will pin even the most squeamish readers to the page' - Publishers WeeklyFor Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner, the Thursday night football game at the local gym has long been an unbroken ritual. With each match the players are a little older, a little slower, but as fiercely competitive as a gang of teenagers. Until the savagely mutilated body of a former player is found, and suddenly the Thursday Legends have more to worry about than aching backs and dodgy knees. Former Head of Special Branch Alec Smith made plenty of enemies during his long career - and there is no shortage of suspects. But as Skinner's investigation gathers pace, everything keeps pointing to the Legends themselves. Is someone targeting this disparate group of colleagues and friends in some bizarre scheme of retribution? Or is the murderer one of them? Either way, the hunt for the killer is going to come uncomfortably close to home... What readers are saying about Thursday Legends: 'Superb plotting, excellent, believable three-dimensional characterisation and a detective who's just tougher, scarier and more ingenious than the rest - and a flawed family man to boot''From the first page till the last it is a very hard book to put down''Five stars'

Headline Review

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Fallen Gods (Bob Skinner series, Book 13)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

When a body is found after a flood, the secrets of a tempestuous life surface with it. Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner has kept the existence of his hated brother Michael hidden for years. As he relives their past conflict, other demons threaten his future. For not only are his professional enemies circling, but Sarah, his wife, seems set on a course for calamity. Can Skinner surmount the greatest challenges of his life... and if he does, will he ever be the same? Meanwhile, in an Edinburgh art gallery, his team confront a shocking and very public case of arson. Was it a political protest, or something much deeper?

Headline Review

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The groundbreaking debut novel from Maggie O'Farrell, AFTER YOU'D GONE is a stunning, best-selling story of wrenching love and grief.A distraught young woman boards a train at King's Cross to return to her family in Scotland. Six hours later, she catches sight of something so terrible in a mirror at Waverley Station that she gets on the next train back to London.AFTER YOU'D GONE follows Alice's mental journey through her own past, after a traffic accident has left her in a coma. A love story that is also a story of absence, and of how our choices can reverberate through the generations, it slowly draws us closer to a dark secret at the family's heart.