Louise Brown - The Himalayan Summer - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472226136
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472226112
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017

The Himalayan Summer

The heartbreaking story of a missing child and a true love

By Louise Brown

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

From the author of EDEN GARDENS, an Indian story of love, obsession and the quest to find a child - for all fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE.

THE HIMALAYAN SUMMER is a spellbinding novel of the British Raj period, the quest to find a child, and a love story beyond boundaries - for all fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE and of Louise Brown's earlier novel, EDEN GARDENS.

'Beautifully written, you can smell the spices, feel the heat, and your heart will break. You will laugh, cry and you will want a sequel' Lovereading.com

Ellie Jeffreys arrives in Darjeeling with her British husband, en route to Kathmandu. They have ten-month-old, golden-haired twins, and despite appearing to be a happy family, Ellie's relationship with the overbearing, philandering Francis is disintegrating.
At a cocktail party, Ellie meets Hugh Douglas, a maverick explorer and botanist. Despite the rumours surrounding Hugh,Ellie is drawn to him. A year later, Nepal is devastated by a catastrophic earthquake and in a falling building, Ellie is forced to make an instant, and terrible, decision: she has time to save only one of her children. When she returns for her son's body the next day, it has gone. Ellie knows he cannot have disappeared; someone, somewhere has her child, and it is to Hugh that she turns for help.

Biographical Notes

Louise Brown has lived in Nepal and travelled extensively in India, sparking her enduring love of South Asia. She was a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Asian Studies at the University of Birmingham, where she worked for nearly twenty years. In research for her critically acclaimed non-fiction books she's witnessed revolutions and even stayed in a Lahore brothel with a family of traditional courtesans.

Louise has three grown-up children and lives in Birmingham.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472226129
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Fans of Dinah Jeffries will love this debut novel from a writer who used to live in Nepal and sets the scene so well that you can feel the smouldering heat and smell the spices — Red
Drawing the reader into the exotic landscapes of India, Nepal and Tibet, this sweeping saga is a compelling read — Lady
Headline Review

Private Lies

Muna Shehadi
Authors:
Muna Shehadi
Headline Review

Summer of Secrets

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

'The perfect summer read' Liz TrenowThe heart-breaking and unforgettable new novel from Nikola Scott about two women born decades apart caught up in dark secrets. Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.August 1939At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives...TodayChloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband's devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she's drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything...Praise for Nikola Scott:'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous'An intriguing twisting story with a lush opening and beautifully descriptive writing throughout. I loved it' Dinah Jefferies'Beautifully written' Daily Mail'Compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written...trembles with family secrets. I adored it' Victoria Fox'An emotional and involving story' Woman & Home'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly'I loved this touching exploration of love and its capacity for consolation and destruction... compelling and satisfying. It was beautifully written' Judith Lennox

Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Another Woman's Husband

Gill Paul
Authors:
Gill Paul
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline Review

Arthur: Prince of the Roses

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline Review

Victoria

Daisy Goodwin
Authors:
Daisy Goodwin
Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

HEART AND HOME is a poignant saga of shop girls in 1930s Liverpool from Lyn Andrews, the Sunday Times bestselling author of FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE and THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.Cathie Kinrade is all too used to hardship. Growing up on the Isle of Man in the 1930s, she sees her da set sail daily on dangerous seas while her mam struggles to put food on the table. Cathie has little hope for her own future, until a chance encounter changes her fortunes for ever. Fiercely determined, Cathie leaves for Liverpool, a bustling modern city full of possibility. With a lively job as a shop girl in a grand department store, and a firm friend in kind-hearted Julia, Cathie has found her niche. But the discovery of an explosive secret could put everything at risk. And when love comes calling, Cathie's new friends fear that she may be set to trust the wrong man with her heart...

Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir
Headline Review

The Jeweller's Wife

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Eden Gardens

Louise Brown
Authors:
Louise Brown
Headline Review

Written on Glass

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

Can anything break the ties that bind? Two families are torn apart by love, secrets and betrayal in the aftermath of the Second World War in Judith Lennox's spellbinding novel Written on Glass. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.It is 1946 and the old families of the Temperleys and the Chancellors have been neighbours on the South Coast of England for many years. Now the younger generation has been touched by the Second World War. Reserved, principled and cool-headed Marius Temperley has left the army and is struggling to fit into civilian life. His twenty-one year old sister, Julia, is quick-tempered, proud and passionate and, since her father's recent death, has been running the family business, fiercely independent in her ambitions. Handsome, but emotionally distant Jack Chancellor has been demobbed and has another problem to face. Both he and his younger, more naive and impetuous brother Will, are in love with Julia. Jack doesn't want to lose her, but his sweet, slightly gawky cousin, Topaz, lets slip that their imperious Aunt Carrie has a plan for him: if he leaves Julia, he will inherit Sixfields, the beautiful family farm. As the years go by, the family secrets come out, and it seems that the ties that bind can change relationships for ever... What readers are saying about Written on Glass: 'Beautifully written, poignant and haunting... a book that I have never forgotten''I couldn't put this book down, and I look forward to reading more from this wonderful author''One of the best books I have ever read'

Headline Review

Middlemere

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies... Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy's life for ever... What readers are saying about Judith Lennox: 'Ideal escapism''[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings''Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned'

Headline Review

The Secret Years

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Some Old Lover's Ghost

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Reynardine

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Headline Review

Theft of Life

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson
Headline Review

The Fortune Hunter

Daisy Goodwin
Authors:
Daisy Goodwin

In 1875, Sisi, the Empress of Austria is the woman that every man desires and every woman envies. Beautiful, athletic and intelligent, Sisi has everything - except happiness. Bored with the stultifying etiquette of the Hapsburg Court and her dutiful but unexciting husband, Franz Joseph, Sisi comes to England to hunt. She comes looking for excitement and she finds it in the dashing form of Captain Bay Middleton, the only man in Europe who can outride her. Ten years younger than her and engaged to the rich and devoted Charlotte, Bay has everything to lose by falling for a woman who can never be his. But Bay and the Empress are as reckless as each other, and their mutual attraction is a force that cannot be denied. Full of passion and drama, THE FORTUNE HUNTER tells the true story of a nineteenth century Queen of Hearts and a cavalry captain, and the struggle between love and duty.

Headline

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline Review

The Paris Winter

Imogen Robertson
Authors:
Imogen Robertson

Imogen Robertson's break-out novel - a deep, dark and opulent tale of Belle Époque Paris, and the secrets and dangers hidden beneath its luxurious facade. Maud Heighton came to Lafond's famous Académie to paint, and to flee the constraints of her small English town. It took all her courage to escape, but Paris eats money. While her fellow students enjoy the dazzling joys of the Belle Époque, Maud slips into poverty. Quietly starving, and dreading another cold Paris winter, Maud takes a job as companion to young, beautiful Sylvie Morel. But Sylvie has a secret: an addiction to opium. As Maud is drawn into the Morels' world of elegant luxury, their secrets become hers. Before the New Year arrives, a greater deception will plunge her into the darkness that waits beneath this glittering city of light.