Sarah Hilary - Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4) - Headline Publishing Group

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

By Sarah Hilary

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. A vigilante is at loose on the streets. A child is in danger. Sometimes staying silent is the only way to survive...

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. For fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Claire Mackintosh

'Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan' Alex Marwood

'Tremendous' Ian Rankin

It's winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it's personal.

Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472226440
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Hilary belts out a corker of a story, all wrapped up in her vivid, effortless prose. If you're not reading this series of London-set police procedurals then you need to start right away — Observer, Thriller of the Month
Sarah Hilary writes beautifully and unflinchingly; a dark, disturbing and thought-provoking chiller of a thriller — Peter James
Sarah Hilary's debut, Someone Else's Skin,was widely acclaimed and won lots of awards. Quieter Than Killing, her fourth, is even more impressive, and DI Marnie Rome is up there in the top division of fictional female detectives — The Times
Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan — Alex Marwood
Descriptively chilling, completely addictive and with a set of characters and storylines that just dig deep into your subconscious and stay there. Sarah Hilary, with the Marnie Rome series, is without doubt one of the top UK crime writers working today — Lizlovesbooks
It's dark, it's brilliant, and it tightens like a noose. Sarah Hilary is downright dangerous. — Mick Herron
Another tense and chilling book by one of my favourite authors. I was up way past my bedtime devouring each page — Tracy Fenton, Founder of THE Book Club and www.compulsivereaders.com
A compelling read, emotionally intense and intelligent. I love her fierce, flawed characters — Cath Staincliffe
As tense, twisty, tremendous as ever, Sarah Hilary's QUIETER THAN KILLING nails it — Angela Clarke
Hilary's writing is as precise and deadly as a fine blade. Quieter Than Killing is by turns terrifying and tender, with a twisty, gripping plot where no good deed goes unpunished. This is a fine addition to a superb series — Jane Casey
The most poignant entry in the series so far — Sunday Express, S Magazine
Well written, well researched and full of issues that set you thinking, Quieter Than Killing is as impressive as it is gripping — Book Oxygen
Hilary writes with a menacing intensity...[a] dark, atmospheric novel layered with complexities, keeping the reader guessing throughout and its twist will undoubtedly take your breath away. You will finish the book desperate to read more. — Daily Express
Masterful — Woman & Home
It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel — Julia Crouch
I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!) — Caro Ramsay
Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment — Cath Staincliffe
It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit — Steven Dunne
It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax — Helen Dunmore
I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious — Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books