Alison Weir - Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227478
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227515
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227492
    • Publication date:05 May 2016

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

Six Tudor Queens 1

By Alison Weir
Read by Maggie Mash

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir is writing six stunning novels about the Six Queens of Henry VIII drawing on new research

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine's side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' - Tracy Borman

A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen.

Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers.

She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother.
She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection.

KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.

(P)2016 Headline Digital

Biographical Notes

Alison Weir is one of the UK's bestselling and most respected historians and lives and works in Surrey.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472227508
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming — Herald Scotland
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series — Queen Anne Boleyn Blog
Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine . . . meticulously researched — The Times
Captivating. . . The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work — Jaffareadstoo Blog
This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife — Good Housekeeping
Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching — Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail
The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy . . . a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history — The Lady magazine
This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII . . . Fascinating — S Magazine (Sunday Express)
Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her. . . The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth — The Book Bag
Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter — Choice magazine
Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective — Lancashire Evening Post
Engrossing and meticulously researched . . . Katherine's life and world are brought vividly to life — Choice magazine