Claire McGowan - The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472228277
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472228253
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

The Killing House (Paula Maguire 6)

An explosive Irish crime thriller that will give you chills

By Claire McGowan

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's highly acclaimed series. When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more. For fans of Sharon Bolton's DAISY IN CHAINS and Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE.

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in THE KILLING HOUSE, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. For fans of Sharon Bolton's DAISY IN CHAINS and Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE. Peter James calls her novels 'astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying'.

When a puzzling missing persons' case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.

Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the nineties, and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.

As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.

When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.

Biographical Notes

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472228246
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Headline
A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills — Sunday Express
A brilliantly executed thriller with a haunting and atmospheric setting. Spine tingling — Sunday Mirror
A spine-tingling, brilliantly haunting and atmospheric thriller — People magazine
A complex, disturbing, resonant novel that remains light on its feet and immensely entertaining — Irish Times
Page-turning — Guardian
The best of the Paula series yet; weird, intriguing, gripping and original — Stav Sherez
A reminder why McGowan has been described as Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell — Independent
This is a powerful and disturbing novel — Book Oxygen
I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant — Erin Kelly
An intelligent and thought-provoking read and I can't WAIT to see where Paula goes from here! — My Chestnut Reading Tree blog
Another great story in an increasingly impressive series — Louise Reviews blog
The perfect mix of drama, intrigue and mystery along with a dash of Northern Irish and Irish history — Ginger Book Geek blog
Nail-biting! The creepy and harsh setting . . . made the events on this island and its inhabitants even more chilling — Chillers, Killers and Thrillers blog
McGowan has created a world evocative enough to get lost in — Real Crime magazine