Matthew Quick - Every Exquisite Thing - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472229571
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472229564
    • Publication date:31 May 2016

Every Exquisite Thing

By Matthew Quick

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The powerful new novel from Matthew Quick, author of Oscar-nominated THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, is an honest and authentic exploration of love, rebellion and belonging, for readers who loved THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York Times

Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.

A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

Biographical Notes

Matthew Quick (aka Q) is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, which was made into an Oscar-winning film. His work has been translated into thirty languages and has received a PEN/Hemingway Award Honorable Mention. Q lives with his wife, novelist/pianist Alicia Bessette, on North Carolina's Outer Banks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472229533
  • Publication date: 31 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Original, compelling, uplifting. Quick celebrates the power of ordinary, flawed human beings to rescue themselves and each other. His writing is shot through with wit and humanity and an ultimately optimistic view of people, without ever becoming sentimental — Graeme Simsion, author of THE ROSIE PROJECT
A shrewd reconfiguring of the American Dream, in which freedom opens the door not to monetary riches but to self-discovery — Financial Times
Quick creates beautifully well-rounded characters, particularly Nanette, whose first-person narrative, rich with wry observations and a kaleidoscope of meaningful emotions, offers great insight into the mind of a teen on a sometimes sluggish, spiraling path toward sorting herself out — Booklist
Quick's nuanced story of rebellion and its cost will appeal to fans of Stephen Chbosky and John Green — School Library Journal
Quick continues to excel at writing thought-provoking stories about nonconformity... [he] paints a compelling portrait of a sympathetic teenager going through the trial-and-error process of growing up. — Publishers Weekly
A strong, well-written female protagonist sets this coming-of-age novel apart — Kirkus
All of the elements of this novel work together to make this an outstanding coming-of-age story — Voya
Simply exquisite...captivating...touching and relatable...a wonderful heroine...Quick's latest is amazing — Winnipeg Free Press
Wildfire

The Picture of Dorian Greyhound (Classic Tails 4)

Oscar Wilde with Eliza Garrett
Authors:
Oscar Wilde with Eliza Garrett
Wildfire

Romeow and Juliet (Classic Tails 3)

William Shakespeare with Eliza Garrett
Authors:
William Shakespeare with Eliza Garrett
Wildfire

The Great Catsby (Classic Tails 2)

Eliza Garrett
Authors:
Eliza Garrett
Wildfire

Pugs and Prejudice (Classic Tails 1)

Jane Austen with Eliza Garrett
Authors:
Jane Austen with Eliza Garrett

CLASSIC TAILS - the greatest works of literature, as told by the finest breedsWe all have our favourite classic novels; books that have been beloved to us since childhood, whose wonderful stories and rich tapestry of characters are unsurpassed in modern literature. How, you may ask, could these marvellous works ever be improved upon?Reader, ask no more...for we present Pugs & PrejudiceMrs Bennet has five unmarried daughters, living in a house that can only be inherited by a male heir. The Bennet litter must be married off soon - but to whom?Adorable Mr Bingley seems like a perfect match for beautiful and sweetly tempered Jane Bennet; and perhaps his dashing but aloof companion Mr Darcy might be just right for her witty sister Elizabeth?Or perhaps not...This book has everything you adored about Jane Austen's classic novel - the wit, the warmth, the love story - with everything the original lacked - namely, a colourful cast of adorable pugs dressed head to paw in Georgian clothing. Turns out Mr Darcy is even more lovable with a fuzzy muzzle.

Headline

We Need To Talk

Chris Steed, Stephen Webb
Authors:
Chris Steed, Stephen Webb

Chris and Stephen off Gogglebox are known and loved by millions of viewers for their outrageous humour, filthy language and adorable sausage dogs. But there's a lot more to them than that. The ex-partners have both had their fair share of ups and downs, and here in their joint memoir they carry us through their experiences on a wave of hilarious back-and-forth conversations and killer one-liners. From their childhoods:(Stephen: "Going to allotment was something we'd look forward to. Especially when it got dark and we used to nick everyone's vegetables"Chris: "We lived in this flint house on the edge of the cemetery, and not surprisingly it was really haunted.")To finding fame on Gogglebox, nothing is off-limits.Funny, frank and pretty ridiculous, this is the perfect book for any Gogglebox fan.

Headline

Mad Girl

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon
Headline

Kids of Appetite

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold

KIDS OF APPETITE by David Arnold is a tragicomedy of first love and devastating loss for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven. In the Hackensack Police Department, Vic Benucci and his friend Mad are explaining how they found themselves wrapped up in a grisly murder. But in order to tell that story, they have to go way back... It all started when Vic's dad died. Vic's dad was his best friend, and even now, two years later, he can't bring himself to touch the Untouchable Urn of Oblivion that sits in his front hall. But one cold December day, Vic falls in with an alluring band of kids that wander his New Jersey neighbourhood, including Mad, the girl who changes everything. Along with his newfound friendships comes the courage to open his father's urn, the discovery of the message inside, and the epic journey it sparks.(P)2016 Random House Audio

Headline

Mince Pie for Starters

John Oaksey
Authors:
John Oaksey
Headline Home

Anxiety Rebalance

Carl Vernon
Authors:
Carl Vernon
Headline

Dominion

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline

Mosquitoland

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Hello, Goodbye, And Everything In Between

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith

One night. A life-changing decision. And a list...Of course Clare made a list. She creates lists for everything. That's just how she is.But tonight is Clare and Aidan's last night before college and this list will decide their future, together or apart.It takes them on a rollercoaster ride through their past - from the first hello in science class to the first conversation at a pizza joint, their first kiss at the beach and their first dance in a darkened gymnasium - all the way up to tonight.A night of laughs, fresh hurts, last-minute kisses and an inevitable goodbye.But will it be goodbye forever or goodbye for now?

Headline Review

The Olive Branch

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Anne Blankman
Authors:
Anne Blankman

The follow-up to Anne Blankman's fantastic PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG, a powerful, fast-paced thriller set in the shadowy and dangerous world of Nazi Germany. The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year ago, she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich to live in Oxford, posing as an ordinary German immigrant. Her love, Daniel Cohen, is a reporter in town, and Gretchen is content. Then a telegram sends Daniel back to Germany, and her world turns upside-down when she learns that Daniel is wanted for murder. To save him, she must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture and recognition by her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as she and Daniel work to clear his name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler discover them first?(P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Headline

Empire

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard

EMPIRE is the follow-up to CONQUEST in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders trilogy by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. As captivating as Pittacus Lore's I AM NUMBER FOUR; as vividly realised as Veronica Roth's DIVERGENT.She is the trophy of a civilization at war with itself.He is its rebel captive.Separated by millions of light years, they will fight to be united.And they will risk everything to make their world - all worlds - right again.

Headline

The Geography Of You And Me

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith

For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME is a story for anyone who's ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who's searched for home and found it where they least expected it.Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking... The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland they can't shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can't, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy - and pain - of first love. And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.

Headline

CRYPT: Guardians' Reckoning

Andrew Hammond
Authors:
Andrew Hammond

The fifth in Andrew Hammond's fast-paced and action-packed CRYPT series, for fans of CHERUB, YOUNG BOND and Darren Shan.Jud Lester is the Covert Response Youth Paranormal Team's star agent. When the police are unable to solve a crime, they call in CRYPT. But with four deadly and dangerous missions behind them, can Jud and the team get to the bottom of yet another mystery?

Headline

The Golem of Hollywood

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

A burned-out L.A. detective . . . a woman of mystery who is far more than she seems . . . a grotesque, ancient monster bent on a mission of retribution. When these three collide, a new standard of suspense is born.The legend of the Golem of Prague has endured through the ages, a creature fashioned by a sixteenth-century rabbi to protect his congregation, now lying dormant in the garret of a synagogue. But the Golem is dormant no longer. And for Detective Jacob Lev the mystery of how he spent last night pales in comparison the one he's about to be called upon to solve.

Tinder Press

Between Gods

Alison Pick
Authors:
Alison Pick
Headline

Boy21

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick