Monica Wood - Ernie's Ark - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Ernie's Ark

By Monica Wood

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

One small town, nine unforgettable stories: a beautiful collection from the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY, perfect for readers of ELIZABETH IS MISSING and A SPOOL OF BLUE THREAD.

A heart-wrenching story collection from the acclaimed author of THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY Monica Wood, ERNIE'S ARK tells the story of a small town's people, determined to survive... Perfect for those who love reading Anne Tyler, Joanna Cannon and Emma Healey. 'Loving character portraits... help us understand the human condition' Boston Globe

Abbott Falls, Maine, a town once drenched with ordinary hopes and dreams, is now praying for a small drop of good fortune. Ernie Whitten - out of a job and tending to his ill wife - needs it more than most. Struck with sudden inspiration, Ernie builds a giant ark in his backyard. It is a work of art, a vessel to carry them both away, and a plea to God to spare Marie, come hell or high water.

As the ark takes shape, the rest of the town carries on. There's Dan Little, sent to fine Ernie for building the ark, who makes a significant discovery about himself. Francine Love is a precocious thirteen-year-old who longs to be part of a family. And CEO Henry John McCoy, an impatient man determined to be a good father to his twenty-six-year-old daughter. The people of Abbott Falls will try their best to hold their community together, against the fiercest of odds...

Biographical Notes

Monica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472232007
  • Publication date: 23 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Piercingly beautiful... Intelligent and warm-hearted... Quietly wonderful fiction — Cleveland Plain Dealer
A masterpiece... Wood's stories are filled with light and hope — Titan Magazine
Wood handles each voice with such grace... Her prose is careful yet still quivers — San Francisco Chronicle
Loving character portraits that form [these] stories help us understand not only the people of Maine but also the human condition — The Boston Globe
Praise for THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY: Beautifully written, cleverly constructed, at times hilariously funny and ultimately deeply affecting - this should be a smash' — Sunday Mirror
Clever, intricate plot, beautifully sketched characters and life-affirming message of self-discovery — Stylist
A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations — Daily Mail
Curl up and enjoy this bewitching novel — Woman & Home
This inspirational tale of friendship, world records and following dreams is a stunner — Heat
Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas

If you loved The Rosie Project and A Man Called Ove, this charming, quirky and moving novel will be right up your street. This is not an ordinary love story, and Sam Holloway is not your typical hero. But he is a hero . . .Sam Holloway has survived the worst that life can throw at you. But he's not really living. His meticulous routines keep everything nice and safe - with just one exception . . .Three nights a week, Sam dons his superhero costume and patrols the streets. When Sam is a superhero, he feels invincible - but his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous, situations. Then a girl comes into his life, and his ordered world is thrown into chaos . . . and now Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to finally take off the mask.This is a heart-breaking story about grief, loss and loneliness. But, more than that, it's a story about love, and the life-changing power of kindness.

Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

The unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS. 'Exquisite' Joanna CannonIt begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things.And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael,who are inseparable.And the boys become men,and then Annie walks into their lives,and it changes nothing and everything.Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living.

Headline Review

Any Bitter Thing

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is: The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

My Only Story

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

Secret Language

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

The unforgettable novel about a boy in a million - and the 104-year-old woman who saves his family.Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily MailThe story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school?So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades. One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again. 'A bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places' Good Housekeeping.

Headline Review

When We Were the Kennedys

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood
Headline Review

A Woman in a Million

Monica Wood
Authors:
Monica Wood

Bernardine Kennedy

Bernardine Kennedy was born in London but spent most of her childhood in Singapore and Nigeria before settling in Essex, where she still lives with her husband Ian. She also has a son, Stephen, and daughter, Kate. Her varied working life has included careers as an air hostess, a swimming instructor and a social worker. She has been a freelance writer for many years, specialising in popular travel features for magazines. Her previous novels, Everything is Not Enough, My Sisters' Keeper, Chain of Deception, Taken, Old Scores and Past Chances, are also available from Headline.

Candida Clark

Candida Clark was born in 1970. She has written film-scripts, short stories and journalism, and reviews regularly for various newspapers.

Charlotte Hughes

Charlotte Hughes is the author of many acclaimed romance and comedy novels. With Janet Evanovich she wrote the bestselling Max Holt novels Full House, Full Tilt, Full Speed and Full Blast. She lives in South Carolina, USA.

Christina Schwarz

Christina Schwarz's novels include the Oprah Book Club selection Drowning Ruth, which was an international bestseller. Born and raised in rural Wisconsin, USA, she lives in southern California.

Crime Files

Bringing you killers and their captors - from the Crime Team at Hodder, Headline and Quercus. Dedicated to quality Crime & Thriller writing, from the publishers of Martina Cole, John Grisham, Peter May & many more. Crime Files is a dedicated community, created by Hodder, Headline and Quercus, where all you crime and thriller writing fans can get together and share your passion for thrillingly good books. Plus you can get in on the case and have access to all the latest news, reviews, interviews and highly confidential information. What are you waiting for? Join the club. It would be criminal not to.www.crimefilesinternational.comwww.facebook.com/CrimeFiles

Daisy Goodwin

Daisy Goodwin's work as a TV producer and presenter includes Reader I Married Him, Bookworm and The Nation's Favourite Poems; she is also the creator of Grand Designs and wrote the script for ITVs Victoria . She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir as well as two novels, My Last Duchess and The Fortune Hunter. Goodwin reviews regularly for the Times and Sunday Times and writes a bibliotherapy column for the Daily Mail.

Deirdre Purcell

Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland's National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards.

Domenica De Rosa

Domenica de Rosa started her career working at the Bookseller, and went on to work in children's publishing, in publicity and in editorial. Under the name Elly Griffiths she is the author of the acclaimed and bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series of mysteries, and the Stephens and Mephisto mysteries. Domenica is half-Italian and loves the Tuscan coast, although she mainly settles for Brighton, where she lives with her husband, their twins and their cat.

Giles Waterfield

Giles Waterfield was brought up in Paris and Geneva. Having worked at the Royal Pavilion in Brighton and for sixteen years as Director of Dulwich Picture Gallery in London, in 1996 he abandoned arts administration in order to write, teach and curate exhibitions. His first novel, THE LONG AFTERNOON, won the McKitterick Prize in 2001.

Helen Walsh

Helen Walsh is the author of three previous novels, Brass, which won a Betty Trask Award, Once Upon a Time in England, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, and Go To Sleep. She lives on Merseyside.

Jack McDevitt

Jack McDevitt is a former naval officer, taxi driver, English teacher, and motivational trainer, and is now a full-time writer. Eleven of his novels have been Nebula finalists, and SEEKER won the award in 2007. In 2015 Jack won the Robert A. Heinlein Award, given an author of outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. McDevitt was selected as the winner in recognition of his body of work, which includes over 21 novels and 81 short stories.McDevitt lives in Georgia with his wife Maureen.