G X Todd - Defender - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472233110
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472246653
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017

Defender

The most gripping read-in-one-go thriller since The Stand (The Voices Book 1)

By G X Todd

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The primal battle between Good and Evil plays out in a new arena. With nods back to Stephen King's The Stand, Defender is the first in a four part series where your inner voice might kill you.

Defender by G X Todd is an imaginative thriller that draws on influences from Stephen King, Clive Barker and Neil Gaiman to create a new world - where the biggest threat mankind faces is from the voice inside your own head. If you loved The Stand, you'll love Defender, the first in a four-part series.

'So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book' John Connolly

'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child

'On the cusp of sleep, have we not all heard a voice call out our name?'

In a world where long drinks are in short supply, it's dangerous to listen to your inner voice.

Those who do, keep it quiet.

But one man listens to the voice in his head telling him to buy a lemonade from the girl sitting on a dusty road.

There is a reason why Pilgrim and Lacey must cross paths.

They just don't know it yet . . .

#HearTheVoices

Biographical Notes

G X Todd is a librarian from the West Midlands. Since completing a history degree at Birmingham University, she has worked for public libraries for more than a decade and currently holds an HGV licence because she drives a 35-foot-long library van around the borough.

Defender is her first novel and the first in a four-part series featuring Pilgrim and Lacey.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472233103
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Headline
Compelling, suspenseful, and altogether extraordinary. You won't forget this one in a hurry — Lee Child
So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book — John Connolly
A chilling vision of a world gone feral, yet strangely triumphant. You can taste the dust and blood and sweat; the fear on every page. Readers should approach with caution, those voices will burrow into your head and heart — Karen Maitland
An incredibly accomplished and impressive debut. The novel is of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand. . . Defender stands head and shoulders above most recent post-apocalyptic offerings — Independent
It's not often you read a debut this assured, this confident. Defender is simply majestic — Adam Christopher, author of Made to Kill
Defender is insane, intelligent, beautifully plotted, intensely absorbing and will enfold you in a vice-like grip from the first page until the last sentence — Lizlovesbooks.com
A rich blend of horror and heart . . . sharp, gruelling and gripping, and we can't wait to explore this harsh world further and see what Todd has to offer us in part two — SciFiNow magazine
Highly entertaining . . . Defender portrays a vivid picture of the cruelty of humanity and highlights the destructive power of the mind — thebookbag.com
Defender is a delightfully dark dystopian journey with compelling characters and a provocative plot. Highly recommended — sfbook.com
Yes it's dark, violent and blood. Yes there's gore, guns and grief. But there's also friendship, loyalty, fantastic characters and writing that will keep you hooked from the outset. . . This is a series to be really excited about — strupag.com
Extremely refreshing . . . a brilliant thriller — Starburst magazine
Defender is lifted way above the other novels in the over-subscribed post-apocalyptic subgenre by Todd's sympathetic characterisation, and superb pacing — Guardian
G X Todd is not just going to be "The Next Big Thing", she's going to be the benchmark for other "Next Big Things" — ebookwyrm.blogspot.co.uk
Post-apocalyptic amazingness — Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The Truth
Promises to be the start of a wonderful series. A superb debut novel — bluebookballoon.blogspot.co.uk
Quite simply an unputdownable page-turner. Seek it out! — booksmonthly.co.uk
The best dystopian novel I have read for a long time. . . This book made me laugh and cry and was impossible to put down — bookerworm.com
Defender is one of those absolute rarities - a book by a debut author that is genuinely mind-blowing — mikecraven.co.uk
Wow. . . A brilliant debut novel. . . I can't wait for the next book in the series — jacob-reviews-books.blogspot.co.uk
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke

Set to be the thriller of the summer in 2018, THE TALL MAN is a gripping blend of dark psychological suspense and spine-tingling chills that will have you checking the corners of your room before bed. Ideal for fans of Ruth Ware's IN A DARK, DARK WOOD, Sarah Pinborough's BEHIND HER EYES and C. J. Tudor's THE CHALK MAN.THE TALL MAN TAKES DAUGHTERS...SADIESadie Banner has been haunted by the Tall Man in the shadows since she was a child. Terrified of what he might make her do to her baby daughter, she abandons her family. Sixteen years later, she returns, but she can never escape his voice in her head.AMBERTwo years later, a film crew follows beautiful, unnerving Amber Banner on a media tour of Los Angeles. She's just been acquitted of a murder charge in a case that held the world's attention. But who did she kill - and why?

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

The Girl I Used To Be

Mary Torjussen
Authors:
Mary Torjussen
Headline

After Anna

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline
Headline Eternal

What Are You Afraid of?

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

What Are You Afraid Of? is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.She's learned all about killers... Now he'll teach her how to die... They aren't the kind of women anyone misses. Truck-stop hookers, runaways...no one would even notice they'd disappeared if the killer didn't photograph their lifeless bodies, posed in the back of a semi-trailer. Exactly like the infamous Trucker murders. But this isn't just a copycat. It's a vendetta. Carmen Jacobs interviewed the world's most terrifying serial killers for her bestselling book, The Heart of a Predator. The police might not believe her, but she knows there's a monster out there, paying homage to other murderers. The only person who can predict where he'll strike next is Griffin Archer - a reclusive software millionaire with ample reason not to help her. Carmen has charmed her way past Griffin's defenses before. He didn't intend to let it happen again. But with a psycho sending her trophies of his kills, he has no choice but to get involved. The clues point to a killer obsessed with Carmen - someone who knows her work, her past, her secrets. Someone who won't be satisfied until he has made all her deepest fears come true...Look for more page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy with Pretend You're Safe, out now.

Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Wildfire

The Broken Girls

Simone St. James
Authors:
Simone St. James

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones

Stephen Lloyd Jones - acclaimed author of THE STRING DIARIES and THE DISCIPLE - returns with a brand-new supernatural thriller. THE SILENCED will thrill and delight fans of Stephen King, Sarah Lotz and Lauren Beukes.'Original, richly imagined and powerfully told' Guardian on The String Diaries'So gripping you'll want to read late into the night; so terrifying you shouldn't' Simon Mayo on The String DiariesMallory Grace just killed a man. To survive the next hour, she'll have to kill again. To survive the night, she'll need a miracle. Obadiah Macintosh doesn't seem like a miracle. He is a recluse who works alone at an animal sanctuary, and he has a secret. When the dogs in his care alert him to intruders hidden by the darkness, he knows they are coming for him.Mallory and Obadiah were strangers, brought together for one purpose. To give new light to a terrifying world.But now they are on the run, and evil intends to find them.THE SILENCED is fast-paced, dark and electrifying - the war between good and evil is brewing.

Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning
Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline Eternal

Pretend You're Safe

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy
Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

'Gripping, claustrophobic and often deeply unsettling, Close To Me exerts a magnetic pull from its first pages' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl In The Photograph.She can't remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.Dramatic psychological suspense for fans of Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed.When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia - she's lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?She can't remember what she did - or what happened the night she fell.But she's beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.

Headline

Playing With Death: A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller (Introducing FBI Agent Rose Blake)

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Headline

Defiance

J. S. Law
Authors:
J. S. Law
Headline

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

Jen Williams
Authors:
Jen Williams