Anne Perry - An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234162
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234131
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

A thrilling journey into the dark streets of Victorian London

By Anne Perry

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An Echo of Murder is the twenty-third novel to feature Anne Perry's much-loved detective William Monk and his intrepid wife Hester, as they battle the crime ridden streets of Victorian London.

The killer's hallmark is clear; can Monk now stop a community being targeted?

The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the twenty-third novel in the William Monk series An Echo of Murder. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.

'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction... truly remarkable' - New York Times

London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...

Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence...

What readers are saying about the William Monk Mysteries:

'Perry is an agile word painter - so perfectly describing the sights and sounds of Victorian London from the dark Limehouse area to the posh West End that one feels transported to a different time and place'

'The reader becomes immersed in the tension'

'The characters are believable, the storyline ingenious and the reader [is kept] guessing right to the end'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472234148
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Anne Perry: Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction... truly remarkable — New York Times
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery — Yorkshire Evening Post
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses — New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters — Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better — San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing — Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes — Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context — Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist — The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer — Seattle Weekly