Anne Perry - An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234148
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234131
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

A thrilling journey into the dark streets of Victorian London

By Anne Perry

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From the master of Victorian crime comes the 23rd thrilling Victorian mystery featuring William and Hester Monk.

The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the 23rd novel in the William Monk series, AN ECHO OF MURDER.

London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...

Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472234162
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline
Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction... truly remarkable — New York Times
There is a freshness about [Perry's] writing which makes it truly exceptional and I was gripped until the final page. Death on Blackheath was one of the best books I've read this year and I cannot recommend it highly enough — Eurocrime
Much more than a whodunit, [A Sunless Sea], possibly the author's best yet, is especially effective at providing a nuanced look at a vital controversy of the day — Publishers’ Weekly
The investigation concludes in a hold-your-breath trial... A brilliant Victorian police procedural in which well-realized characters and settings are fascinating in themselves — Booklist
Headline

Untitled William Monk Mystery, Book 25

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Revelation (Christmas Novella 16)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Triple Jeopardy (Daniel Pitt Mystery 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The second thrilling mystery in an exciting new generation of Pitt novels, from the New York Times bestselling author and queen of Victorian crime, Anne Perry. 'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction' New York Times Daniel Pitt is delighted that his sister is visiting London with her American husband Patrick, a policeman, and their young daughters. But Patrick's trip has another purpose, for which he enlists Daniel's help.Philip Sidney, a young British diplomat, is accused of robbery and assault in Washington, but he has taken diplomatic immunity and fled to England. The perfect opportunity to obtain justice presents itself when Sidney is accused of a small embezzlement at the British Embassy in the USA, but as Daniel digs deeper into the case it becomes clear that vengeance is involved.When a witness is murdered in America suspicion of guilt falls on Sidney. But is somebody trying to frame him? And, if so, who and why? Daniel follows a trail that uncovers another murder, and leads from Washington to the idyllic Channel Islands, then to a dramatic scene in court that almost defies belief...

Headline

A Christmas Return (Christmas Novella 15)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Revenge in a Cold River (William Monk Mystery, Book 22)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A Christmas Escape (Christmas Novella 13)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Escaping to Stromboli for Christmas, Charles Latterly never expected to find himself in grave danger... Set in Italy in 1866, A Christmas Escape is Anne Perry's thirteenth festive Victorian novella. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.December, 1866. Charles Latterly, Hester Monk's brother, travels to Italy to spend Christmas on the volcanic island of Stromboli. In his secluded mountain hotel a curious group of people have gathered, and Charles senses a brittle strain between some of his fellow guests as they visit the crater of the island's famous rumbling volcano.While the guests prepare for Christmas, the volcano threatens to erupt, and they realise they must leave at once. As they plan their escape, with Charles thrust reluctantly into leading the group to shelter, one of their number is found dead. But if this is murder, there is a killer in their midst, and Charles must navigate a path to safety... What readers are saying about A Christmas Escape: 'An interesting and exciting read... the characters were well drawn and the story was tense and well plotted''A well written novella with a furiously fast ending, much enjoyed''Perry creates such wonderful descriptions... that places come to life under her deft hand'

Headline

Treachery at Lancaster Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 31)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

When their own lives are at risk, some people will do anything to survive... Corridors of the Night is the twenty-first exceptional historical thriller featuring William and Hester Monk, from the Queen of Victorian crime Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.'Pulls no punches and depicts Victorian London in all its corrupt glory' - Bookreporter One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, Nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She's from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying.While William Monk's River Police fight to keep London safe from gun-runners, Hester takes on a new role at the hospital, helping to administer a secretive new treatment. But she slowly realises that this experimental cure is putting the lives of the children at risk. Attempting to protect the young victims, she comes under threat from one rich, powerful, and very ill man who is desperate to survive... What readers are saying about Corridors of the Night: 'I truly could not put this book down. The suspense had me in the edge of my seat and the subject matter had me hooked!''A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London''Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read'

Headline

Paragon Walk (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 3)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Rutland Place (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 5)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Will the dangerous persistence of Charlotte and the quiet patience of Inspector Thomas Pitt make it possible to solve this most macabre and chilling mystery? Anne Perry's Rutland Place is the fifth novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, which sees the duo uncovering the darkest and most desperate secrets hidden in fashionable Rutland Place. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company' - New York Times Charlotte Pitt's mother has lost a locket holding a comprising picture. Arriving at her mother's home at Rutland Place to help her search, Charlotte discovers that other residents of the exclusive neighbourhood have suffered similar unexplained small thefts. Then Mina Spencer-Brown, a woman known for prying, dies from poisoning. It seems likely that Mina's snooping had led to her murder, but what secrets had she stumbled upon? And whose? As Thomas Pitt patiently struggles to break down the protective silence of London's high society, Charlotte works behind its closed doors to help unravel a mystery revealing sordid secrets and the chilling, dark corners of human behaviour. What readers are saying about Rutland Place: 'Once started, impossible to put the book down''Brilliant as usual''Another excellent murder mystery - five stars'

Headline

Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy - is there more to this case than meets the eye? In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman's sordid murder - or an innocent man will hang. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes' - Cleveland Plain Dealer The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London's most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt's efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding. All evidence points to Arthur's tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don't believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy's family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman's noose. What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields: 'A thought-provoking whodunit''Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable''Another winner for Anne Perry - five stars'

Headline

Death in the Devil's Acre (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 7)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry