Hannah Tinti - The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234360
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472234391
    • Publication date:28 Mar 2017

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

By Hannah Tinti

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A father tries to protect his daughter from the legacy of his criminal past

Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, and one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of The Sisters Brothers or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love.

Biographical Notes

Hannah Tinti is the author of the short story collection ANIMAL CRACKERS and co-founder and editor in chief of One Story magazine. Her first novel, THE GOOD THIEF, was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and winner of the Centre for Fiction's First Novel Prize and a recipient of the American Library Association's Alex Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472234377
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
[We are] carried by Tinti's seductive prose. She has a deep feeling for the passage of time and its effect on character. And when it's appropriate, she can use her vivid language to express the ripping depth of human pain. As this strikingly symphonic novel enters its last movement, the final bars remind us that all of the painful wounds that humans can endure, the worse are self-inflicted. — New York Times Book Review
Starring a fiercely loving, reluctant criminal and a girl of grit and wonder, Tinti has forged a breathtaking novel of violence and tenderness — Booklist
Exceptional... a tender work of art exposing the universal needs of men to survive, to love, and grieve - whether their fate is cast in stars, or submerged beneath the surface... a sure-fire hit with characters I came to love. — Essie Fox
What Hannah Tinti knows about fathers, daughters and time could, as they say, fill a book - and truly does. The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is bold, exciting, and original — Meg Wolitzer, author of THE INTERESTINGS
The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is one part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade , and twelve parts wild innovation. Hannah Tinti proves herself to be an old fashioned storyteller of the highest order — Ann Patchett
Hannah Tinti's second novel doesn't disappoint...Sensitive, coming-of-age literary novel meets Pulp Fiction and it all works? Yes, indeed! — Daily Mail
A father/daughter road trip you won't soon forget — Richard Russo
Utterly magnificent - gripping, suspenseful, funny, and so full of heart — Ruth Ozeki
A master class in literary suspense — The Washington Post
Beautifully constructed... Tinti has fused a cowboy-noir action adventure and a coming-of-age tale into a father-daughter love story — Boston Globe
An inventive and fearless story about heroism and protecting the people we love — Culture Fly
It was the innovative storytelling and wonderful character of Loo, the schoolgirl on a mission to uncover the secret of her mother's mysterious death and decode the twelve scars that mark her ex-con father's body, that hooked me — Sam Baker, The Pool
Their relationship is sharply drawn in this violent, tender tale — Woman & Home
This father-daughter story is an unusual but winning blend of small-town New England atmosphere and high-octane action scenes. Imagine a John Irving novel getting the Hollywood shoot-'em-up treatment and you'll have some idea of what Tinti does in this unexpectedly dark book full of quirky characters — The Bookbag
The rapid-fire switching between the story lines gives the book an irresistible velocity that Ms. Tinti sustains to the end — Wall Street Journal Europe
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

'Seductive and mysterious...the perfect novel to while away a summer's afternoon' Express on The House on Sunset Lake. The Hamptons is the beautiful, atmospheric setting for Sunday Times bestseller Tasmina Perry's stunning new novel about a woman who becomes fascinated by the story of a female resident who recently died in mysterious circumstances. Fans of the TV show The Affair will love this novel.

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's gripping new novel. Reviewers adore Sheila's books: 'Smart and twisty' ***** Heat; 'Fantastic' BellaLola Fitzpatrick is bright and ambitious but she's also headstrong and stubborn. When one evening, out of the blue, she has to make a life-changing choice, she decides quickly and rashly. And without a piece of vital information that might have changed everything.Lola's daughter Bey has inherited Lola's determined nature. Yet her impulsive reactions place her in danger, leading her to run away from what she wants most. And then, one night, she's standing in front of the man she loves, with her own choice to make...For both Lola and Bey, everything changes in a moment. But their biggest mistakes might also turn out to be their greatest opportunities...

Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt
Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden

In Ararat, by New York Times bestselling author Christopher Golden, an ancient evil inhabits a cave on the snow-capped, dormant volcano, in the most Eastern reaches of Turkey, that is Mount Ararat. Golden's writing is 'the real deal' (Stephen King) and Ararat will thrill and fascinate in equal measure. Meryam and Adam take risks for a living. But neither is prepared for what lies in the legendary heights of Mount Ararat, Turkey. First to reach a massive cave revealed by an avalanche, they discover the hole in the mountain's heart is really an ancient ship, buried in time. A relic that some fervently believe is Noah's Ark. Deep in its recesses stands a coffin inscribed with mysterious symbols that no one in their team of scholars, archaeologists and filmmakers can identify. Inside is a twisted, horned cadaver. Outside a storm threatens to break. As terror begins to infiltrate their every thought, is it the raging blizzard that chases them down the mountain - or something far worse?

Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline

In the Name of Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

The House of Birds

Morgan Mccarthy
Authors:
Morgan Mccarthy
Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

A Girl Called Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee

A Girl Called Love by Louise Lee was previously published as The Last Honeytrap. If you love to curl up with Mhairi McFarlane or The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes was your favourite, A Girl Called Love by Louise Lee will delight you with its rapidfire, irreverent humour. 'A funny, sassy page-turning debut' - Jenny Colgan.Scott 'Scat' Delaney is a world famous jazz singer. He has ample opportunity to stray and his girlfriend, Alice, needs to know she can trust him.Step up Florence Love, Private Investigator. Florence has just ten days to entrap an A-Lister. Whilst sticking to her cardinal rule: One kiss, with tongues, five seconds - case closed.A master of body language, evolutionary science and nifty disguises, her approach is unconventional, her success rate excellent. But targets are rarely as beautiful as Scat. Never fall for the target. That is very bad form indeed.A Girl Called Love marks the energetic launch of a brilliant new series. Once you've met Florence Love, you'll see the world in glorious technicolour at last.

Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Breakdown

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman

Criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware is pushed to his limit like never before in Breakdown by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will love this sabre-sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense. Dr. Alex Delaware first meets beautiful and emotionally fragile actress Zelda Chase when called upon to evaluate her five-year-old son. Years later, Alex is unexpectedly reunited with Zelda when she is involuntarily committed after a bizarre psychotic episode. But tragedy strikes and shortly after her release, Zelda is discovered dead in the grounds of a palatial L.A. estate. Having experienced more than enough of the city's dark side to recognise the scent of evil, Alex turns to his friend, LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis, for help in finding the perpetrator. Meanwhile, Alex is caught up in another quest: the search for Zelda's missing son. And when other victims vanish from the same upscale neighborhood, worry turns to terror.As Alex struggles to piece together the brief rise and steep fall of a gorgeous, talented actress, he and Milo unveil shattered dreams, the corruption of a family, and a grotesque betrayal of innocence. With each devastating revelation and damning clue, Alex's brilliant mind is challenged as never before - and his determination grows to see a killer caged and the truth set free.

Tinder Press

A Year of Marvellous Ways

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .