Jen Williams - The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472235176
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472235169
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472245335
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
Books in this series

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

By Jen Williams

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From British Fantasy Awards Best Newcomer nominee, Jen Williams, comes the first novel in an ambitious epic fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb.

The first in a blistering new trilogy from Jen Williams, acclaimed author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat trilogy. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence's Red Sister.

'Fantasy adventure at its very best' Starburst

'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' Guardian

'An original new voice in heroic fantasy' Adrian Tchaikovsky

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.

When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.

But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...

Biographical Notes

JEN WILLIAMS started writing about pirates and dragons as a young girl and hasn't ever stopped. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies and her debut novel, The Copper Promise, was published in 2014 to huge acclaim. Jen was nominated in the Best Newcomer category at the 2015 British Fantasy Awards and her second novel, The Iron Ghost, was shortlisted for the 2016 British Fantasy Awards Novel of the Year award. All novels in the Copper Cat Trilogy, The Copper Promise, The Iron Ghost, and The Silver Tide, are available from Headline in the UK. The Ninth Rain is the first electrifying new novel of The Winnowing Flame Trilogy. Jen lives in London with her partner and their cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472235183
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Headline
Absolutely phenomenal fantasy — Adrian Tchaikovsky
Williams portrays her characters as flawed but humane, propels the plot with expert pace, and excels at eldritch world-building — Guardian
There is so much to praise about The Ninth Rain: the worldbuilding is top-notch, the plot is gripping and the characters just get better and better. A sublime read — SFX
Yet again, Williams has created an addictive and coherent fantasy world filled with all sorts of deliciously interesting things within it... This is fantasy adventure at its very best. Go check it out — Starburst
The Ninth Rain is a fast-paced and vibrant fantasy romp through a new world, full of people you want to spend time with and enemies you'd happily run from — SciFiNow
Jen Williams takes us on another great adventure. Fresh, engaging, and full of heart — Peter Newman
A cracking story that grips you by the heart and doesn't let go — Edward Cox
A very original fantasy world — Story Collector
The Ninth Rain is full of tropes written in a different and clever way. The drop-dead gorgeous man? He's the source of comedy. Immortals living off human blood but dying as well because of it? Yes, sounds like vampires, although they're not called as such in this book. The threat of zombies and zombie-infestation? They're present too, but not the usual plot line that involves a virus or what not. It was all so brilliantly done' — The Travelling Bibliophile
Brilliantly creative fantasy — This Northern Gal