Neil Gaiman - How the Marquis Got His Coat Back - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472236036
    • Publication date:27 Oct 2015

How the Marquis Got His Coat Back

By Neil Gaiman

  • Paperback
  • £1.99

A NEVERWHERE short story from 'one of the best fabulists of our age' Financial Times

A Neverwhere short story from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation - the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning The Ocean At the End of the Lane.


The coat. It was elegant. It was beautiful. It was so close that he could have reached out and touched it.

And it was unquestionably his.

***
'Gaiman's achievement is to make the fantasy world seem true' The Times

Biographical Notes

Neil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including AMERICAN GODS, STARDUST, CORALINE and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. His most recent novel for adults, THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE was highly acclaimed, appeared on the hardback and paperback Sunday Times bestseller lists and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013: 'Some books you read. Some books you enjoy. But some books just swallow you up, heart and soul' Joanne Harris.

The recipient of numerous literary honours, Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, collaborated with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and THE SANDMAN is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'

Originally from England, Neil Gaiman now lives in America.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472235329
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Headline
Tinder Press

The Rocks Along Our Way

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

A Whole Lotta Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

The Image of You: I thought I knew you. But you're a liar.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core. They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy. But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in. My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later. This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti

Bursting with imagination, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of the Coen Brothers' True Grit or Emma Cline's The Girls.Hero. Villain. Father...After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley and his daughter Loo finally settle in Olympus, Massachusetts. Hawley takes up fishing, while Loo struggles with friendship and first love, and tries to piece together the puzzle surrounding her mother's death. Haunting them both are the twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that is about to spill over into Loo's present, with explosive consequences.

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy FowlerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. Four siblings, too young for what they are about to hear, sneak out to hear their fortunes. We then follow the intertwined paths the siblings take over the course of five decades and, in particular, how they choose to live with the supposed knowledge the fortune-teller gave them that day. This is a story about life, mortality and the choices we make: is it better to live a long and cautious life, or to burn brightly, but for the shortest time?

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, glamour, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.

Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERCartes Postales from Greece is an extraordinary new book from Victoria Hislop, the Sunday TimesNumber One bestselling author of The Island, The Return, The Thread, and The Sunrise. It is fiction in full colour - magical and unique.'Hislop's passionate love of the country breathes from every page' Daily MailWeek after week, the postcards arrive, addressed to someone Ellie does not know, each signed with an initial: A.These alluring cartes postales of Greece brighten her life and cast a spell on her. She decides she must see this country for herself. On the morning Ellie leaves for Athens, a notebook arrives. Its pages tell the story of a man's odyssey through Greece. Moving, surprising and sometimes dark, A's tale unfolds with the discovery not only of a culture, but also of a desire to live life to the full once more. Beloved, bestselling author Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece is fiction illustrated with photographs that make this journey around Greece, already alive in the imagination, linger forever in the mind.

Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The View from the Cheap Seats

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

The View from the Cheap Seats draws together myriad non-fiction writing by international phenomenon and Sunday Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman. From Make Good Art, the speech that went viral, to pieces on artists and legends including Terry Pratchett and Lou Reed, the collection offers a glimpse into the head and heart of one of the most acclaimed writers of our time.'If this book came to you during a despairing night, by dawn, you would believe in ideas and hope and humans again' Caitlin Moran'Literature does not occur in a vacuum. It cannot be a monologue. It has to be a conversation' This collection will draw you in to exchanges on making good art and Syrian refugees, the power of a single word and playing the kazoo with Stephen King, writing about books, comics and the imagination of friends, being sad at the Oscars and telling lies for a living. Here Neil Gaiman opens our minds to the people he admires and the things he believes might just mean something - and welcomes us to the conversation too.

Headline

American Gods

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

American Gods, the extraordinary, highly acclaimed epic novel from storytelling genius and international bestseller Neil Gaiman, comes vividly to life this May in the hottest major TV show of 2017. Praised by Empire as 'something very special', the series will be shown in the UK on Amazon Prime Video and stars Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane, Emily Browning and Gillian Anderson.'Gaiman is a treasure-house of story and we are lucky to have him' Stephen King.If you are to survive, you must believe.Shadow Moon has served his time. But hours before his release from prison, his beloved wife is killed in a freak accident. Dazed, he boards a plane home where he meets the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who professes both to know Shadow and to be king of America.Together they embark on a profoundly strange road trip across the USA, encountering a kaleidoscopic cast of characters along the way. Yet all around them a storm threatens to break. The war has already begun, an epic struggle for the very soul of America, and Shadow is standing squarely in its path.

Headline

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire

Neil Gaiman, Shane Oakley
Contributors:
Neil Gaiman, Shane Oakley
Headline

The Monarch of the Glen

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline

Black Dog

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

Black Dog by bestselling storytelling legend, Neil Gaiman is American Gods world novella that will thrill Games of Thrones devotees and Terry Pratchett fans alike. 'Original, engrossing, and endlessly entertaining' George R.R Martin on American Gods'It followed me home,' he said, conversationally. In a rural northern village, legend tells of a ghostly black dog that appears from the darkness before you die. Shadow Moon has been on the road a while now but he can't walk any further tonight, not with the rain lashing down. Gratefully, he heads home with a nice English couple, who offer a box room, hot whisky and local tales. But when the man collapses en route, Shadow realises that something about this place has been left untold. Something ancient, something within the very walls of the village. Something shadowing them all.**Also available in Trigger Warning. Please note this is a black and white ebook**

Headline

Troll Bridge

Neil Gaiman, Colleen Doran
Contributors:
Neil Gaiman, Colleen Doran
Headline

How to Talk to Girls at Parties

Neil Gaiman, Fábio Moon, Gabriel Bá
Contributors:
Neil Gaiman, Fábio Moon, Gabriel Bá
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell