Anne Baker - A View Across the Mersey - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472236333
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472236357
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017

A View Across the Mersey

By Anne Baker

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Anne Baker's dramatic Liverpool saga, A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY, is set between the First and Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY by Anne Baker is a dramatic Liverpool family saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.

The youngest of five siblings, Lottie Mortimer has never felt like she belonged. Her mother died shortly after she was born, leaving her father and grandmother to raise the family and, despite their love and support, Lottie can't help wondering if there is something they are not telling her...

With the First World War over, the Mortimers' ship-owning business is struggling to survive and Lottie, who works with her father, worries what the future will hold. Meanwhile, her elder sister Eunice is trapped in an unhappy marriage that causes concern for them all. Then Lottie discovers the shocking truth about her birth that turns her world upside down and the dramatic events that unfold affect them all...

Biographical Notes

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472236340
  • Publication date: 01 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

The Sister's Secret: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 5

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Sister's Secret is a powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.Can she conceal the truth to protect those she loves?The Sykes family have lived at Fairley Terrace since their youngest daughter, Rowan, was born. Fiercely clever, Rowan finds it difficult to fit in with the other village children, so when her beloved older sister, Laurel, takes a new job and moves back home, Rowan is overjoyed. Laurel is happy to be with her family - even if she's keeping the real reason for her return to herself. It seems like she's destined to keep repeating the mistakes of her past when it comes to matters of the heart. The two sisters are each longing for excitement and a fresh start, and when familiar faces return to Fairley Terrace, along with an enigmatic new resident, it looks like they might get their wish. But their harmony is about to be shattered by a mysterious stranger who threatens to expose a long-kept secret - and is prepared to stop at nothing to wreak revenge on the family.Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, and Carina's story in The Widow's Promise.

Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

While in pursuit of independence and love, a young woman finds her family needs her more than ever. Liverpool Gems is a dramatic and warm-hearted Liverpool saga from Anne Baker, which is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Lyn Andrews.It is 1935 and as Carrie Courtney watches her twin sister, Connie, marry the man of her dreams, Carrie longs to find a love of her own. Having lost their mother at an early age, the girls were brought up by their maiden aunts and, with Connie leaving home, Carrie is desperate to spread her wings.Using her skills as a bookkeeper, Carrie gets an exciting new job but her stunning beauty soon attracts the wrong kind of attention. And romance is the last thing on her mind when her beloved father finds himself caught up in an illegal jewellery business that threatens to destroy them all... What readers are saying about Liverpool Gems: 'Quite a page turner like most of Anne's books, she keeps the reader gripped from the first page, excellent writing''Anne Baker never fails to please her fans, loved this and highly recommend'

Headline

Wartime Girls

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Set in Liverpool during the Depression and the Blitz of the Second World War, Anne Baker's dramatic saga brings a close-knit community vividly to life.It is the day of the Grand National, 1933, when Susie Ingram's fiance, Danny, is killed in a tragic accident. In a cruel twist of Fate, Susie discovers she is carrying Danny's child and, shunned by his parents, she turns to her mother for support. Louise Ingram, widowed during the First World War, knows how hard it is to bring up a family alone, but with the help of her eldest daughter, Martha, who lives next door, they manage to survive. When little Rosie is born there is no doubt that she is Danny's daughter, but it is destined to take many more years of heartache before the two families are united again...

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton

Four of our most-loved saga authors invite you to join them on a journey through motherhood in this collection of heart-warming short stories.Daisy's Day by Anne BakerIt's 1920s Liverpool and Daisy must do everything she can to protect her children from poverty and disease. A mother's love is limitless...The First Strawberry by Pam EvansBombs are falling over London and times are hard for Rose and her family. That is until six-year-old Sydney and a little miracle restore all hope...The Birthday Surprise by Jennie FeltonSomerset, 1898. Can two daughters ease their mother's sorrows and bring her a birthday full of joy? How Memories Are Made by Lynda PageGinnie Owens is facing a devastating decision. But she's about to discover that just when all seems lost a mother's dreams can finally come true.

Headline Review

Summer Breeze

Nancy Thayer
Authors:
Nancy Thayer
Headline Review

Heat Wave

Nancy Thayer
Authors:
Nancy Thayer
Headline Review

Beachcombers

Nancy Thayer
Authors:
Nancy Thayer
Headline

A Liverpool Legacy

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Liverpool Lies

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

War Story

Sara Hely
Authors:
Sara Hely
Headline

Follow Me Down

Tanya Byrne
Authors:
Tanya Byrne
Headline

Dead Silence

Kimberly Derting
Authors:
Kimberly Derting
Headline

This Is What Happy Looks Like

Jennifer E. Smith
Authors:
Jennifer E. Smith
Headline

Daughters of the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

With the scars of World War I still fresh, the Dransfield family face further challenges...When Steven Dransfield loses his fortune in the Depression, his wife Leonie is forced to save the family from ruin. But Steve resents the success of her dressmaking business and, trapped in a loveless marriage, Leonie is drawn into the arms of another man.Just as their children, Milo and June, begin to spread their wings, Leonie finds herself pregnant, but her duty lies with her family and when Amy is born she unites them all. Then with the outbreak of World War II and danger looming in Liverpool, Amy is evacuated to Wales, and, as the bombs start to drop, lives are lost and hearts are broken and the Dransfields must learn to support one another through the heartache that lies ahead...

Headline Review

From Essex to Chelsea with Love

Millie Conway
Authors:
Millie Conway

If you're a fan of all things Essex or Chelsea, you won't want to miss this sensational read...Chelsea events planner Talli Jones is in a fix. Her brother Persimmon and his fiancée Edwina want her to deliver the Wedding of the Year. Their dream venue, Highdrow Castle, has had a last-minute cancellation. But it's in eight weeks' time. With 500 guests. And doves... Personal trainer Zac Parker needs some fast cash. But he can't reveal why, even to his girlfriend, glamorous reality TV star Kiki. If he can get wealthy client Edwina into shape for her Big Day, he'll get a hefty bonus. All he needs is for that uptight wedding planner to stop getting in his way. As Zac and Talli battle to work miracles, the heat between them unexpectedly starts to rise. But when friends and family get involved and the fireworks begin, it's clear that it's a long, long way from Chelmsford to Chelsea...

Headline

Our Liverpool

Piers Dudgeon
Authors:
Piers Dudgeon

This ebook edition contains the full text version as per the book. Doesn't include original photographic and illustrated material. OUR LIVERPOOL is an oral history about the real Liverpool - about the city before its slick transformation to European City of Culture and about the spirit that remains at its heart. Here, at last, is Liverpool's grievous and glorious past. And here, through the people's voices, we find old Liverpool, without the gift-wrap. Its stories pulsate with the rhythms of an alternately funny, flippant, belligerent, stubborn and warm heart, and they broadcast the values of a community, which are the city's true legacy to the modern world. Piers Dudgeon has listened to dozens of people who remember the city as it was, and who have lived through its many changes. They talk of childhood and education, of work and entertainment, of family, community values, health, politics, religion and music. Their stories will make you laugh and cry. It is people's own memories that make history real and this engrossing book captures them vividly.

Headline

Love is Blind

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A family struggles to survive bereavement, bombing and bitter rivalry...Patsy Rushton's brother Barney doesn't know the meaning of hard work, so when their father tragically dies, Patsy has no choice but to save the family's business. Meanwhile, Barney has got his girlfriend pregnant and, feeling trapped, he abandons her and leaves Merseyside altogether. But trouble follows Barney wherever he goes and when he learns of his sister's growing success, he can't help feeling resentful. Why is their mother, Beatrice, so quick to forgive him? Surely, she can't be blind to his faults? As Patsy is to discover, there's something else about Barney that is frightening her mother so much she has never dared to speak of it before.

Headline

Home Truths

Margaret Bacon
Authors:
Margaret Bacon
Headline Review

Friends And Relations

Margaret Bacon
Authors:
Margaret Bacon

Best friends Kate and Betty had once been inseparable as they grew up together in the rough beauty of the North Yorkshire countryside. But eventually time had drawn them apart, Betty becoming a successful lawyer, whist Kate opted for a life of domesticity and motherhood. When, years later, they meet again, they still enjoy each other's company - though their husbands are less well suited - and, despite the differences in their lives, they stay in touch. It is in a spirit of helpfulness that Kate suggests that Claire, the newly graduated daughter of another childhood friend, Chrissie Newbould, might be suitable for the position of secretary to Betty's MP husband - a suggestion that is to have a devastating impact on the lives that each of them has made during a decade of ruthless change.