Anne Baker - A View Across the Mersey - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472236333
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472236357
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017

A View Across the Mersey

By Anne Baker

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Anne Baker's dramatic Liverpool saga, A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY, is set between the First and Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY by Anne Baker is a dramatic Liverpool family saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.

The youngest of five siblings, Lottie Mortimer has never felt like she belonged. Her mother died shortly after she was born, leaving her father and grandmother to raise the family and, despite their love and support, Lottie can't help wondering if there is something they are not telling her...

With the First World War over, the Mortimers' ship-owning business is struggling to survive and Lottie, who works with her father, worries what the future will hold. Meanwhile, her elder sister Eunice is trapped in an unhappy marriage that causes concern for them all. Then Lottie discovers the shocking truth about her birth that turns her world upside down and the dramatic events that unfold affect them all...

Biographical Notes

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472236340
  • Publication date: 01 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A dramatic and warm-hearted Liverpool saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.It is 1935 and as Carrie Courtney watches her twin sister, Connie, marry the man of her dreams, Carrie longs to find a love of her own. Having lost their mother at an early age, the girls were brought up by their maiden aunts and, with Connie leaving home, Carrie is desperate to spread her wings. Using her skills as a bookkeeper, Carrie gets an exciting new job but her stunning beauty soon attracts the wrong kind of attention. And romance is the last thing on her mind when her beloved father finds himself caught up in an illegal jewellery business that threatens to destroy them all...

Headline

Wartime Girls

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

A Liverpool Legacy

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Liverpool Lies

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A series of devastating truths threaten the happiness of two sisters in wartime Liverpool. Anne Baker's Liverpool Lies covers the effects of the Second World War on two nurses, and the disruption of family secrets. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Lindsey Hutchinson.It is 1941 and Connie and Lottie Brinsley are training to be nurses at Liverpool's Walton Hospital. When heavy bombing is followed by the news that their home has taken a direct hit and their parents and little brother are dead, the two sisters are utterly devastated. Later, they are shocked to discover that their uncle, Steve, is not who they thought he was, and the Brinsleys have been living a lie for years. And Steve's not the only one who's hiding the truth, for when Lottie meets and marries Waldo Padley, no one tells her that he's a liar and a cheat. But, no matter what life throws at them, the sisters find the strength to face the troubles ahead... What readers are saying about Liverpool Lies: 'I found this book very enthralling and enjoyed it so much I have purchased several more books by Anne Baker''Excellent storytelling throughout. Could not wait to carry on reading where I left off. Good story and very well told'

Headline

Daughters of the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Glimpse of the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

With the promise of happiness on the horizon, can a young woman help those she loves to achieve the same? A heart-warming and touching saga, Anne Baker's A Glimpse of the Mersey follows a young woman's eventful search for happiness and belonging. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry.Daisy Corkill has never known who her parents were - or why they left her to be brought up by the couple she calls 'Uncle' Ern and 'Aunt' Gladys. Daisy yearns for the love and security that a family of her own would give her, but she finds comfort in her relationship with Brenda, her older 'sister'. One day in 1919 Brenda arrives home flushed with excitement. She has agreed to marry businessman Gil Fox. Daisy is horrified, for she doesn't trust the handsome Gil. And soon after their wedding, Brenda realises that Gil isn't the man she thought he was. But Daisy's dreams are about to come true; a family of her own is finally within her reach. But will it be enough to get her through some stormy times? What readers are saying about A Glimpse of the Mersey: '[I] got through it so quickly; I couldn't put it down with its thrilling storyline and charm. Praise for Anne Baker as always''Great author, gets you right into the story and keeps you enthralled!'

Headline

Echoes Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

With the Great War looming, one young woman also faces obstacles closer to home. Anne Baker's Echoes Across the Mersey is a thrilling saga of an impossible love, set under the storm clouds of war and class. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Katie Flynn.'A heartwarming story, Echoes Across the Mersey is the type of distinctly English book best read when sitting in the garden' - Liverpool EchoIt's August 1914, and the threat of war weighs heavily on the people of Liverpool, but not on Sarah Hoxton. For Toby Percival, the son of her employer, is in love with her. Her mother fears they'll both lose their jobs when Toby's father finds out, but Sarah's prepared to risk everything for Toby's love. Maurice Percival is furious when he discovers his son is involved with a factory girl. Determined to defy his father, Toby joins the army. Sarah is left facing what seem to be insurmountable obstacles, but with the help of her friends, family and a strength she never knew she possessed, she discovers there is a light at the end of the tunnel, though it shines from a different direction to the one she expected. What readers are saying about Echoes Across the Mersey: 'I could not put it down and read it within a couple of days... the author has a way of making you visualise everything from the people to the places, and is able to bring out so many emotions whilst you are reading.'

Headline

Nobody's Child

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

The Misfit

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Headline

I'll Be Seeing You

Benita Brown
Authors:
Benita Brown
Headline

Love is Blind

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

A Pocketful of Silver

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

It's 1920, and Ellie Valentino is just like any other happy five-year-old growing up in Birkenhead. Although her father is dead, and her mother works hard, Ellie's grandmother Bridie is always there to provide a welcoming hug when the little girl returns from school. But, one tragic day, Ellie's secure world is suddenly torn apart with the mysterious death of her mother, and Ellie is forced to live with her uncle Mick, a man with a violent temper. As the years pass, Ellie's yearning to know the truth about her mother's death never fades - it even casts a shadow over her blossoming romance with childhood friend, Franco Baldini. For Franco knows more about that fateful day than he dares admit, especially to Ellie. Can their love survive when Ellie longs to uncover events that Franco is desperate to forget? And will Ellie ever find out what really happened to her mother?

Headline

Forgive and Forget

Dee Williams
Authors:
Dee Williams
Headline

The Price of Love

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Kate McGlory longs to be loved. Her seven younger brothers are cherished by their doting mother Lena, but Kate tends to be forgotten. Then Kate catches the eye of Jack Courtney and at last she too is adored. But their courtship is not straightforward. Jack comes from a family of wealthy shipowners in Merseyside, who may not approve of the match; Lena is terrified that history will repeat itself if her daughter falls in love with a man above her station; and, worst of all, Jack has not been entirely honest with Kate from the start...

Headline

Annie of Albert Mews

Dee Williams
Authors:
Dee Williams
Headline

Legacy of Sins

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Paradise Parade

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

Living above her stepfather's fish and chip shop on Merseyside's Paradise Parade, Emily Barr is glad to escape to the relative peace of her job in Wythenshaw's jewellery factory. And when she is promoted to work for young Mr Giles, the son of the owner, she is the envy of all her workmates. What a catch he would be!Much to her surprise, Emily finds the eligible Giles is trying to woo her, and when he proposes she willingly accepts. But Giles is not the suitable suitor he appears to be and Emily soon discovers that the marriage isn't quite what she'd hoped for...