Amanda Hickie - Before This Is Over - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240033
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240057
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017

Before This Is Over

By Amanda Hickie

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

An unputdownable, edge-of-your-seat novel about a mother who will do whatever it takes to protect her family as a deadly virus spreads through the community. Not to be missed if you love the books of Liane Moriarty, Lisa Genova and Emma Donoghue.

BEFORE THIS IS OVER by Amanda Hickie is a powerful, thought-provoking drama that looks at one family in the heart of a devastated community and compels us to ask: how far would I go to save my children?

Meet Hannah Halloran. Wife of Sean, mother of teenage Zac and little Oscar. Their comfortable home is in a suburb of a city unaffected by the deadly flu that's killed thousands. But Hannah is tense. She's worried about Zac's vulnerability miles away at a crowded summer camp. She's uneasy about Oscar's boisterous play with the children at his school. Is physical contact wise when an epidemic is coming closer? Hannah fears that their safe little world is about to be blown apart. And she's right. It's time to get Zac home - if they can...

As the virus traps Hannah and her family in their neighbourhood and then within their own home, supplies of food, water and electricity dwindle. The battery life on their mobile phones fades, cutting them off from critical news bulletins. Sean's confidence that the government will keep everyone safe is misplaced. Every day, Hannah has choices to make that will decide whether they live or die. Choices with devastating consequences. Just how far will she go to protect those she loves?

Originally published under the title AN ORDINARY EPIDEMIC.

Biographical Notes

Amanda Hickie was born in Sydney and has lived in Australia most of her life. In 2000, she moved for some time to Canada, and was living there when Toronto was one of two centres of a SARS outbreak. Observing the news, and the response of those around her, she became interested in what decisions a family might have to make to survive an epidemic on the scale of the 1918 flu.

Amanda lives in Sydney with her husband, two sons and two cats.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240040
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Utterly fascinating, a little gruesome and impossible to put down... both familiar and completely strange — Bookseller & Publisher, Australia
Headline

Let the Good Times Roll

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Headline

Holy Cow

David Duchovny
Authors:
David Duchovny

Holy Cow by David Duchovny is a comic delight that will thrill fans of Jasper Fforde and Ben Aaronovitch. And anyone who enjoys a witty wisecrack in a novel.Elsie Bovary is a cow and a pretty happy one at that. Until one night, Elsie sneaks out of the pasture and finds herself drawn to the farmhouse. Through the window, she sees the farmer's family gathered around a bright Box God - and what the Box God reveals about something called an 'industrial meat farm' shakes Elsie's understanding of her world to its core.The only solution? To escape to a better, safer world. And so a motley crew is formed: Elsie; Shalom, a grumpy pig who's recently converted to Judaism; and Tom, a suave turkey who can't fly, but can work an iPhone with his beak. Toting stolen passports and slapdash human disguises, they head for the airport ...Elsie is a wise-cracking, slyly witty narrator; Tom dispenses psychiatric advice in a fake German accent; and Shalom ends up unexpectedly uniting Israelis and Palestinians. David Duchovny's charismatic creatures point the way toward a mutual understanding and acceptance the world desperately needs.(P)2015 Macmillan Audio

Tinder Press

The Captains and the Kings

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston
Headline

The Man Who Lied to Women

Carol O'Connell
Authors:
Carol O'Connell
Headline Eternal

Since I Saw You (Because You Are Mine Series #4)

Beth Kery
Authors:
Beth Kery
Headline

Conquest

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline Review

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell's bestseller THE UNPREDICTABLE CONSEQUENCES OF LOVE is an unforgettable tale of sunny days on the beach, Cornwall in the summer and secrets about to be revealed. Perfect for readers of Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry. In the idyllic seaside town of St Carys, Sophie is putting the past firmly behind her. When Josh arrives in St Carys to run the family hotel, he can't understand why Sophie has zero interest in letting any man into her life. He also can't understand how he's been duped into employing Sophie's impulsive friend Tula, whose crush on him is decidedly unrequited.St Carys has more than its fair share of characters, including the charming but utterly feckless surfer Riley Bryant, who has a massive crush on Tula. Riley's aunt is superstar author Marguerite Marshall. And Marguerite has designs on Josh's grandfather...who in turn still adores his glamorous ex-wife, Dot...Just how many secrets can one seaside town keep?

Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Fire and Brimstone

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

When billionaire's daughter Alison Wolff disappears following a massacre at a party, nobody knows if she has been kidnapped or killed. Dan Starkey is hired to find the missing student but instead is drawn into a violent struggle between rival gangs.A drugs war is tearing the city apart and in response, a new church movement has sprung up. But when a controversial new abortion clinic is firebombed, Dan is asked to prove their involvement.In a Belfast rapidly descending back into chaos, Dan is left with an impossible choice - betray his client or risk losing his family...

Headline Review

Gifted and Talented

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

A Heart Bent Out of Shape

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

From the author of The Book of Summers, picked for Richard & Judy's 2012 summer book club, comes the story of a first love, a terrible tragedy, a snow-filled paradise; a year that will never be forgotten. For Hadley Dunn, life so far has been uneventful - no great loves, no searing losses. But that's before she decides to spend a year studying in the glittering Swiss city of Lausanne, a place that feels alive with promise. Here Hadley meets Kristina, a beautiful but elusive Danish girl, and the two quickly form the strongest of bonds. Yet one November night, as the first snows of winter arrive, tragedy strikes. Hadley, left reeling and guilt-stricken, beings to lean on the only other person to whom she feels close, her American Literature professor Joel Wilson. But as the pair try to uncover the truth of what happened that night, their tentative friendship heads into forbidden territory. And before long a line is irrevocably crossed, everything changes, and two already complicated lives take an even more dangerous course...

Headline

It Happens in the Dark

Carol O'Connell
Authors:
Carol O'Connell
Headline Eternal

Release Me: Stark Series Book 1

J. Kenner
Authors:
J. Kenner

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.

Dee Williams

Dee Williams was born and brought up in Rotherhithe in East London where her father worked as a stevedore in Surrey Docks. She lives in Hampshire, where she is also an active fundraiser for breast cancer awareness.

Diana Janney

Diana Janney gained two degrees in philosophy from London University and is a dually qualified barrister and solicitor. She has lived for most of her adult life in London and now writes full-time.

Eileen Dreyer

Eileen Dreyer is an award-winning and bestselling American romance author. She lives in St. Louis County with husband Rick and her two children.

Elena Mauli Shapiro

Elena Mauli Shapiro was born and raised in Paris, and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband.

Emma Darwin

Emma Darwin was born in 1964. Her first novel, THE MATHEMATICS OF LOVE, was acclaimed in nine countries; A SECRET ALCHEMY is her second. She lives in London.

Erick Setiawan

Erick Setiawan grew up in Indonesia and moved to San Francisco as a teenager to learn English. He later attended Stanford. He is now writing fulltime, and OF BEES AND MIST is his first novel.