Kathryn Hughes - The Secret - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472229991
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472229984
    • Publication date:01 Jul 2016

The Secret

A gripping novel of how far a mother would go for her child from the #1 author of The Letter

By Kathryn Hughes
Read by Rachel Atkins

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The Kindle bestselling author returns with her second novel, The Secret - a beautiful, tearjerking novel which will be cherished by all those thousands of readers who lost their hearts to The Letter.

From the author of the Kindle Number One bestseller The Letter comes a heartbreaking novel of tragedy, hope and second chances, set in England in 1976 and the present day, and in Australia. Readers who treasure the novels of Lesley Pearse and Susan Lewis will adore this author. It's the long hot summer of 1976 and the regulars of The Taverners pub in Manchester are preparing for a day trip to Blackpool. But after a horrific coach crash not all of the day trippers make it home. Forty years later and the consequences of that fateful day are still being felt by the families. But what if not all was as it seemed on that stretch of motorway and someone has been hiding a devastating secret...?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240552
  • Publication date: 01 Jul 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
The Letter, Kathryn's debut novel, was an eBook bestseller. Her second, The Secret, is just as gripping — Good Housekeeping
Wildfire

Today

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline Review

How to Find Love in the Little Things

Virginie Grimaldi
Authors:
Virginie Grimaldi

A funny, moving and ultimately uplifting read from international bestseller Virginie Grimaldi that will enchant and entertain fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes and The Little Paris Bookshop.'Welcome to Ocean View. You don't know it yet, but you'll be happy here...'Julia's not running away. Not exactly. She just needs a break from Paris and Marc and all the sad stuff that's been going on lately. A little time to pull herself together.The job offer felt like a lifeline. But now she's back in Biarritz, suitcase in hand, she hasn't the faintest idea what she was thinking. What Julia doesn't yet know is there's more to the odds and ends of Ocean View than meet the eye. Behind the double doors lie broken hearts, lifelong secrets, a touch of romance and an unwavering passion for life. And sometimes it's the most unlikely of places and people who help you find your way.What readers are saying about HOW TO FIND LOVE IN THE LITTLE THINGS:'Fabulously glorious, funny and uplifting''I devoured this novel''Don't miss this book. I loved every word - it's an ode to life and love''Fantastic, feel-good summer read''A real delight that lingers in the head and heart'

Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns for her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. 'A hardcore guilty pleasure' - The TimesAnita Blake faces new, even deadlier enemies as she and the people she loves confront major changes in their lives...

Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke
Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas

A feel-good novel that will make you laugh and cry. The perfect book club read for fans of The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove, and The Keeper of Lost Things. Charming, quirky, and bursting with heart.This is no ordinary love story and Sam is no typical hero...but he is a hero. Sam Holloway has survived the worst that life can throw at you. But he's not really living. His meticulous routines keep everything nice and safe - with just one exception...Three nights a week, Sam dons his superhero costume and patrols the streets. It makes him feel invincible - but his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous, situations. Then a girl comes into his life, and his ordered world is thrown into chaos ... and now Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to finally take off the mask. Both hilarious and heart-warming, this is a story about love, loneliness, grief, and the life-changing power of kindness.

Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

The Songs of Us

Emma Cooper
Authors:
Emma Cooper
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee ChildThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming. One man is driven by an inner voice that isn't his - this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose. To find the voice hiding in the girl. She has no one to defend her now. But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began. Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip. #HearTheVoices

Headline Review

I Will Find You (Seal Island 2) The Love Story of the Year that will steal your heart away

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate that will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND.'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON'A swaggering yet tender polyphonic debut which captures the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' ObserverFor Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe. While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Headline Review

The Key

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton
Headline Review

Before I Let You Go: The brand new gripping pageturner of love and loss from the bestselling author

Kelly Rimmer
Authors:
Kelly Rimmer
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Tinder Press

The Immortalists: The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller'The Immortalists is about as good as it gets' Karen Joy Fowler'Like literary nectar' Hannah Beckerman'I couldn't put it down' Carys BrayIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes. Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves. A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline

Playing With Death: the terrifying new thriller from the number one bestselling author

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Headline Review

Fragile Things

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman's extraordinary Fragile Things, from the bestselling author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane and American Gods, reveals one of the world's most gifted storytellers at the height of his powers, and harnesses the Gothic power of Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber to the storytelling genius of Stephen King. 'The collections also boasts lush prose . . . and a winning faith in the enchantment of stories' Kirkus ReviewsThe distinctive genius of Neil Gaiman has been championed by writers as diverse as Norman Mailer and Stephen King. With THE SANDMAN Neil Gaiman created one of the most sophisticated, intelligent and influential graphic novel series of our time. Now Gaiman has produced FRAGILE THINGS, his second collection of short fiction. These stories will dazzle your senses, haunt your imagination and move you to the very depths of your soul.