Sarah Schmidt - See What I Have Done - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240866
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240859
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240873
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

See What I Have Done

By Sarah Schmidt

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Eeerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins - SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a haunting retelling of the infamous Lizzie Borden murders from a dazzling debut novelist.

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.

'Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away' Paula Hawkins


When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden - thirty two years old and still living at home - immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime.

Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie's unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie's uncle to take care of a problem.

This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Schmidt is a librarian from Melbourne. She became obsessed with the Borden story after coming across Lizzie's case by chance in a second-hand bookstore and her passionate research has even taken her to stay for several nights in the Borden house. Find out more on her website https://sarahschmidt.org/ and on Twitter @ikillnovel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240842
  • Publication date: 02 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
[A] seminal voice of the future.... a dark, dense visceral ride that proves that this former librarian could be on course to become one of the breakout writers of the decade... Donna Tartt, make room — Stylist
Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away — Paula Hawkins
What a book - powerful, visceral and disturbing. I felt like one of the many flies on the walls of that unhappy, blood-drenched house — Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE
[A] gory and gripping debut — Observer
An outstanding debut. Enviably brilliant and memorable — Hannah Beckerman
Vivid, sultry and engrossing — Carys Bray
A twisty, visceral, highly original novel that grips you from start to finish. An exceptional and stunning debut — Kate Hamer author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT
See What I Have Done held me in its sweaty grasp to the very last pages... as deftly destabilising as the best of Margaret Atwood — Patrick Gale
I loved See What I Have Done. So ominous and creepily compelling. Utterly macabre, in a good way. It is a novel that is close in style and sensibility to Shirley Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle — Sam Baker, The Pool
See What I Have Done is wonderful. Exquisitely-drawn characters, beautiful prose, a brilliant retelling of story. Every single sentence is perfect — Emma Flint author of LITTLE DEATHS
I am obsessed with this book. It chews you up and spits you out like one of the ripe pears in Lizzie's garden. Incredibly tense and claustrophobic, Home Sweet Home is turned on its head for the nightmarish Borden family in this amazingly accomplished tale of power, betrayal and revenge — Stacey Bartlett, Fabulous Magazine
[An] exquisitely crafted and chilling re-imagining of the gruesome 1982 crimes — Lady (Must-reads of 2017)
Lizzie Borden and her axe have fascinated since 1892, and this incredible reimagining is one you'll never ever forget — Heat
A great historical novel that takes a real life crime as its starting point. See What I Have Done is a gripping family drama and a whodunnit about two unsolved murders... chilling and claustrophobic — Stylist (Best books of 2017)
A disturbing and original take on the life of suspected killer Lizzie Borden — ’S’ Magazine, Sunday Express
Schmidt is especially good at the sweltering claustrophobia in which the Bordens lived. She is also great at portraying the pent-up frustration of the spinster Borden sisters — Sunday Independent