Sarah Schmidt - See What I Have Done - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240873
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240842
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240835
    • Publication date:02 May 2017

See What I Have Done

The Most Critically Acclaimed Debut of the Year

By Sarah Schmidt

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

'Eeerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins - SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a haunting retelling of the infamous Lizzie Borden murders from a dazzling debut novelist.

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.

'Eerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins
'Stunning' Sunday Times
'Gripping... outstanding' Observer
'Glittering' Irish Times

Just after 11am on 4th August 1892, the bodies of Andrew and Abby Borden are discovered. He's found on the sitting room sofa, she upstairs on the bedroom floor, both murdered with an axe.

It is younger daughter Lizzie who is first on the scene, so it is Lizzie who the police first question, but there are others in the household with stories to tell: older sister Emma, Irish maid Bridget, the girls' Uncle John, and a boy who knows more than anyone realises.

In a dazzlingly original and chilling reimagining of this most notorious of unsolved mysteries, Sarah Schmidt opens the door to the Borden home and leads us into its murkiest corners, where jealousies, slow-brewed rivalries and the darkest of thoughts reside.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Schmidt is a librarian from Melbourne. She became obsessed with the Borden story after coming across Lizzie's case by chance in a second-hand bookstore and her passionate research has even taken her to stay for several nights in the Borden house. Find out more on her website https://sarahschmidt.org/ and on Twitter @ikillnovel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240866
  • Publication date: 02 May 2017
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Schmidt's portrayal of Lizzie is haunting and complex, a deeply psychological portrait that forces the reader to question their preconceptions about what women are capable of - for better and worse. Both disturbing and gripping, it is an outstanding debut novel about love, death and the lifelong repercussions of unresolved grief. — Observer
[A] seminal voice of the future.... a dark, dense visceral ride that proves that this former librarian could be on course to become one of the breakout writers of the decade... Donna Tartt, make room — Stylist
Eerie and compelling, Sarah Schmidt breathes such life into the terrible, twisted tale of Lizzie Borden and her family, she makes it impossible to look away — Paula Hawkins
What a book - powerful, visceral and disturbing. I felt like one of the many flies on the walls of that unhappy, blood-drenched house — Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE
An outstanding debut. Enviably brilliant and memorable — Hannah Beckerman
Vivid, sultry and engrossing — Carys Bray
A twisty, visceral, highly original novel that grips you from start to finish. An exceptional and stunning debut — Kate Hamer author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT
See What I Have Done held me in its sweaty grasp to the very last pages... as deftly destabilising as the best of Margaret Atwood — Patrick Gale
I loved See What I Have Done. So ominous and creepily compelling. Utterly macabre, in a good way. It is a novel that is close in style and sensibility to Shirley Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle — Sam Baker, The Pool
See What I Have Done is wonderful. Exquisitely-drawn characters, beautiful prose, a brilliant retelling of story. Every single sentence is perfect — Emma Flint author of LITTLE DEATHS
I am obsessed with this book. It chews you up and spits you out like one of the ripe pears in Lizzie's garden. Incredibly tense and claustrophobic, Home Sweet Home is turned on its head for the nightmarish Borden family in this amazingly accomplished tale of power, betrayal and revenge — Stacey Bartlett, Fabulous Magazine
[An] exquisitely crafted and chilling re-imagining of the gruesome 1982 crimes — Lady (Must-reads of 2017)
Lizzie Borden and her axe have fascinated since 1892, and this incredible reimagining is one you'll never ever forget — Heat
A great historical novel that takes a real life crime as its starting point. See What I Have Done is a gripping family drama and a whodunnit about two unsolved murders... chilling and claustrophobic — Stylist (Best books of 2017)
Sarah Schmidt's reimagining of the fatal events in the Borden household is dignified and sensual, as though Henry James had decided to tell the tale — Sunday Express
Schmidt is especially good at the sweltering claustrophobia in which the Bordens lived. She is also great at portraying the pent-up frustration of the spinster Borden sisters — Sunday Independent
Schmidt's unusual combination of narrative suppression and splurge makes for a surprising, nastily effective debut — Guardian
Intense, unsettling and macabre — Sunday Mirror
She skilfully evokes the claustrophobic atmosphere of the household, conjuring up the rottenness of the family's relationships — Sunday Times
A claustrophobic, absolutely visceral novel that, like the walls of that unhappy house, leaves a stain long after the final page — Red Magazine
Breathlessly brilliant — Heat
A disquieting read... I loved it — The Times
This startlingly potent novel isn't so much a straightforward whodunit as a portrait of a dysfunctional household from which the emotionally arrested Lizzie emerges as the novel's most unsettling character — Metro
The narrative alternates between Lizzie, whose shimmering, mercurial streams of consciousness read like prose poetry... Schmidt writes with precision and flair about the oppressive boredom of domesticity, the twisted intensity of sisterly love and the forlorn dreams of leaving and of personal reinvention Emma and Lizzie share. A glittering, gory fever dream of a book, See What I Have Done is a remarkable debut. — Irish Times